beware - durian con-man in your neighbourhood

attap seed

Feb 16, 2006
yesterday, a malaysian man struckup a conversation w me in the lift.

he say he brought some good quality durian to spore. $6 per kg.

i decided to buy some.

he signalled his fren at the carpark. a m'sian car appeared.

bought 4 durians, quality is decent.

9kg. i paid $54.

i sensed that its not 9kg, so upon reaching home, i weighted them. 7kg only.

****, kanna conned.

after leaving the durian in my hse, i decided to go out.

a few blocks away, i saw the man trying the same tactic on another man. so, i told him to come over, and nicely told him he overcharged me by 2kg.

but i also say nvm lah. wow, he insisted that he must refund me!!!
after getting my unit number, he promised to leave 2 durians outside my unit as compensation!!!

of course, no durian was found outside my unit.

kanna chortchanged by 2kg, i not angry, jus take it as paying $12 for sch fee. but con say con lah. i am more "disappointed" in him promising to compensate me, but didnt.

i told my family my story, hoping they wun get conned.

my mum say she also kanna b4, in changiV. ppl bring mango from pengaran, also kanna shortchanged.

so, folks, spread the news, and watch out.

LOL after you left he probably thought you dont want what, then dont need lor, dont waste hahas:D

Shouldnt have been so 'gentlemanly' and turn down the other 2 KG

But then again, he DID say he would compensate .

Fair Fair lahs. Next time just buy fruits online.

can just take the 2 durians on the spot?:dunno:

cant lah.

durians in a car, somewhere in neighbourhood car park.

salesman walkin around.

and i also dun expect any refund. but he "insisted". sigh. lesson learnt.

sounds like you really like durians just like your nick :bsmilie:

lol saw your post at fishing kaki ^^ fellow fisher n photographer;)

yesterday, a malaysian man struckup a conversation w me in the lift.

he say he brought some good quality durian to spore. $6 per kg.

i decided to buy some.

he signalled his fren at the carpark. a m'sian car appeared.

bought 4 durians, quality is decent.

9kg. i paid $54.

i sensed that its not 9kg, so upon reaching home, i weighted them. 7kg only.

****, kanna conned.

after leaving the durian in my hse, i decided to go out.

a few blocks away, i saw the man trying the same tactic on another man. so, i told him to come over, and nicely told him he overcharged me by 2kg.

but i also say nvm lah. wow, he insisted that he must refund me!!!
after getting my unit number, he promised to leave 2 durians outside my unit as compensation!!!

of course, no durian was found outside my unit.

kanna chortchanged by 2kg, i not angry, jus take it as paying $12 for sch fee. but con say con lah. i am more "disappointed" in him promising to compensate me, but didnt.

i told my family my story, hoping they wun get conned.

my mum say she also kanna b4, in changiV. ppl bring mango from pengaran, also kanna shortchanged.

so, folks, spread the news, and watch out.

yah right, you not angry , you not up sad and you came and complaint about 2 kg....

if i were you, take `1 solid durian and try to spot thier car........ then u know what to do when u are high up in the block - with a durian in hand - and a stupid durian seller!! ;)

yah right, you not angry , you not up sad and you came and complaint about 2 kg....

i live tampines.

my favourite durian stall is at bugis.

i dun drive. and i ve tried many different ways to use public transport to bring durian home to my family. but i tink its not fair to other commuters.

i wun mind if ppl can deliver quality durian to my doorstep.

business is long term.

but to shortchange me, dun tink its rite.

jus wan to share my experience w other ppl.

If you were him how would you feel and what would you do?

It is not about 2kg.. it about being cheated and warning others.

... I never and would trust those ppl

This kind of conman I also kena before when I was at my friend's house.
The conman said that the durians he is selling is D24.

My friend was tempted by the price of 5 durians for $80.
The market rate is around $20-$25 for a durian which weighs 2kg @ $12/kg.

Luckily I have some knowledge with durian.
D24 have a "flower" on the bottom.

I asked to check the durian and I couldn't find the "flower".
Better still, he open up one and I found that the colour of the flesh was towards the orange-reddish colour.
This kind of durian is the D13 or D101 which costs about $5-$12 per durian, depending on size.

I'm sharing my experience.
So next time be careful.. :D

This kind of conman I also kena before when I was at my friend's house.
The conman said that the durians he is selling is D24.

My friend was tempted by the price of 5 durians for $80.
The market rate is around $20-$25 for a durian which weighs 2kg @ $12/kg.

Luckily I have some knowledge with durian.
D24 have a "flower" on the bottom.

I asked to check the durian and I couldn't find the "flower".
Better still, he open up one and I found that the colour of the flesh was towards the orange-reddish colour.
This kind of durian is the D13 or D101 which costs about $5-$12 per durian, depending on size.

I'm sharing my experience.
So next time be careful.. :D

can post picture of the "flower"?