Any stories to share on what people are willing to do to get the best/lowest price.

Reportage

Nov 24, 2008
Sometimes good, sometimes bad.

I will post a couple later on after IT Show.

"hi, my cat is giving birth and i have to set aside some money suddenly for her delivery"

"hey... u came late... so you should give me a discount..."

"I'll wait for the last day to get it cheap, cheap...."

Hi I'm noob to camera and low budget, furthermore your item looks like it was dropped from 5th story and is in bad cond.

"Why so expensive? The prices quoted on ClubSnap is cheaper."

"$50 cheaper can or not? can la... can la... make friend mah... can la... other people selling cheaper u know... can la..."

Discount la, I recommend all my friends to buy from u.

Posted in wrong forum should be under 'Kopitiam'

moved

Potential buyer: After inspecting the lens with a loupe and a LED/UV torch light for 30 minutes with the utmost scrutiny...

"Sorry, but there is a single speck of dust. You will have to lower the selling price otherwise I am not able to except the lens in this condition". :rolleyes:

Posted in wrong forum should be under 'Kopitiam'
General Photography Chat mah.....how many photographer have or will be in the same condition, i figured might as well come out with a list of the most frequent discount request lines or even the most fantastic ones.

That way...they might think up something original or at least have a guide to refer to.

and as promised earlier...

Customer- Eh, i know your boss leh...cannot discount even a bit?
Sales- I am the boss, who are you?

Customer- No discount? I want to speak to your manager.
Manager - Best i can do already.
Customer- I want to speak to your superior.
and so on and on.

Customer- Better Price?
Sales- Best already.
Customer sits in shop and waits hours.
Customer- Better Price.
Sales- Its the best already.
waits again and again and again.

Customer- can you tell me about this camera?
Sales- bla bla bla (many hours later)
Customer- your best price?
Sales- Best already.
Customer- walks out and buy from another shop minutes away.

Customer- Eh, US/HK/etc show the item is this price?
Sales- Explains local warranty, distributor/shop margin and so on.
Customer- Are you trying to smoke me? Black shop..i will tell everyone about you.
Customer- Comes back a month later when the shop is selling cheapest eg, 82mm Hoya Filter.

Customer- Cheapest 70-200 2.8 in town.
Friend- You not scared grey goods only shop warranty?
Customer- aiyahh...local warranty is they earn money one.
After the shop warranty end many months later.
Customer- eh, your lens got problem one...i want you to fix.
After repair quotation
Customer- so expensive..i think you sold me spoil one, i want money back or i call CASE.
Sales- Call lah...you think you are the first meh?

Customer- My friend bought at this price last year.
Sales- Its last year price sir. This year is this year price sir.
Customer- Do you know that (bla bla bla bla)!
Sales- That may be so but the price is the best price now sir.

Days after IT Fair,
Customer- Please find me so and so, I want to buy this and this.
So and so- Sir those prices are valid for IT Fair only.....
Customer- You told me to look for you when i want to buy.
Sales- Sir, i said to look for me during the IT Fair sir.
Customer- No you didnt, you said to look for you when i wanted to buy.
Sales- ...during the IT Fair Sir.
Customer- No i didnt hear you say that.
Sales.- silent wa lau eh.

LOL! The things that people are willing to do for money... :sweat:

I would correct that to things people would do to spend less money for the things they want.

Thing is, most of the time people do not calculate the risk.

i got this PM in clubsnap when i'm selling one of my cam...

Dear sir,
i interested to buy your camera for $yyy ( cut 30% from the price i stated at BNS )
please accept my offer, since that's the best offer i can give you,
but i really need your camera, and i believe you're a kind person.
please contact me if you're ok with this.

then the other one...

dear sir,
i'm interested to buy your camera at your asking price, can i pay by installment...

*sigh

"shop A says $2000"
"ok i give you $1990"
*run to shop A*

"shop B says $1990"
"ok i give you $1980"
*run to shop B*

"shop A says $1980"
"ok i give you $1970"
*run to shop A*

"shop B says $1970"
"ok i give you $1960"