Anybody figured if i could slot in 5th battery for SB-600?


Status
Not open for further replies.

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#1
I am amazed at the full recycle time for SB-800 with 5th battery. You pay nearly 200 bucks more for a 6-AA pack with wires here and there and additional dangling load for just 0.2s improvement with another brand's flash.

So the question is, SB-600 can jam in the 5th battery compartment? :devil: If can, tonite i go Holland buy!
 

Mar 15, 2004
353
0
0
41
Toa Payoh
#2
There is no way you can squeeze the 5th compartment into SB-600 or use additional Battery Pack such as the SD-7 or SD-8A because of its simplified design from SB-800. SB-800 has a additional of Modellling flash which is useful for some photographers. Thats is why many of the D70 owners prefer to buy SB-800. Below is the extract from D70 manual.

 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#3
Basket, just now i hit the power limit of SB-800. I need more power!!! Was using an umbrella to diffuse the flash set at 24mm. f11, ISO200, umbrella 1-1.5m away, night shoot portrait with Fullerton 1 as backdrop. Beeped loudly of insufficient power and client was underexposed. Used direct flash, bo bian. Now i see the pics, yucks. :angry:

Now what, get more SB-600s? ;p Umbrellas i have a lot (more assistants too? haha). Currently only 1 assistant..damn. Or do i have to get professional flash guns like those used by wedding pros? (big ones! Saw 2 wedding couples shooting just now)
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#5
Urm... the 5th battery doesn't supply higher power or makes the GN more for you, it only speeds up the recharging time. Same goes for the SD-8A.
 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#6
espn said:
Urm... the 5th battery doesn't supply higher power or makes the GN more for you, it only speeds up the recharging time. Same goes for the SD-8A.
Yea, i was wondering if i could speed up the timing for a 2nd body, so that i don't need to get another 800 lor. (thinking of one body with normal zoom and the other with the WA 12-24). But come to think of it, wonder if they sell the pack seperately anyway, else it won't be of any use. But i guess can't fit.
 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#7
AJ23 said:
Sorry for the OT, but, get a Power Pack. ;p
Call me cheapo, but I have a friend who does good DIY. ;p I just can't bring myself to buy stuff like $200 for 6AAs (not Nikon's though). ;p And i hate wires, imagine with 2 bodies somemore.

So maybe another 800 is still the better option.
 

AJ23

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2003
12,716
0
0
101
Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
#8
2100 said:
Call me cheapo, but I have a friend who does good DIY. I just can't bring myself to buy stuff like $200 for 6AAs (not Nikon's though). And i hate wires, imagine with 2 bodies somemore.

So maybe another 800 is still the better option.
The Power Pack I meant was studio strobe with external power pack. :)

eg1. Bowens
eg2. Elinchrom

:devil: :devil: :devil:
 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#9
AJ23 said:
The Power Pack I meant was studio strobe with external power pack. :)
Time to pour over the 2nd hand mags like shutterbug/practical photography i received from my relative. :devil: I know nuts about studio.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom