Cam with GPS built-in


Status
Not open for further replies.

noobie

New Member
Jan 29, 2007
313
0
0
#1
Dunno if they exist, haha. Is there a cam that has GPS built-in that can geotag shots taken on-the-spot? :think:
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#7
You need to add the GPS on, it's still not so small yet that you can get it built-into the camera. ;)
 

compro_1975

Senior Member
Apr 24, 2005
1,983
0
0
#8
may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
 

zoossh

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2005
8,725
0
0
Singapore
#9
may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
there are those who dun. and there are those who just walk and wander around and not sure where they are but wanted to know where they are, usually it is for overseas tour or in a big country.

and some ppl may want to return to the same spot. if it is a desert or a big grassland, it may be helpful.
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#10
may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....
if im not wrong, the sony GPS add-on come with a software that can actually sync with the GPS data created (created when you shoot something) with the time of the photo taken and then probably change those GPS no. :confused: into name of the place or at least the location of where they are thru a world map...:dunno:
 

Adelfin

New Member
Dec 18, 2005
495
0
0
32
Earth
#12
i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
 

cjtune

New Member
Mar 20, 2006
1,519
0
0
#14
GPS is next to useless indoors and even when you're in vehicles -the walls and metal shield you from the extra-terrestrial GPS radio signals.

Maybe my PDA's in-built GPS antenna is weak but I get the impression it literally need a clear line-of-sight to the sky.
 

cjl

New Member
Aug 8, 2002
381
0
0
The Guilin of Spore
Visit site
#15
may i ask, do anyone knows what is the use for GPS on a cam? we do know where we are shoot after all....

Ah bro,

There are times where we spend a long time at a big country, taking a lot of shots. So many of the shots that there sure to be one or 2 which u sudden trying to recall where u took the picture of a particular chiobu on a particular street? Or a paritcular mountain amg a major area of 20 mountains?

Of coz, not forgetting those who use it for professional or commerical usage....
 

cjl

New Member
Aug 8, 2002
381
0
0
The Guilin of Spore
Visit site
#16
i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
I read online and it can be done. I even asked causally at one of the sale person at IT Show...

But never go into details as I dun really need these device, for now
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#17
I read online and it can be done. I even asked causally at one of the sale person at IT Show...

But never go into details as I dun really need these device, for now
I believe the Sony one syncs with the camera wirelessly and for Nikon, you connect the GPS to the camera via a cable.
 

kyo86sg

Senior Member
Sep 16, 2006
774
0
16
#18
Well, Nokia has one. the N95 (carl zeiss Optic 5MP) with GPS built in. People using it to drive around singapore le.
 

yanyewkay

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2004
3,924
0
0
Cons digger.
#19
i was wondering.. is there a way to maybe buy the sony gps thing and sync with photos from canon and nikon systems? technically it should be possible coz the thing syncs the time when the photo was shot.. but i dunno if any software would do it..
yes it will work. how it works is to record the GPS data log, the data from the sky contains time information as well. As long as you manage to map the time taken to the GPS log, you are able to tell where you are at that time. It can be done manually by hand as well but will be very tedious.
 

xtemujin

Senior Member
Apr 1, 2005
2,778
1
0
Singapura, Singapore
#20
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom