Can 110v use on 100v machine?


Status
Not open for further replies.

josho

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2004
2,110
0
0
37
Jln Teck Whye
pboong.com
#1
I gotten my wii set (japan set) stated : 100v on the adapter. I had my step down transformer station output: 210v , 110v.

What will happen if I used this step down transformer on the 100v adapter? Will it blow or...? :cool:

Is there any step down transformer for only 100v? I was quoted for $48 at the game shop, is that consider exp? :angel:
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#2
100v & 110v belong to same cat...

dun go game shop buy, go SLT buy, since most game shop also buy from SLT and sell in their shop with mark ups. make sure you get the correct amp. higher better than lower...
 

jet

New Member
May 24, 2005
58
0
0
#3
As a precaution buy at least 1.5x your required power rating. I had a step down burn on me before. And it was at least 1.1x the stated power rating. It was working fine for at least a week then one day decided to retire. The step down burned and my equipment blew a capacitor - pop, smoke and liquid seeping out. Not a pleasant sight.
 

josho

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2004
2,110
0
0
37
Jln Teck Whye
pboong.com
#4
Hmm.. base on that, is it wise to use my step down transformer? Since DCA mentioned it belong to the same cat.

jet- what you mean by 1.5x? Mine is 300w (gotten one from SLS VHF shop previously) with the output of 110v / 220v but base on the wii adapter, it is 100v. So I kinda scare that it will fried the adapter since there's 10v diff...
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#7
might as well direct buy a 12V transformer 5A one... lol... confirm can last...

wat u are doing is, 230V to 110V to 12V... cut short 230V to 12V best...

but yours can lah, since its 300W, your wii adaptor is 94VA, should be ok...
 

Aug 21, 2007
44
0
0
#8
Why not buy 200V/230V Wii power unit?
Easily from China.

Btw, Wii is very popular in China as well as PSP Slim version.

Lifestyle there [in China] is much better then us as they enjoy these. Is so common in many shops selling. Not like Sgp, much less.
Cheers
 

Reno

Senior Member
Jan 22, 2005
2,324
1
38
Land of the Teddy Bear
#9
erh... i don't think it is advisable to use 110V on the 100V set..... a bit risky to cause your set to blow up. Try to get a 100V stepdown transformer.
 

Aug 21, 2007
44
0
0
#10
Is Perfectly OK to use a 100V device on a 110V supply line and 110V device on a 100V supply line.
Is also perfectly OK for 220V device on a 240V supply.
There is no way that such 10V [110-100V] or 20V[220-240] can cause any problem.

The only thing you cannot do is plug in a 100V or 110V device into a 220V or 240V Supply Line. The device will be burnt [the power unit].

Next, If a 220V/240V device is connected to a 110V/100V supply line, NOTHING will happen. No harm.

Cheers
 

btfiend

New Member
Jan 5, 2007
294
0
0
#13
Go Sim Lim Tower find a 110-230v -> 12V 4A (or thereabout) DC adapter. You can get somebody there to help you 'transplant' the Wii cable over lah. That way you won't have to worry about smoking your power supply units.
 

Pablo

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2004
1,854
0
0
Blue/Green Planet
#14
I gotten my wii set (japan set) stated : 100v on the adapter. I had my step down transformer station output: 210v , 110v.

What will happen if I used this step down transformer on the 100v adapter? Will it blow or...? :cool:

Is there any step down transformer for only 100v? I was quoted for $48 at the game shop, is that consider exp? :angel:
110v is within tollerence for a device that states it requires 100v

As is a device that states it requires 220v and is supplied 240v

Just don't feed a device that requires 110v with 240v

:)
 

yanyewkay

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2004
3,924
0
0
Cons digger.
#15
Is Perfectly OK to use a 100V device on a 110V supply line and 110V device on a 100V supply line.
Is also perfectly OK for 220V device on a 240V supply.
There is no way that such 10V [110-100V] or 20V[220-240] can cause any problem.

The only thing you cannot do is plug in a 100V or 110V device into a 220V or 240V Supply Line. The device will be burnt [the power unit].

Next, If a 220V/240V device is connected to a 110V/100V supply line, NOTHING will happen. No harm.

Cheers
:nono: ultimate wrong concept. There are equipment that are insensitive to that 10-20V diff but there are many more equipment that are very much sensitive to this 10-20% voltage swell/sag.
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#16
:nono: ultimate wrong concept. There are equipment that are insensitive to that 10-20V diff but there are many more equipment that are very much sensitive to this 10-20% voltage swell/sag.
but those are not consumer items lah... most consumer items itself already have a 5-20% threshold.

and besides that... our power, isn't 230V constant, it flacuates, and worse when you are in rural places (other countries) when you can have low voltage in day time and surge in night time.
 

josho

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2004
2,110
0
0
37
Jln Teck Whye
pboong.com
#17
Ok ok.. Im back... I asked the people from the shop and confirmed that the step down transformer with the adpater does work well.. I will get the direct power supply from the shop since they do not have stock yet.

Would like to ask who is playing Wii?

I got this message out while I am trying to play one of the event in the game.
Mine is *cough cough* set.

Jap:

Eng:
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#18
Ok ok.. Im back... I asked the people from the shop and confirmed that the step down transformer with the adpater does work well.. I will get the direct power supply from the shop since they do not have stock yet.

Would like to ask who is playing Wii?

I got this message out while I am trying to play one of the event in the game.
Mine is *cough cough* set.

Jap:

Eng:
cough cough cough... i ask mod to delete thread... contagious cough...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom