Canon EF 24-70mm F/2.8 L USM

tomato55

Mar 20, 2010
sifus,

Canon EF 24-70mm F/2.8 L USM ok for general purpose lens?

Hello, tomato55.
Honestly, to answer your question, it is more than ok for general purpose.
It's excellent.

Considered one of the best zooms available. Built like a tank. Weigh like one also.

Dear Tomato,

You have not mentioned what camera body you have. If you have a FF body then 24-70 is one of the excellent lens.
If you have a cropped body then you are not doing justice to a great lens. 24mm on cropped body is 38mm, which is not wide enough for walk around. Having said that, it's your style and requirement.

24-70 is a great lens, you need a FF to exploit it's capabilities.

sifus,

Canon EF 24-70mm F/2.8 L USM ok for general purpose lens?

On a cropped body camera, this might not be the best general purpose lens.

Your Kit lens is perfectly ok for general use.

mine is crop body 450D canon... am looking at getting a walkabout lens.
how abt 17-55mm F2.8?

17-55mm f2.8 is great for crop body. It's like 24-70mm f2.8 L for FF.

mine is crop body 450D canon... am looking at getting a walkabout lens.
how abt 17-55mm F2.8?

if my kit lens 18-55mm & i get 17-55mm, ?will cosider overlapping

Is that a qs? if yes, of cos its overlaps, i dun see the point of keeping ur 18-55 after u get the 17-55, most likely which the former will spend most of its time in the drycabinet/drybox..

Unless u wan to keep as backup lens or a light weight alternative in good light conditions :)

Is that a qs? if yes, of cos its overlaps, i dun see the point of keeping ur 18-55 after u get the 17-55, most likely which the former will spend most of its time in the drycabinet/drybox..

Unless u wan to keep as backup lens or a light weight alternative in good light conditions :)

Or use it in hazardous shooting conditions where it will very likely get knocked or splashed at.

24-70 is a great option, but would be less wide on a crop sensor body. but "general purpose" for individuals may vary. i would pick the 17-55 for crop sensors. for me.

ryan

Hi, try 15-85mm which is a kit lens for 7D and has good reviews and cheaper than 17-55mm by a few hundred dollars.

24-70 is a GREAT lens..
As for whether it's a good general purpose lens, it depends on your shooting style.
If you like it wide then 17-55 is better for you but if you like to zoom it close then you'll find 24-70 better..

for me it's 24-70 :thumbsup:

Haha... at some point, these kinds of post turn out to be like this:

TS asks if Lens X is good.

Hoardes of people reply, Yes yes.

Then TS reveals he has a kit lens. Or dunno what to shoot.

Then someone naturally ask, Can tell us why you don't like your kit lens?

Then TS says, Dunno leh, dunno what to shoot. But I heard Lens X, very good. Thot of buying.

Then a few more will join in, post some pics (which they think are very good) taken with their kit lens, and imply even my kit lens is good. Why you need so expensive lens for?

Then some chaps will post some irrelevant recommendations of other lenses.

Yet more chaps come in and say Don't go for zoom lenses. Not sharp. Must get primes.

Then the whole issue escalates into a rojak mess of discussion fitted more for rojok Kopitiam.

Then maybe it gets so messy cos they will be bad name-calling, comparison of Lens X and Lens Y, i buay song you cos you own expensive lenses, and then we come back to square one, it's not the lens goondu, it's the photographer, give me a compact cam I can take better pics than you with an expensive one....

Worst case, if gets too ugly and bo liao as usual, moderator steps in and it's yet another one of many cases CLOSED.

CS trademark! :)

Sorry can't help but to take a jab at the situation.

to TS: Yes the 24-70 is ok for a general purpose lens. But so are many others.

Seriously, who cares, as long as you got the money, and you feel "shiok", just buy it.

I would argue that the 24-70L is wasted on a crop body.

Disclaimer: The 24-70L is a great chunk of glass regardless of what body it is mounted on. The importance is the field of view as a result of the focal range when on FF or crop.

If you want the 24-70L equivalent FoV, the 17-55 is better. If you like the 24-70L FoV on crop, then by all means go for it.

I have used Tamron's 28-75mm with great success on crop bodies. I have also used it on FF. How wide do you want to go?

I've only just warmed up to the 24-70L. I never did like Nikkor's AFS 24-70 but the 24-70L has made me love the versatility of the lens. I am a wedding and lifestyle/events photographer so the 24-70L is always on one body.

The only issue I have is with the irritating hood being so big and when not used, the lens is awfully big with the hood reversed.

4639995077_555878772f.jpg

Here are some photos from the 24-70L on a 5dMKII with 580EXII:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4641865458/in/set-72157624015786769/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4641257867/in/set-72157624015786769/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4641258799/in/set-72157624015786769/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4641862364/in/set-72157624015786769/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638411246/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638411380/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638411544/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638396888/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4637786841/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638395566/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4637785641/in/set-72157624131951290/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/leinadphotography/4638397588/in/set-72157624131951290/

Haha... at some point, these kinds of post turn out to be like this:

TS asks if Lens X is good.

Hoardes of people reply, Yes yes.

Then TS reveals he has a kit lens. Or dunno what to shoot.

Then someone naturally ask, Can tell us why you don't like your kit lens?

Then TS says, Dunno leh, dunno what to shoot. But I heard Lens X, very good. Thot of buying.

Then a few more will join in, post some pics (which they think are very good) taken with their kit lens, and imply even my kit lens is good. Why you need so expensive lens for?

Then some chaps will post some irrelevant recommendations of other lenses.

Yet more chaps come in and say Don't go for zoom lenses. Not sharp. Must get primes.

Then the whole issue escalates into a rojak mess of discussion fitted more for rojok Kopitiam.

Then maybe it gets so messy cos they will be bad name-calling, comparison of Lens X and Lens Y, i buay song you cos you own expensive lenses, and then we come back to square one, it's not the lens goondu, it's the photographer, give me a compact cam I can take better pics than you with an expensive one....

Worst case, if gets too ugly and bo liao as usual, moderator steps in and it's yet another one of many cases CLOSED.

CS trademark! :)

Sorry can't help but to take a jab at the situation.

to TS: Yes the 24-70 is ok for a general purpose lens. But so are many others.

Seriously, who cares, as long as you got the money, and you feel "shiok", just buy it.

Kiwi , i like ur comment :bsmilie::lovegrin:
others comment also help me more understand on lens....Thank you to all...:)