FLiNcHY

Mar 15, 2002
Go to this site http://www.staythisday.com/placeholder.html

Its a Flash site.

And tell me is this not the best wedding photohrapher you have ever
seen?

Look through his gallery images, read his Philosophy section and
testimonials. And read his Bio. He is everything i strive to be!
Giving weddings a photojournalistic touch, gliding
around the event unnoticed and capturing the perfect moments that
last for that split second in time.

He has already established his own brand of photography. I don't know
how he gives his photos that surrealistic look but it's along the
lines of shooting in infrared and then
handpainting them. It becomes a perfectly concocted blend! He is an
expert in Digital Photography. And he only does a few weddings a
year. Good Wedding photographers
charge $5000 for a full day of coverage. I think he'll cost way more
than that.

Must strive to be like him. Haha

yeah but most of his shots are from posed shots
a wedding shoot and not an actual day shoot

for the actual day shoots
it's just a few photos

if you've shot more than 2000 it's really pretty easy to pick out a few that look nice

but he's really good
and if i get married i won't mind paying an air ticket for him to come down
lol

goodness gracious! he has the church that reminds me of GnR in November Rain!

from what i deduce, he has a preference for sepia, soft-focus, and wide angles. incredible how he sets his subjects at ease for those shots. :thumbsup:

love the way that he adds in the personal philosophy thing on his site.

Man, the 1st pic tat opened up on his 1st page made my jaw drop :eek: :D A very good composition, with the church seen thru from the veil...The lighting...So surreal...Fantastic...

I really like his style...

And yes, this the best wedding photog I've ever seen... :thumbsup:

Tood Johnson is a very good pro photog. Pics are very well taken but not my cup of tea.

Wedding pics are very personal. It means a lot to the parties involved. Personally i feel candid shots are more unusal and unforgettable. There are a lot of good photogs here who can do such pics, of course the quality is not comparable to Johnson but the subjects/compo is top-class. Also because of culture difference, ang mo wedding seems to be more "class" with their jackets, gown, backdrops, scenery, etc compare to our usual smaller apartment, decor, dressings, etc. Images of ang ko kuah, red eggs, red buns, roasted pig, paper cutting ... all these make a wonderful background shots to us here, but because they are so "familiar" to us, a lot of ppl overlook these. I don't understand why the younger gen will go all out to be so westenised and spent so much on studio shots when they should have more candid shots with their family and friends? Forget about the table to table group photos but instead ask some back-up photogs to take candid shots when the couple move about from table to table to meet and chat with their friends, etc.

Juz my 2 cts worth ... no flaming plse..

The one with all the pigeons flying around is one of my favourites
But the best has got to be the 8th pic in his wedding gallery
Brilliant stuff

This guy has done work for national geographic and vanity fair. So he's REALLY good

I feel the opposite. Capturing the moment is something that is just there, and gone in a flash. That's why he specialises in that photojournalistic aspect in his style. Even though some of his shots might be posed, they are still not the orthodox, "sit, pose, give me a fake smile" shots.

Yeah, i feel western weddings are so much nicer than chinese weddings. Maybe i'm too westernised, but i really like how everyone really dresses their best and the effort taken to perfect every single part of the wedding. Like choosing the flowers, the lighting, decorating the rooms. Everything is done to perfection.

In Singapore, everything is just done like a procedure. It's too boring and less colorful for me.

lauLEE said:
Tood Johnson is a very good pro photog. Pics are very well taken but not my cup of tea.

Wedding pics are very personal. It means a lot to the parties involved. Personally i feel candid shots are more unusal and unforgettable. There are a lot of good photogs here who can do such pics, of course the quality is not comparable to Johnson but the subjects/compo is top-class. Also because of culture difference, ang mo wedding seems to be more "class" with their jackets, gown, backdrops, scenery, etc compare to our usual smaller apartment, decor, dressings, etc. Images of ang ko kuah, red eggs, red buns, roasted pig, paper cutting ... all these make a wonderful background shots to us here, but because they are so "familiar" to us, a lot of ppl overlook these. I don't understand why the younger gen will go all out to be so westenised and spent so much on studio shots when they should have more candid shots with their family and friends? Forget about the table to table group photos but instead ask some back-up photogs to take candid shots when the couple move about from table to table to meet and chat with their friends, etc.

Juz my 2 cts worth ... no flaming plse..

ALl these photojournalistic weddings kick ass

I'm going to do Photojournalism for Grad school and minor in Wedding and portrait photography man.

Thanks for the link, megaweb. That guy's site looks awesome too.

American weddings are just so beautiful. ;p Everything is done to perfection.

FLiNcHY said:
In Singapore, everything is just done like a procedure. It's too boring and less colorful for me.

Maybe its because you have not yet seen really good stuff from local wedding photogs?

Partly, I tend to agree with laulee. What we want to remember is something close to our hearts, something we can identify.

What we really like about the angmoh's work is also his culture. A lot of what we see on TV, the places we visit, the absolute uniqueness of their experiences not available in our local context makes them desirable.

Similarly, my angmoh friends really adore our type of weddings so much they actually choose to get married here with all our local nusances. Their reason is exactly why we love their romantic stuff; the absolute uniqueness of our experiences not available in their local context makes them desirable.

Sort of a delightful reverse culture shock/experience...dreamy

To thread starter.

You seriously need to check out some local wedding photographers as well. Some will blow you away.

Twilo said:
To thread starter.

You seriously need to check out some local wedding photographers as well. Some will blow you away.

To be fair, do give some credits to this Arizona guy. He is quite artistic, plus he is a wildfire fighter (to add to that). Check out his wildfire photo collections (under the Journeys tab)... cool.

Twilo said:
To thread starter.

any recommendations? i need one in the near future.

Yeah probably. Different cultures intrigue different cultures :bsmilie:

Having been to 4 local weddings over the past 2 years, i don't find anything special.

Whats so special about going to the brides house in the morning and asking to be let into the house or HDB flat on the condition of drinking some crap in a cup or eating wasabe.

Tea drinking ceremonies are done in the living room of a flat or house. Nothing special to it. Wedding ceremonies are done in churches which don't look anything special, no effort is taken to decorate it really nicely. Guests all come in Shirts and jeans. No one is dressed in their absolute best.

The wedding dinner is probably the only time to capture something special. Even then, everything is preplaned by the restaurant on some package deal and nothing absolutely special is noted.

Singaporeans are becoming more and more westernised, choosing western weddings over traditional chinese ones. Yet, except for a few, local weddings are decidedly ordinary.

It's always about the money isn't it. Getting it done for the best price possible here.

FLiNcHY said:
Yeah probably. Different cultures intrigue different cultures :bsmilie:

Having been to 4 local weddings over the past 2 years, i don't find anything special.

Whats so special about going to the brides house in the morning and asking to be let into the house or HDB flat on the condition of drinking some crap in a cup or eating wasabe.

Tea drinking ceremonies are done in the living room of a flat or house. Nothing special to it. Wedding ceremonies are done in churches which don't look anything special, no effort is taken to decorate it really nicely. Guests all come in Shirts and jeans. No one is dressed in their absolute best.

The wedding dinner is probably the only time to capture something special. Even then, everything is preplaned by the restaurant on some package deal and nothing absolutely special is noted.

Singaporeans are becoming more and more westernised, choosing western weddings over traditional chinese ones. Yet, except for a few, local weddings are decidedly ordinary.

It's always about the money isn't it. Getting it done for the best price possible here.

I'm sorry to go offtrack here but I am very offended by your remarks. Just because you don see anything special does not mean that it is not worth mentioning.

Beautiful photos are not anyguarantee to a beautiful relationships. THey serve to enhance memories of the one special day but that one special day is the commencement of a life time journey to be spent together.

Fetching the Bride is indicative of paying respects to the daughter's parents and elders and likewise the bride is suppose to pay respects to the groom's parents and elders. THis allows the elders of both family to be officially introduced to the newly weds and forge a tie. As the Chinese say, "Simple rites Deep Feelings". There is no need for fancy ribbons or decor but the gesture of respectfully offering tea is more than enough.

Furthermore SIngapore is known to dress down and many fashion gurus have commented that the locals have no dress sense compared to Hong Kong and Taiwan and even Shanghai. Perhaps we live in the tropics and the lack of seasons and a constant humid weather suggest a sluggish attitude towards dressing.

sebastiansong said:
I'm sorry to go offtrack here but I am very offended by your remarks. Just because you don see anything special does not mean that it is not worth mentioning.

Beautiful photos are not anyguarantee to a beautiful relationships. THey serve to enhance memories of the one special day but that one special day is the commencement of a life time journey to be spent together.

Fetching the Bride is indicative of paying respects to the daughter's parents and elders and likewise the bride is suppose to pay respects to the groom's parents and elders. THis allows the elders of both family to be officially introduced to the newly weds and forge a tie. As the Chinese say, "Simple rites Deep Feelings". There is no need for fancy ribbons or decor but the gesture of respectfully offering tea is more than enough.

Furthermore SIngapore is known to dress down and many fashion gurus have commented that the locals have no dress sense compared to Hong Kong and Taiwan and even Shanghai. Perhaps we live in the tropics and the lack of seasons and a constant humid weather suggest a sluggish attitude towards dressing.
I'm sorry, i was referring to seeing nothing special, in terms of photographic opportunity. I don't quite know how to put it. I know all the meanings and indications and importance of the traditions and customs we practice and i'm not saying it's anything lesser than american traditions and customs. I'm just saying it's less fancy and pretty to the eye than American weddings, and also not as nice, in terms of photographic opportunities.

The meaning of marraige and how a wedding looks like are two different things. You can have a million dollar wedding and divorce the next year, as compared to someone who married very frugally but ended up being together till death.

hmm...wonder if there are any such local sites here?...will be interested to see some familiar surroundings...heh...anyone happened to know :dunno: ??