Canon 1000D or Nikon D60

Status
Not open for further replies.

De3pster

Deregistered
Jan 25, 2009
Opp Macritchie
Hi everyone! happy new year btw.. anyway, planning to get a 1000d or d60 as a birthday present. im new to slr :confused: so i need some advice.. anyone?? thanks:)

Happy CNY, what do you intend to use the SLR for? Both manufacturers have their strength and weaknesses. Generally Canon gives better colors straight from the cam (depending on setting too) and Nikon has great ergonomics.

For a start, you can check out the side-by-side comparison.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/com...ide&cameras=canon_eos1000d,nikon_d60&show=all

D60, nice grip.
quality, same.
price, cheaper.

Have you considered the d40? this has got some great reviews. Check www.kenrockwell.com for an idea or a quick search in google. might save a few doller for some lens :)

A lot of people would talk about the Pros of both camera... maybe I start with some of their Cons:

Canon 1000D
  • No Spot Metering

Nikon D60
  • No AF support with most of Nikon Lens
  • No LiveView

Last edited:
I'd go for the Canon anyday. Price-wise, it's a little more but a more complete feature set. Live View is a boon especially when shooting at awkward angles. The ability to use almost all of Canon lenses is also a plus point where the Nikon only accepts AF-S lenses with their internal AF motors.

buying a dslr is buying a system.

both cameras are good for beginners. I too had a tough spot choosing between D300 and 40D but the Pentax K20D clinched it for me as it had what i wanted at my budget. Pentax range of Limited lenses are simply amazing.

best way is possibly to go to shop and test both or rent both.

Last edited:
Hi everyone! happy new year btw.. anyway, planning to get a 1000d or d60 as a birthday present. im new to slr :confused: so i need some advice.. anyone?? thanks:)

Do you really need a DSLR? Are you prepared for the investment into lenses, dry cabinets, etc?