can i use my camara as a card reader?


Status
Not open for further replies.

compro_1975

Senior Member
Apr 24, 2005
1,983
0
0
#1
will the camara b affected by any data placed in and taken out? tks
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#2
you can, but it is not recommendable to do so.

get yourself a card reader,
if you use your camera as card reader,
it is very slow in transferring and waste your camera battery,
and you can't use the camera while transferring files
what if you damage the cable or the connecting socket on your camera?

I been removing and slotting in CF cards onto my cameras countless time, no pins broken or card damage. if you are using cable, soon or later the connecting socket will be very lose.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#3
will the camara b affected by any data placed in and taken out? tks
It shouldn't be affected, no. I use my A700 for that if there's no choice. 4+4GB at 22MB/s. More than fast enough for me. :)
 

Fragnatic

Senior Member
Jan 24, 2008
859
0
16
Serangoon, Singapore
#5
I just bought a handy card reader for less than $10.
A bent CF card reader pin in a camera will cost a lot to repair.
y use ur expensive camera for reading memory cards? like what others said, it uses camera battery, u cant use ur camera meantime, u might spoil the camera socket, etc...

just buy a cheapo usb multi-card reader. any1 outside would be gd enuff to transfer files.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#6
since we are talking about card reader, I want to get a high speed card reader, the one come with firewire type.

like to know where can I get one? normal shops in SLS seem like don't carry this.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#7
since we are talking about card reader, I want to get a high speed card reader, the one come with firewire type.

like to know where can I get one? normal shops in SLS seem like don't carry this.
Firewire? It's a dying standard I think... Just go USB2.0, you'll normally be maxed out by the card, not the USB connection.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom