Anyone Got This Nikon WT-5A Wireless Transmitter


Die Hard

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2007
856
1
18
Hi all CS members. Anyone got the Nikon WT-5A Wireless Transmitter ? How does it work on the D4 ? Wish to get one soon. Any review on this Nikon WT-5A Wireless Transmitter ? Thanks In Adv ;)
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
I have the WT5, but have not used it. Read the manual, similar to the WT4.
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
Tried ad hoc mode to the new iPad using Shutterstitch. For some reason, it connects to the wireless but cannot log in to FTP.

Price is $10xx :(.
 

Last edited:

Rayeo

Member
Jul 21, 2009
56
0
6
Australia
Had my setup done at NSC.

Works well with the new IPad especially leaving the camera out in the cold winter on a tripod and shoot from the comfort of the warm room.
 

lenslust

Senior Member
Apr 22, 2012
1,213
2
38
Had my setup done at NSC.

Works well with the new IPad especially leaving the camera out in the cold winter on a tripod and shoot from the comfort of the warm room.
The cost is expensive for that little thing, as well as the weak connection point between WT5 and the D4. Excessive force would probably rip the connectors. Have not bought it yet because it's still pretty costly. Surviving off the WT4 on D4 now.
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
Managed to connect with Shutterstitch using ad hoc. Useful when shooting outdoors. Very strange that an FTP folder can be specified in the D4, but it does not work. Left the folder blank and everything worked as advertised.
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
The cost is expensive for that little thing, as well as the weak connection point between WT5 and the D4. Excessive force would probably rip the connectors. Have not bought it yet because it's still pretty costly. Surviving off the WT4 on D4 now.
Am thinking of getting the RRS L bracket. It protects the WT-5. But it will be heavy.
 

lenslust

Senior Member
Apr 22, 2012
1,213
2
38
Am thinking of getting the RRS L bracket. It protects the WT-5. But it will be heavy.
Am using the Fittest L bracket bought from TK, can't mount the WT5 if the L plate is on.
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
RRS bracket. It can slide out to accept the WT-5 transmitter.



 

lenslust

Senior Member
Apr 22, 2012
1,213
2
38
RRS bracket. It can slide out to accept the WT-5 transmitter.



Fittest L for D4 also can, but I don't really bring an allen key around, so before hand I know I'm using WT-4 or WT-5 I remove the L bracket.

 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
The RRS allows using the WT-5 with the bracket.
 

Hacker

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,257
2
38
Cyberspace
Yeah you mentioned, after sliding it out to allow fitting.
Wanted to confirm that the Fittest does the same? How much is it retailing for? The RRS is US$190 excluding shipping.
 

lenslust

Senior Member
Apr 22, 2012
1,213
2
38
Wanted to confirm that the Fittest does the same? How much is it retailing for? The RRS is US$190 excluding shipping.
Got it from TK at S$179.
 

dhanclub

New Member
Apr 8, 2013
4
0
0
Singapore
Hi,

Where do you guys bought the WT-5 from in Singapore?

Cheers
 

lenslust

Senior Member
Apr 22, 2012
1,213
2
38
I got mine from TK. Am sure CP stocks them.
It's USD$500 on Amazon, local's about $1K.

Hesitating as it cannot be used on my D600 & no backwards compatibility on D700 and D3S.