Ballet Academy

Status
Not open for further replies.

nanabanana

Oct 18, 2009
FortCanning2.jpg

1. in what area is critique to be sought?

exposure, composition and anything else that can be improved on !

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

i wanted it to have a postcard feel, like one that a tourist would stop to look at at a souvenir shop and buy it home for their families and friends

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

i was at a photoshoot with my friends and we were walking past when the postcard inspiration came into my mind, hence the picture.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

I feel that the colour is a lil underexposed, what do you think ???

i'm a newbie here ! do advise ! (:)

Composition wise not bad... the photo is underexposed, not severely so. Looks a bit dull, so bumping up the saturation and contrast would make it punchier hence more postcard like. I would try to get the overhanging branches out of the way (this is personal preference though, some may prefer using it for framing purposes). Getting rid of the trees behind the building will make the subject look cleaner.

hello corina..
well..the picture is technically ok..am i right to guess that the reason why u chose this angle is partly due to the steps leading up to the building?

the underexposure is fine if u want to have a more 'old school' or nostalgic kind of feeling..but for postcard, not much 'impact'.

branches are a slight distraction too.

what made u want to take this picture? i.e. what part of the building attracted u? the colonial style? the size? mayb you might want to emphasize that instead.

My interpretation:

Composition
1. You have captured a nice view on the whole subject. :thumbsup:
Maybe just a little titled towards the right side, but overall effect is still fine.

2. The pavement leads to the front entrance :thumbsup:
I like the pavement leading my eyes towards the building.