Chrysler taxis

Oct 2, 2010
thought this might be an interesting topic to share haha anybody ever gotten in one of these elegant black taxis before? haha

If they converted the Humvee into a Taxi, I might be piqued... otherwise, the hype is probably as interesting as stepping to a Mercedes Taxi... ;) All the luxury of a classy sedan, but the noise of a Diesel-engined beast.. :bsmilie:

chocolateking123 said:

Once is you get on it's $5, every jump is $0.30 instead of $0.20. Imagine you take in the CBD during peak hours. ERP+CBD surcharge+peak hour surcharge. Your ride could cost twice as much as you planned.

That's the only experience you get out of the cab huh? :sweat::sweat: Try jumping into one coming out of RWS during a weekend peak... You'll face palm all the way while you see people on the Broadwalk walking faster than you for what's really a short distance walk... :bsmilie:

kriegsketten said:
That's the only experience you get out of the cab huh? :sweat::sweat: Try jumping into one coming out of RWS during a weekend peak... You'll face palm all the way while you see people on the Broadwalk walking faster than you for what's really a short distance walk... :bsmilie:

I don't feel much diff leh, the basic service is the same, from point A to point B. The drivers dress nicer but doesn't benefit me. More spacious but I have never felt cramped for space on a Toyota crown or a Hyundai taxi. So, it's quite pointless to pay for the extra stuff which you don't even need. If want luxury, Mercedes cab starts at $3.00 but the jump is still $0.20, same as a normal cab.

Yup, the Mercedes is a normal charge cab alright but I know it's diesel. As for Chrysler, I'm assuming that it's diesel, unless it's not - hence the higher charge?

Frankly, as long as it's comfy enough, Mercedes / Toyota / Nissan / Hyndai / etc... no biggie.. just as long as the charges are "normal"... I remember the older days where there is no aircon (fan only... :sweat:) and some are really smaller cars....

A good driver is all I cared for these days, one that does not bring you on an unnecessary "sight-seeing trips", one that does not drive like a rally car racer, one that leaves you in a peaceful state of mind (conversations are fine as long as I'm up to it and depending on topic)...

Yup, the Mercedes is a normal charge cab alright but I know it's diesel. As for Chrysler, I'm assuming that it's diesel, unless it's not - hence the higher charge?

Frankly, as long as it's comfy enough, Mercedes / Toyota / Nissan / Hyndai / etc... no biggie.. just as long as the charges are "normal"... I remember the older days where there is no aircon (fan only... :sweat:) and some are really smaller cars....

A good driver is all I cared for these days, one that does not bring you on an unnecessary "sight-seeing trips", one that does not drive like a rally car racer, one that leaves you in a peaceful state of mind (conversations are fine as long as I'm up to it and depending on topic)...

You forgot to mention the type that drives halfway then ask "do you know how to go to your destination"? Sometime I take the taxi because I DON'T KNOW how to go there.:bsmilie:

If they converted the Humvee into a Taxi, I might be piqued... otherwise, the hype is probably as interesting as stepping to a Mercedes Taxi... ;) All the luxury of a classy sedan, but the noise of a Diesel-engined beast.. :bsmilie:
i'd prefer a hummer hahahaha oh that'd be the day..

that's scary... i'd be bleeding frm my eyes, nose, mouth, ears when my ride is over hahaha

You forgot to mention the type that drives halfway then ask "do you know how to go to your destination"? Sometime I take the taxi because I DON'T KNOW how to go there.:bsmilie:
agreed agreed :thumbsup: taxi drivers should know their way ard singapore or at least get a gps if they're nt sure :eek:

Got into one after landing at Changi. It cost almost double for going home. Very comfortable There was free mineral water in the cab. Take one, you need/deserve it for the price.

In the end, booked the same one cab to impress an overseas guest.

Took one home from Marine Sands Casino one Friday night. Very comfortable and smooth ride. Driver asks politely if the air con was too cold for my liking as it was drizzling that morning 2am. Good ride, will recommend anybody doing so although you need be aware of the extra boarding costs.

Nowadays I have to switch on my phone's GPS to guide the driver. And that is like 80% of the time.

Drivers road knowledge is really pathetic.

No. They are something for the rich who have nothing but money. But the rich don't really take taxis. So these are for the show-offs who don't really know how to spend their money. :bsmilie:

If I am not wrong, the Chrysler 300C has a 5.7L V8 engine, limousine cab touted 6.1L though. The same stuff which you see in the American SRT-8.

The private Chrysler models non-taxis you see plying on the roads are 2.7 or 3L usually, something like that. I've rode several times due to them being used as wedding cars, ok lah....something like E-class.

Taxis are CRD (Common Rail Diesel) models.

Private cars are usually the 3.6 litre V6 models, although I have seen a few SRT8s (6.1 litre V8) running around.

If I'm not wrong, they have the same transmission and some other parts as the E-Class.

Edited to add : You can jump the taxi queue at the airport if you're willing to pay the $5 for one of these. That's why the Taxi attendants are shouting "$5".

Taxis are CRD (Common Rail Diesel) models.

Private cars are usually the 3.6 litre V6 models, although I have seen a few SRT8s (6.1 litre V8) running around.

If I'm not wrong, they have the same transmission and some other parts as the E-Class.

Edited to add : You can jump the taxi queue at the airport if you're willing to pay the $5 for one of these. That's why the Taxi attendants are shouting "$5".

Found it, probably they lifted it off the US website.

http://www.limousinecab.com/singapore/chrysler-cab/

No. They are something for the rich who have nothing but money. But the rich don't really take taxis. So these are for the show-offs who don't really know how to spend their money. :bsmilie:
:bsmilie: ought to see lots camping outside casinos and airports waiting for the eccentric millionares to come out drunk and unfit to drive hahaha

Took one home from Marine Sands Casino one Friday night. Very comfortable and smooth ride. Driver asks politely if the air con was too cold for my liking as it was drizzling that morning 2am. Good ride, will recommend anybody doing so although you need be aware of the extra boarding costs.

mustve won a fortune @ the casino right bro? haha what were the charges for your ride? midnight charges + ride frm town mustve cost a bomb :bigeyes:

took 1 last week. was late for work. any taxi is fine. only when i jump in the back seat did i realized it's a chrysler. LL, take lor.......overall charge over my usual cab fare is around 50% extra. but...feels kinda nice taking this kind of cab into factory area, have ppl stare at u through the window, u ignoring them by reading the papers, and alight in from of the guardhouse...i swear, even the guards dare not stop u when u pass them...lol. if do it the day after the lottery was announced...the illusion is complete...lol!!!

haha drive one of those and you basically get a 'free pass' to anywhere in singapore lol

its pretty obvious its a taxi leh why people look at you :p maybe the guard n people thinking ...Poor thing kana chop by the taxi driver liao, up the wrong taxi :sweatsm::sweatsm: