Nov 28, 2009
baby behind waterfall

ISO: 400
Exposure: 1/60 sec
Aperture: 8.0
Focal Length: 30.5mm
Flash Used: Yes
Model : Canon G11

In which area is critique or feedback to be given?
As i m new to photography, this is my first attempt to capture such potrait.

2. What were you hoping to achieve with this image?
Hope to achieve a similar kind of abstract painting effect

3. Under what circumstance was the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
emotions :-

4. Thread-starter's personal thoughts about the image.
he was actually peeping through the waterfall at me when i was trying to play around with the shutter speed on running waterfall and he caught my attention that i just snapped away. No software touchup has been applied to this picture and it comes original.

G11addict

Nov 28, 2009
Hi knoxknocks

thanks for ur advice, i am using picasa and this is the largest i can get

Sep 6, 2009
this picture definitely uses an interesting effect, and does look like an impressionistic/romantic portrait. however, though it was a snapshot, there are some things which can be improved, such as the composition.

first, there is a random green leaf at the right hand side of the frame, which you could crop out, cos it distracts the eye and doesn't add to the photo.

second, it might look better if you either framed the entire baby (with legs), or moved down to the baby's eye level to take the shot.

on another note, if you could get a cheap external flash, you could have slaved it and put it behind the baby for a backlighting effect to define him/her more clearly while still maintaining the impressionistic look.

just mho, hope it helps :)

Lokomotiv

Apr 19, 2009
Singapore