Close up portait

Status
Not open for further replies.

madnessseek

Jan 25, 2007
Singapore
Hi there,

I am pretty new with my camera. Just started it like one month ago?
This is one of the image i've captured when i was in Chiang Mai.
This little girl totally caught my attention and i just couldn't stop taking pictures of her.
But this will be one of the better shot which i decided to ask for advise.

C & C please. I would also like to ask if there is any other lens that would allow me to capture better close up portraits.

I am using Canon 450D... 18-55mm kit lens... ISO 400... B/W image... I couldn't rem the shutter speed and the rest when capture this image.

Please advise for portrait lens as i am still very new to this.
Thank you:)

3346278742_1386435981_o.jpg

New camera. One month into photography.

Though not a masterpiece, but the picture however captured the expression of this little girl, give a kind a message like...why ? me ? wat's he doing ?

Personally I would have prefers 90 - 135 mm ( 35mm equivalent ) for portraiture. your current lenses focal range is okay, try using the far end of it for portraiture. Get the best of it before buying another lens.

Do some readings on photography between shoots will keep you progressing. Start from basic and slowly progress, it takes times, but be patience, results will show.

Last edited:
were you at face level when you took this? it looks like a slightly top-down vantage point.

also - why black and white? did you shoot this in black and white preset mode in your camera? if so, why? do you think the black and white treatment works well. if so, why?

btw, i would not advise ever, ever using in-camera black and white; unless the preset is much to your liking, there is far too little control for a process (color --> bnw conversion) that needs a lot more than what people give it credit for.