anyone here can give me advice about ovens?

Isaiahfortythirtyone

Jul 17, 2005
Clementi
hi guys

i got an old La Germania oven that died on me more than 5 years ago. my parents never got it repaired cos we never had a use for it. but recently i've become interested in cooking/baking (don laugh ar ;p ) and i wanna use an oven

1) do you think its worth it for me to repair the oven? anyone knows how much repairs on average cost?

2) or should i buy a new oven. and if i should get a new oven, should i get a huge fit-in oven that goes below my kitchen stove, or a portable one that can be carried around.

my mom used to have a BIG oven that you can hav 3 trays and bake altogether. but after not using for a long time (a few months), when switch on, it tripped my entire house electricity. :sweat: repaired it twice.

yah! thats what happened to mine. everytime i turn it on my whole house goes offline :bsmilie:

if u still have the oven get it repaired lo, i think $100+ to change something inside. cos those type of oven really good!!! :thumbsup:
after get it repaired, turn it on like once every 2-3 days to get the oven heat up so it won't trip again.

kaoz... u guys go do a search for Del_CtrlnoAlt & Oven... den u know the solution... i posted before... if need 'professional' help can look for me, since most of the ppl who repair ultimately will come my way... hehehe (but i charge more lah... its like paying an CEO to do the washing u know...)

you?! :angry: no discount meh?

Advice from Aristal saleman; If u seldom use ur oven, better to switch (10min or more) at least once every month to 'dry' the moisture in the oven. Have been practicing it for 3yr.

evq said:
Advice from Aristal saleman; If u seldom use ur oven, better to switch (10min or more) at least once every month to 'dry' the moisture in the oven. Have been practicing it for 3yr.
thats what was recommended but after a few months it tripped the whole house again. :cry: then comes the 2nd repair. :(

Drudkh said:
you?! :angry: no discount meh?

hmm discount? seriously, that depends on how serious your problem lor... heheh... i got cheap but dangerous solution & expensive but safe solution... which 1 u wan? i also got a expensive & dangerous solution... but no cheap & safe solution... sorry... :bsmilie:

so long winded and yet no cheap and good solution. :(

Drudkh said:
so long winded and yet no cheap and good solution. :(

that depends lor... if a chio bu ask me, i think i do free & teach her how to do step by step with slides & dvd documentation... free gift somemore... a kiss from me. ;)

:kok: super hum sum lou!

Drudkh said:
steady lor.. :cry:

aiya, if i post here rite, i think its not just sg lor, internationally i might be hunted down lor... and i believe those oven manufacturers also dunno about this lor... next time go outing, u buy me dinner i tell u, but dun spread lah... else i die... :bsmilie:

hmmm ok ok... :D deal!

Actually I always think that the oven repair man only need to press a magic button inside the oven to reboot then ok already, the other 30 minutes he just touch here touch there to make it look like a very difficult work.:bsmilie: