Calling all newbies..

EddyKoh

Dec 21, 2009
Hi guys.. As a newbie myself, I find that it's a little hard to search the forum. Especially when you're not too sure what you're talking about yourself. (I'm guilty of that.. :( )

As such.. I was thinking of creating a thread where people contribute little tips that they have picked up along the way..

e.g 50mm lens use 1/50 sec shutter speed or sunny f/16 rule or even simple stuff like keeping a piece of white card at all times for WB or reflector.

These tips are all over CS. Hope to have more contributions. :)

Just get a dry cabinet, no need to be in dilemma over dry box vs dry cabinet. It doesn't cost much to run and saves you lots of trouble.

Tip for newbies: Don't freak out when you can't focus on a subject close to the lens. That's because every lens has a Minimum Focal Distance (MFD) and most probably you are too close to the subject.

When starting off, don't listen to what others tell you to buy, stick with your kit lens (18-XX or 18-XXX) till you know exactly what you want.

Be dare to ask. No question is stupid.
in forum, you meet all sorts of people. Accept all with your open heart. Some may be harsh, some may just give you some mysterious answer...and many others different type of reply.....

For lens... for newbies... Go RENT.... dont buy because with our little knowledge, give you all the website with good review and all the technical review explaination, frankly.,.. we also wont get the detail. All is about trying. Once you have the lens with you, you can then try for a good whole day. Going to shop and try with the lens, frankly for me, i felt only applicable to those pros here.... for me.. i still need to rent, try for 1 day then can get like 50% sure-ness :)

For shutter, most people can withstand at 1/125 shutter speed or higher. for me... i use min 1/150.... cause hand shake...