Choosing a new DSLR Nikon vs Canon

icefire86

Feb 12, 2005
Hi all... I'm on the verge of buying a DSLR. However, I'm rather perplexed on whether to go with the Canon 300D or the Nikon D70. I have seen and held both in stores and such and find both excellent. Previously, I have been using a Canon EOS 300 SLR camera. Browsing through this webbie, I came across a post with several questions that I have asked myself when considering buying a camera. I'll only write down a few here...

01. Budget?
-Below 2k

03. Optical zoom factor?
-not a clue

04. Size?
-something not to bulky

06. Weight?
-not too heavy...

10. What kind of pictures are you hoping to take?
-wide-angle (scenic shots)

Does anyone have any suggestions? =)

01. Budget? -Below 2k
For a start, an entry level DSLR does cost you less than 2K. If you're really keen in exploring photography, you'll eventually end up spending a whole lot more than this amount on lens and accessories when you go into the more specialised aspects of this art.

03. Optical zoom factor? -not a clue
This factor does not matter at all. The diff between DSLR and prosumer cameras is in the lens quality. You could also get a low quality DSLR zoom lens (70 -300mm) for a few hundred dollars.

04. Size? -something not to bulky
If you're intend on getting a DSLR, size should never be a concern.

06. Weight? -not too heavy...
Same as my answer to question 4.

10. What kind of pictures are you hoping to take? -wide-angle (scenic shots)
A kit lens for start should do the job. Other good lenses would be the 20mm f2 or f2.8 lenses. And then there's the 12-24 mm lens.

Good luck.

get a canon. so that the lens and flash you buy can still use with your eos300 :)

or why not the oly e300?

Anyway all the entry DSLR have it pro and cons... just get one and start shooting! :)

if u r interested in 2nd hand 300D, m selling mine. about 7 months old, no visible scratches except some small ones near tripod mount, kit lens w/Hoya UV, 1G (2*512), 2 canon's 1 3rd party Bat and WAISA hack installed. All acc n box included and asking 1K. :) email judeseah@yahoo.com

icefire86 said:
Previously, I have been using a Canon EOS 300 SLR camera.

Do you still have that camera or any lenses or other accessories for it? If so, it would make a lot of sense to stay with the system.

tommon said:
Please note of the 1.4x factor of older EF lenses on 300D body. Maybe someone could explain this better as I never really understood the reason for the double standard in DSLRs

ermm really ? which are the lens ? only on 300D ? how abt 10D and 20D ? Thanks :)

D70 D70 D70

Unless youre willing to wait for the canon replacement that is.

Also the d70 kit lens is great. It also has the swim motor.
extremely fast autofocus. You wont regret it

Wait a while. PMA is only a few days away. They may introduce some new DSLR's there and consequently the prices of the D70 / 300D will crash.

http://pma2005.pmai.org/

DSLR is body only ie no lens so the idea of optical zoom is moot

d70 vs 300d bth are more or less same size/weight/price etc.
d70 no grip (get go thru a hassle to get 3r party), 300d have grip

crop factor for d70 is 1.5x
crop factor for 300d is 1.6x

more importantly is what lenses u want or will be needing?
nikon got DX lens, AFS lens, AF-d lens, VR, DC, etc
canon lens range have L lens, EF-s lens, I.S, D.O. lens, etc
do u shoot more on the long end or the wide end?
or are u like me who have white lens fetish (hehehe! :bsmilie: ) and buy white len just for collector's sake..

and in the future if u plan to stay in the DSLR game then u have to be aware of the company policy trends of nikon vs canon: eg its less likely for nikon to go fullframe while canon is going for fullframe on its topend bodies, etc have fun choosing

icefire86 said:
Hi all... I'm on the verge of buying a DSLR. However, I'm rather perplexed on whether to go with the Canon 300D or the Nikon D70. I have seen and held both in stores and such and find both excellent. Previously, I have been using a Canon EOS 300 SLR camera. Browsing through this webbie, I came across a post with several questions that I have asked myself when considering buying a camera. I'll only write down a few here...

01. Budget?
-Below 2k

03. Optical zoom factor?
-not a clue

04. Size?
-something not to bulky

06. Weight?
-not too heavy...

10. What kind of pictures are you hoping to take?
-wide-angle (scenic shots)

Does anyone have any suggestions? =)

I'll have to point you to the Oly E300. Very good kit lens and that antidust shaker.

Most entry level DSLR has a package promo that comes with a kit lens; a standard 2-3x zoom. Although not as good as the better and more expensive lenses, you will be able to start of without worrying about any more purchase till you get very familiar with the camera and functions.

Also compared to high end DSLR and SLR (which has 100% viewfinder), the view finder of the others are only 92-96% of the picture frame. Meaning you will not be able to see the things around the edge of the frame.

hello welcome to CS...

I am still fringing on the edge of buying a DSLR, for me it will be canon cos i have a film system that is canon, i.e i got lens lah, flash lah, wad not liao.

I seriously think 2k is cutting it thin.

Cos, 2k WILL get u the basics, but in time.. :devil: u will know wads buy buy buy..., the initial investment is 2K, but be prepared to fork out more in future.

right now. the D70 nikon is the camera to go for, in my view. It is newer than the 300D i.e making it a better investment becos of it being more superior in specs becos its newer. Useful features that u can explore with this cam is endless, wireless flash, spot metering, color is good, kit lens it useful, flash system (i-ttl) is a mark improvement. it is value for money, to me.

its early in the year. i think not the best time to buy. cos people like canon and nikon are announcing stuff... like the rumored 350D nikon killing, marketing saturating, money sucking, marketing ploy of a camera from canon. *i say this in jest*

anyway the 350D may be worth waiting for, so taht u can get a better price on older models. I'm sure the D70 will be around still.

I will, personally, stay away from DSLR wannabes, i.e all the DSLR-LIKE cameras, cos the sensor sizes will simily not cut it. like the F828... sry sony.

I am interested in the E300(e-volt) by Oly, but the reviews kinda put me on hold for that. but i must say its damn cute lor

If you know you want a DSLR, u shld go for it. importantly, test it out and get a feel for it. As of now i think the lens market is coming up, esp with the new lenses comming this year... making going ultra wide much easier...(not to mention cheaper)

and right now digital cameras are not really an investment, for me at least, they tend to lose value too fast. as for lenses they hold value longer so investing in them on ur SLR journey would be less, how they say, xim tia. hahaha.....

like what moos blue said, wait for the announcement of the 350D to see what sort of specs and features it offer. you could also consider the Olympus E-300 too. The D70, though having the better specs among the budget DSLRs, seems to be plagued by a problem (at least 10 affected as per the poll, so they are not isolated incidents) which comes up after a while: http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=115946