CANON L Series LEN = Magic Bullets?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rainman

Apr 4, 2004
In my own world
Hi,
I'm a newbie :) in photography, been reading up alot on digital photography for a couple of years, ever since it first came out the VGA version.

Personally, I bought 3 digi cams before. Recently I upgraded my G2 to a canon 300D and a 28-105 USM. Pretty satisfied with the good silky resolution and low noise level this cam is capable of.

I'm also impressed by the ISO 800 and 1600 capabilities which the compact digi cam is very lacked of.

There are a few stuffs which I wished to invest on. a longer range lens + tcon
and a speedlite with ominbounce and a WA lens lesser than 20mm.

Often I read articles abt the canon L seies len. Wish to invest 1 (14-40L) but was instantly freaked out by its price. I understand that this lens is made of some kind of crystal and no usual lens glass, which is apperntly sharper and lesser CA but my Qn is Does it matter? I can always use paint tool to do a USM and usually all my pics are post processed using AUTO COLOUR CORRECTION and fine tuned some there until i get the brightness and contrast I want. The pics usually came out satisfactory.(At least to me). Therefore I should say L lens or not depends on individual? Can some1 show me some sample pics taken with or wo L Lens.

Next Qn will be exposure control on 300D. Usually I prefered my pic to be slightly underexpoed rather than overexposed. As I felt that underexposed I can always adjust it at the later stage rather than OE which many of the details are already lost. Am I right to say that? I also find the built in flash sufficient with the FEC + 2/3. Any reason that I should buy a speedlite which I often seen guys saying with the ext speedlite the pics came out sharper wo motion blur..Not very true isn't it?