AF converter ?


Oct 30, 2010
370
0
16
#1
Well i just want to know if there are any add ons in the market that can autofocus a lens on an entry body . Nikon cam , ty !
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#2
Why don't you post the question into Nikon subforum?
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#3
afaik, don't have such thing, for any camera system,
anything add between the lens and body, the lens won't be able to focus at infinity,
even it is possible, buy a higher class Nikon body with built in AF motor will be far more economy, usable and reliable.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#4
Well i just want to know if there are any add ons in the market that can autofocus a lens on an entry body . Nikon cam , ty !
Assuming such a converter could be made, it would be large, bulky and noisy. You would mess up the flange distance as well - you'll have problems with exposure, focus, etc.

Lesson learned: Do your homework before buying. Other brands don't put such a limitation on the entry-level bodies.
 

Mkx0305

New Member
Jul 17, 2011
10
0
0
#5
There is no such accessory in the market as the AF system for each brand is patented.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#6
There is no such accessory in the market as the AF system for each brand is patented.
Nope it's not that at all. It's a limitation of mechanics. Sigma, Tamron, Tokina, all the companies that are licensees to the Nikon mount, heck even Nikon themselves could release the adapter, but why would they want to? It would be big, bulky, noisy, and introduce big headaches for the end users.
 

Cowseye

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2010
3,786
0
0
Singapore
www.ttlo-cowseye.com
#7
It's like introducing an external motor drive. Sorry for my ignorance question: I thought there something like this for the old film based SLR?
 

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#8
Out of interest, there was a series of old Nikon AF Teleconverter TC-16/a/s that you can read about, but these are pricey legacy items that are suppose to work on the faster MF nikkors with various restrictions.
 

rhino123

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 1, 2006
5,243
15
38
NA
#10
AF converter... don't have. AF confirmation - yes.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,662
69
48
lil red dot
#11
Nope it's not that at all. It's a limitation of mechanics. Sigma, Tamron, Tokina, all the companies that are licensees to the Nikon mount, heck even Nikon themselves could release the adapter, but why would they want to? It would be big, bulky, noisy, and introduce big headaches for the end users.
Some of those 3rd party brands you mentioned did not pay license fees to Nikon... which is also why some of the older 3rd party lenses have metering issues with newer Nikon bodies.
 

pinholecam

Moderator
Staff member
Jul 23, 2007
10,951
90
48
#12
Top Bottom