anyone feels shaky a few mins ago?

where got fast sia.... all online major forums got a related thread long before CNA had anything.. they should put

"LATEST : Tremors felt in parts of Singapore" for more info, refer to major online forums.....

lolx...

anywya, supposedly is this
"An earthquake measuring 6.0 on the Richter Scale has been recorded in the Banda Sea in eastern Indonesia, the Hong Kong Observatory reported."

our CNA.... ZERO news...
StraitsTimes online.... <--- Sorry, i dun visit $ grubber sites.....

A snipplet from the USGS ...

Magnitude 8.2 - NORTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA
2005 March 28 16:09:37 UTC
Preliminary Earthquake Report
U.S. Geological Survey, National Earthquake Information Center
World Data Center for Seismology, Denver

A great earthquake occurred at 16:09:37 (UTC) on Monday, March 28, 2005. The magnitude 8.2 event has been located in NORTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA. (This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.)

Magnitude

Date-Time
Monday, March 28, 2005 at 16:09:37 (UTC)
= Coordinated Universal Time
Monday, March 28, 2005 at 11:09:37 PM
= local time at epicenter

Depth
30 km (18.6 miles) set by location program

Region
NORTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA

Distances
203 km (126 miles) WNW (282°) from Sibolga, Sumatra, Indonesia
246 km (153 miles) SW (228°) from Medan, Sumatra, Indonesia
422 km (262 miles) SSE (154°) from Banda Aceh, Sumatra, Indonesia
533 km (331 miles) WSW (258°) from KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia

Location Uncertainty
horizontal +/- 6.1 km (3.8 miles); depth fixed by location program

Parameters
Nst= 65, Nph= 65, Dmin=535.9 km, Rmss=0.85 sec, Gp= 61°,
M-type=moment magnitude (Mw), Version=6

Source
U.S. Geological Survey, National Earthquake Information Center
World Data Center for Seismology, Denver

(Source: USGS)

-----------------------------

Oh my god, not Sumatra again! 30km depth denotes it is an underwater quake. Geez ... I am keeping my finger crossed for this one. ;(

Let us all pray for the well being of those nearby and hope there will not be another Tsunami. :sweat:

alankuik said:
where got fast sia.... all online major forums got a related thread long before CNA had anything.. they should put

"LATEST : Tremors felt in parts of Singapore" for more info, refer to major online forums.....

lolx...

anywya, supposedly is this
"An earthquake measuring 6.0 on the Richter Scale has been recorded in the Banda Sea in eastern Indonesia, the Hong Kong Observatory reported."

our CNA.... ZERO news...
StraitsTimes online.... <--- Sorry, i dun visit $ grubber sites.....

lol some times read forum can get faster news :)

but 8.2 very serious. At indonesia again :eek:

any webby to tsunami alerts?

i was in the kitchen when the hanging cooking utensils started to sway. i turned around and saw the kitchen windows closed. so it couldn't be the wind. for a moment, my imagination ran wild ... :confused:

glade that all are well...

hope that our friends in sumatra are okay as well.

cast123 said:
was sitting in front of my Computer and suddenly feel giddy, the text seems uneven, then look at my tank n saw the water vibrating. Anyone stay near hougang had the same feeling?

sentiments exactly!!! staying in bedok.. i was asking my yg sis if she feel it but she say no leh.. i was like moving back n forth then ask my sis to see if i'm shaking then she say no leh... my dad felt it too..

Info on the tremor:

The tremors felt in Singapore at 12:10 a.m. on 29 March 2005 were due to an earthquake that occurred in Southwestern Sumatra, approximately 600 km west southwest of Singapore. The magnitude of the earthquake is 8.2 on the Richter Scale. The epicentre is located at Latitude 2.1S and Longitude 97.0E.

source: http://app.nea.gov.sg/cms/htdocs/article.asp?pid=1198

Uh oh!

I felt the earth move under my feet!

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/recenteqsww/Quakes/usweax.htm

Serangoon Road here.... at first it was the continuous few minutes of the window grills, then decided to stand up from my comp investigate when i felt i was about to be thrown off the groud....

this is really bad... natural disasters... mother nature is calling. May all of us remain in silent prayers of our own faith & religions - praying for those in northern sumatra...

Amen.

Weird, didn't experience any tremors, but suddenly felt nauseous, so decided to sit up and surf net for a while then saw this :eek:

Hope that it doesn't trigger another tsunami, 8.2 is pretty big!

did a google search for tsunami alert latest
TSUNAMI BULLETIN NUMBER 001
PACIFIC TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER
0634 AM HST 28 MAR 2005

TO - CIVIL DEFENSE IN THE STATE OF HAWAII

SUBJECT - TSUNAMI INFORMATION BULLETIN

THIS BULLETIN IS FOR INFORMATION ONLY. NO ACTION REQUIRED.

AN EARTHQUAKE HAS OCCURRED WITH THESE PRELIMINARY PARAMETERS

ORIGIN TIME - 0610 AM HST 28 MAR 2005
COORDINATES - 2.3 NORTH 97.1 EAST
LOCATION - NORTHERN SUMATERA INDONESIA
MAGNITUDE - 8.5 MOMENT

EVALUATION

THIS EARTHQUAKE IS OUTSIDE THE PACIFIC.
BASED ON ALL AVAILABLE DATA A DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS
NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII. REPEAT. A
DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO
TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII.

THIS WILL BE THE ONLY BULLETIN ISSUED FOR THIS EVENT UNLESS