Advise needed: is Pentax A 50 f/1,2 still available NEW?

easyFinger

Sep 20, 2008
anyone knows if Japan or elsewhere can get a boxed set New?

greatly appreciate your help. thanKs! :)

anyone knows if Japan or elsewhere can get a boxed set New? greatly appreciate your help. thanKs! :)

If u r talking about d manual focus version. Think its out or production. Locally there is someone selling d lens in mint condition but dunno if it comes wif d box.

I think its out of production though only recently (about 5yrs ago, still available new in JPN)

If you want NIB, you'd have to try JPN or those online JPN stores on ebay.
Else look for those very good condition used ones on Jpn ebay stores.

Surprisingly, quite a few ppl hve this lens in SGP, so nowadays it does pop up in BnS here on CS every now and then.
(Ok.. maybe not surprising since this is probably the best SLR 50ish f1.2 lens that there is at a good price) :D

Wait 5 more days, you will have another New option, considering should cost less than current 900 SGD hard to find Pentax A 50 f1.2 ;)

Rokinon to announce their new 50mm f/1.2 lens on August 26th

http://photorumors.com/2014/08/19/rokinon-to-release-their-new-50mm-f1-2-lens-on-august-28th/

Rokinon-50mm-f1.2-lens.jpg

I think its out of production though only recently (about 5yrs ago, still available new in JPN) If you want NIB, you'd have to try JPN or those online JPN stores on ebay. Else look for those very good condition used ones on Jpn ebay stores. Surprisingly, quite a few ppl hve this lens in SGP, so nowadays it does pop up in BnS here on CS every now and then. (Ok.. maybe not surprising since this is probably the best SLR 50ish f1.2 lens that there is at a good price) :D

thanks for the info, will look around.. if anyone is heading to Japan & happen to see one, really appreciate the help... ;)

wah!! if it's as good then worth the wait I guess..

Dunno about the Samyang, but I got a few fast f1.2 50's, tried a few others and looked at quite a few sample picts of others.
The Pentax 50/1.2 is certainly one of the best there is for SLRs and at a 'good' price (as such lenses go).
Good rendering in more situations (others can fail in quite a few situations with shifty bokeh); smc flare resistance; sharp enough wide open (some are sharper but compromise bokeh; others softer); one of the smallest around (esp. for an SLR f1.2); well built.

Mine is the 'K"

https://flic.kr/p/js7UAf by jenkwang, on Flickr

https://flic.kr/p/jvTVfF by jenkwang, on Flickr

Dunno about the Samyang, but I got a few fast f1.2 50's, tried a few others and looked at quite a few sample picts of others.
The Pentax 50/1.2 is certainly one of the best there is for SLRs and at a 'good' price (as such lenses go).
Good rendering in more situations (others can fail in quite a few situations with shifty bokeh); smc flare resistance; sharp enough wide open (some are sharper but compromise bokeh; others softer); one of the smallest around (esp. for an SLR f1.2); well built.

Mine is the 'K"

https://flic.kr/p/js7UAf by jenkwang, on Flickr

https://flic.kr/p/jvTVfF by jenkwang, on Flickr

Poison lai liao... Keke... I better dun start... :smilie:

Maybe?? http://cemalsagnak.wordpress.com/20...kor-pg-queen-of-resolution-and-king-of-bokeh/

ughhhh.... where's the antidote? serious poisoning case!

was figuring that I should get a good fast 50mm once and for all... thanks for the info. :)

Dunno about the Samyang, but I got a few fast f1.2 50's, tried a few others and looked at quite a few sample picts of others. The Pentax 50/1.2 is certainly one of the best there is for SLRs and at a 'good' price (as such lenses go). Good rendering in more situations (others can fail in quite a few situations with shifty bokeh); smc flare resistance; sharp enough wide open (some are sharper but compromise bokeh; others softer); one of the smallest around (esp. for an SLR f1.2); well built. Mine is the 'K" https://flic.kr/p/js7UAfhttps://flic.kr/p/js7UAf by jenkwang, on Flickr https://flic.kr/p/jvTVfFhttps://flic.kr/p/jvTVfF by jenkwang, on Flickr

ughhhh.... where's the antidote? serious poisoning case!

was figuring that I should get a good fast 50mm once and for all... thanks for the info. :)

Just no perfect answer nor a perfect 50mm imo. :D

Poison lai liao... Keke... I better dun start... :smilie:

Maybe?? http://cemalsagnak.wordpress.com/20...kor-pg-queen-of-resolution-and-king-of-bokeh/

Its a good lens, but does not work on a K-mount camera w/o serious modification.
Other than that, there are quite a few situations where its spherical aberrations and optical vignetting works against it in the bokeh, when OOF highlights are involved.

it's going for about US$700 used!!! I thought it'll be less than the Nikon sibling which sells new for US$700... maybe US$500 thereabouts would be reasonable used?

it is demand and supply, if there is always a stock, it will be cheaper,

the rare thing goes, people can charge higher, and the highest bid gets it.

unless other brands give a more competitive alternative products, old rare lens for Pentax will still stay high price than rest other modern same spec-ed lens.

---------------

a good example is pentax 50mm lens, before the DA 50mm f1.8 AF lens comes out,
20+ year old pentax 50mm f1.7 manual focus lens is even more expensive than brand new Canikon's AF 50mm f1.8 lens.

Problem with legacy Pentax lenses are that they have been usable on the dslr unlike some other brands which orphaned the old mount.
There is also the issue of the lens being out of production and that drives up the price as well.

Just no perfect answer nor a perfect 50mm imo. :D Its a good lens, but does not work on a K-mount camera w/o serious modification. Other than that, there are quite a few situations where its spherical aberrations and optical vignetting works against it in the bokeh, when OOF highlights are involved.

Never had issues wif my version on d Bokeh dept. keke. Its has a cult following for a good reason for its Bokeh.

Pentax A50 f1.2 is a good lens....i saw a website before there is a silver limited version....yum yum...hahaha...if cant buy, touch also shiok....:)

There's also a gold plated edition.

wah! limited edition some more, must be able to burn a bigger hole in the pocket...