Big Fuss about YOUR RIGHTS in photog compeition

Einstein

May 31, 2004
Come on.

A competition is one of the best ways of the organisers to get the pictures they need.

So please stop commenting on every competitions lousy rules and regulations.

If you think your work is that great, simple. Dont take part. Stop complaining and outright slam every competition. ;(

Einstein said:
Come on.

A competition is one of the best ways of the organisers to get the pictures they need.

If you think your work is that great, simple. Dont take part. Stop complaining and outright slam every competition. ;(

good luck to you :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Einstein said:
Come on.

going to be midnight ... sweet dreams :angel: good luck to you too :bsmilie:

Einstein said:
Come on.

why so work up? relax.
No doubt a competition is the best way for the organiser to get the pictures but at least they should be more rewarding.
No offends dude.

good luck to me? Well. Good luck to u all too :)

I share the same view as Einstein's. By entering the competition, you must have thought about it thoroughly and deems the rules and regulation acceptable. If you have not, go ahead and complain and make noise. To each his own and the choice is really up to individual.

Einstein said:
Come on.

actually i fully agree with you. quite stale to see the same old comments everytime a competition comes up. its all very simple...take part if you agree with the rules, and dont if not. i dont think the organizers miss you anyway. :dunno:

for those who must comment anyway in the guise of protecting the unenlightened from being taken advantage of..maybe put up a sticky and just refer them to it. :think:

crazypaladin said:
I share the same view as Einstein's. By entering the competition, you must have thought about it thoroughly and deems the rules and regulation acceptable. If you have not, go ahead and complain and make noise. To each his own and the choice is really up to individual.

hehe...i rather they just move on and get on with their life (if any) if they dun deem the rules & regs acceptable :bsmilie:

" do what a photographer should do .... "

concentrate on yr subject and mind your own ass ... thats what i always tell myself :cool:

Einstein said:
Come on.

:thumbsup: I like your last sentence.

S11loop said:
" do what a photographer should do .... "

concentrate on yr subject and mind your own ass ... thats what i always tell myself :cool:

crazypaladin said:
Despite all the complains, there are still competitions with the same rules and regulations years after years. What does this tell you?

I leave the interpretation to you....

well...the organizers have every right to state whatever rules or regulations they want. if you dont find them fair, dont take part. move on. dont have to whine about it. :rolleyes:

Spare a thought to those who make a living out of photography, not only is their market shrinking, their supplements (like taking part in competitions) are paying next to nothing.

Imagine it to be your own bread and butter issue, you too would be feeling hapless, not to mention these competitions if did not attract the really talented professionals, our Arts would not improve, like the saying goes pay peanuts and you get *******.

I am not even any better than a novice but I really appreciate a good image when I see one, it's not easy to understand unless one is a working pro and knows what goes thru their mind searching for business to get by day to day.

So for those considerate people, just bare it lah, it's an avenue for them to voice out on what the scene has become, cheap, commercialised and feeling exploited.

../azul123

If one is really pro, dun need to enter into competition to earn bread and butter. Instead, companies will approach the pro for his assignment. Period.

If a pro need to enter into competition to earn bread and butter, then again, it's up to individual choice again.

crazypaladin said:
If one is really pro, dun need to enter into competition to earn bread and butter. Instead, companies will approach the pro for his assignment. Period.

If a pro need to enter into competition to earn bread and butter, then again, it's up to individual choice again.

Actually , most org are using so called competition to help them get photos , or otherwise they'll have to pay pro photographer, and it's because of some nonsense competition, professional are taking less of the cake. In the end, it's only the commuity will suffer.

Like said , there's always 2 side of the story. Before anyone should start a similar thread , maybe they want to think from other side 1st. Easy to just type out before thinking , always .......

poohbear said:
Actually , most org are using so called competition to help them get photos , or otherwise they'll have to pay pro photographer, and it's because of some nonsense competition, professional are taking less of the cake. In the end, it's only the commuity will suffer.

Like said , there's always 2 side of the story. Before anyone should start a similar thread , maybe they want to think from other side 1st. Easy to just type out before thinking , always .......

Like-wise, dun just think about the price money being too small a sum to pay for a good photos. We only see the price money but have we considered the money put into organizing the event, the money that goes into publicizing the competition in various newspapers and websites? These probably cost more than just engaging a professional photographer! But why are the companies not going straight to professional? Because in the process of competition, they are already giving their company/products publicity liao.

So think about the other side as well... the companies are bleeding money too! Dun just focus on the prize money, focus on the photography!!!:sticktong

crazypaladin said:

Tsk tsk tsk... How simplistic is your viewpoint... you mean by turning pro, business comes a knocking left right center is it. Think again, life is a struggle for those starting out, regardless of what profession, if you are starting your own business from scratch.

../azul123

crazypaladin said:
Like-wise, dun just think about the price money being too small a sum to pay for a good photos. We only see the price money but have we considered the money put into organizing the event, the money that goes into publicizing the competition in various newspapers and websites? These probably cost more than just engaging a professional photographer! But why are the companies not going straight to professional? Because in the process of competition, they are already giving their company/products publicity liao.

So think about the other side as well... the companies are bleeding money too! Dun just focus on the prize money, focus on the photography!!!:sticktong
Why don't compare prize money with competitions from Europe, US? it would be same as you say cost put into organizing the event would cost more and yet their prize money are no peanuts.

../azul123