camera recommendation on a budget

c3xtl

Jun 5, 2022
Hello!

I’m a student and a complete beginner to photography. Just wondering if anybody could recommend a digital camera to buy on a tight budget. Not looking for anything high-end, will probably find something off Carousell (or if there are better sites, please recommend). There are simply too many brands/models and I got overwhelmed looking through all of them. Probably looking for something produced 5-10 years ago. Budget is as low as possible but with some acceptable/decent quality (say, better than iPhone?). This is a luxurious expense for me/my family and I don’t have much to spare, I just want something compact & inexpensive that I can use to practice.

Am open to film camera recommendations as well - I understand that this is much more expensive in the long run as compared to digital but I’d probably just use it for the occasional snap so one roll of film can last me a long time.

Ideally I would get both film and digital (film is more to take pictures with friends and family on special occasions, digital for actual photography that I can take multiple and delete) but I’ll see what I can do with the $$ I have :)

Thank you all in advance for your help!

Eh, when I was a student my parents didn't even want me to pursue my studies. Nobody helped me I've to move overseas and pay my own also got myself the first 2040 Olympus, won me many competitions.
Any cams are good its just how the person behind the lens. Grab one like these

Its 2022 any camera made within the last decade will be a good purchase.

In terms of utility I'd stick to the iPhone. You'll leave a dedicated still camera at home but never your iPhone.

I support the suggestion that you use your phone first before anything else. Better equipment does not equate to better photographs, and since you're completely new to photography, I'd find that "photography voice" first before you buy anything beyond the phone you already have.