cable to trigger flash off the camera


Status
Not open for further replies.
May 5, 2006
377
0
16
#1
Hi Guys,

Not sure of there is such thing because so far I've seen people talking about the wireless trigger for flash. I don't want to invest too much money so I want to try first using a cable to trigger my flash around 2-3m away from the cam. Any idea if there exist a cable and around how much? And I like to DIY so if anyone can point me to a place where to buy the flash shoe of the camera and flash terminal I can connect it myself using some wire.

TIA.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#3
Not sure of there is such thing because so far I've seen people talking about the wireless trigger for flash. I don't want to invest too much money so I want to try first using a cable to trigger my flash around 2-3m away from the cam. Any idea if there exist a cable and around how much? And I like to DIY so if anyone can point me to a place where to buy the flash shoe of the camera and flash terminal I can connect it myself using some wire.
It's called off-shoe cord. But it's not cheap, Canon is about SGD 70.00 if I'm not wrong and it's only half meter size. You can easily extend by cutting the cable and inserting additional cable (Cat5) and 6-pin plugs / coupler. By this you will still have full ETTL.
Cheap wireless triggers are about SGD 40 but no ETTL, you need manual adjustments. Canon original triggers and Pocket Wizards allow full ETTL but cost much more.
If anybody knows where to get flash shoe and terminal I'd be happy to warm up my soldering iron.
 

Last edited:

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#4
It's called off-shoe cord. But it's not cheap, Canon is about SGD 70.00 if I'm not wrong and it's only half meter size. You can easily extend by cutting the cable and inserting additional cable (Cat5) and 6-pin plugs / coupler. By this you will still have full ETTL.
Cheap wireless triggers are about SGD 40 but no ETTL, you need manual adjustments. Canon original triggers and Pocket Wizards allow full ETTL but cost much more.
If anybody knows where to get flash shoe and terminal I'd be happy to warm up my soldering iron.
u can't use ettl with pocket wizards.
 

May 5, 2006
377
0
16
#5
Thanks for the quick reply..

What do you guys mean by not really cheaper using the sync cord? This is compared to the wireless trigger?

btw, I'm using 400D + 430EX.
 

LifeInMacro

Senior Member
Aug 8, 2008
605
0
16
Singapore
#7
If budget allows and if you need to do this often enough, I suggest the Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST2E (probably around $280). Pop this small unit on your camera, and setup the flash as a slave and fire away. It really gives you the freedom of movement, and not to mentioned the fully configurable settings of your flash.
 

May 5, 2006
377
0
16
#8
the cost of the cables not much cheaper than using radio triggers.
oh really? any idea how much the canon wireless trigger cost? it should be the safest and most idiot-proof for me right (since i'm a canon user)?
 

May 5, 2006
377
0
16
#13
Sorry to bother you guys again.. while reading the reviews for ST-E2 I've came across with pocketwizard and radiopopper as alternatives. Are there other alternatives I can look at? And what specific feature I should look out for? So far they say the ST-E2 infrared is a turn-off when use outdoors.

Btw, What are you guys you using?

Thanks.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#15
Sorry to bother you guys again.. while reading the reviews for ST-E2 I've came across with pocketwizard and radiopopper as alternatives. Are there other alternatives I can look at? And what specific feature I should look out for? So far they say the ST-E2 infrared is a turn-off when use outdoors.

Btw, What are you guys you using?

Thanks.
if it is IR signal, it will work well in confine indoor areas, outdoor or big open indoor areas need radio
 

LifeInMacro

Senior Member
Aug 8, 2008
605
0
16
Singapore
#18
Sorry to bother you guys again.. while reading the reviews for ST-E2 I've came across with pocketwizard and radiopopper as alternatives. Are there other alternatives I can look at? And what specific feature I should look out for? So far they say the ST-E2 infrared is a turn-off when use outdoors.

Btw, What are you guys you using?

Thanks.
Hi, I don't have any major issues with ST-2E so far, indoors and outdoors. I think it all depends on the surrounding environment. The only thing you must take note of is that the ST-2E works on the basis of line of sight for the IR. The 2 items must be "aligned" to "see" each other; having said this, I had shot with the slave flash not too far behind me, and it still works!

btw, the 430EX's body can be rotated around to achieve line of sight with the camera. I hope that you have not thrown away the "shoe" of your 430EX...
 

reachme2003

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2003
3,735
0
0
#19
most syc cable i know is about 3m length. it is about the length ts mentioned.
 

May 5, 2006
377
0
16
#20
btw, the 430EX's body can be rotated around to achieve line of sight with the camera. I hope that you have not thrown away the "shoe" of your 430EX...
errmm.. sorry what "shoe" is that?? is that the plastic thing to keep the 430ex standing up?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom