AD Wedding mood

fotoudavid

Mar 11, 2005
I have seem ppl that can take nice shots, ok portrait, good angles on certain subjects, quite journalistics.

But to ppl who just started out AD Wedding shooting, do remember something important, the overall album must be able to portrait a happy mood, a wedding mood.

You may be good at shooting models, you may be good at shooting marcros, you may be good at finding angles, you may be good at streets photography, you may be good at taking products, but the main factor doesn't lies here, its lies in the key to tell a stories. A stories of two ppl getting married, the mood of that day.

My thoughts only. Feel free to slam me if you think i tok rot.:)

Till now, still trying to get the best mood of that day out, still trying my best.

Hello Smurfman,

Wedding Day Photography and it's interpretation, is very much depends on the Photographers' styles and his Clients' fondness and preferences.

Even for the word "Journalistic", has it's own definations and interpretation given by different practisioners and followers.

Different wedding cultures and customary, may also influences taste, choices and believes.

Simply said, there's no right or wrong ways -- it's about Interpretation and Acceptance.

At the end of the day, it's also part of your 'job' to persuade your potential clients, that your Works ( Style, Interpretation and Presentation ) is Good or the Best -- thru verbal or non-verbal means.

- - - - -
Your topic aside:

Technically, i ''detest' the word used - "AD" ( Actual day Wedding ) as it is a direct translations of the taiwanese's term for the Wedding Day Photography. Using such term, has already set you back a few notches, if you know what i driving at. "Wedding Day" is universal, and folks in the western world know what we are talking about.
- - - - -

Enchanted said:

Technically, i ''detest' the word used - "AD" ( Actual day Wedding ) as it is a direct translations of the taiwanese's term for the Wedding Day Photography. Using such term, has already set you back a few notches, if you know what i driving at. "Wedding Day" is universal, and folks in the western world know what we are talking about.
- - - - -

Yes, I agree with Nick..

Actual Day Wedding, make it sound likes Solemnization Ceremony is unreal, fake, Boh Pakay like that, maybe the proper term should use is Customary Wedding Day or just Wedding Day.

catchlights said:
Yes, I agree with Nick..

Actual Day Wedding, make it sound likes Solemnization Ceremony is unreal, fake, Boh Pakay like that, maybe the proper term should use is Customary Wedding Day or just Wedding Day.

All the couples and wedding forums use this term, they use i follow lor.

Things like what BS, it's bridal studio but it seems to me like Bull S*it. :bsmilie: Also like what FH....took me quite a while to figure that out. basket.....

Damn SMSes from them too, sometimes i can't figure out.

Enchanted said:
At the end of the day, it's also part of your 'job' to persuade your potential clients, that your Works ( Style, Interpretation and Presentation ) is Good or the Best -- thru verbal or non-verbal means.

- - - - -

Actually i don't sell myself, i just let the potential clients look thru website, and choose their own photographers. I don't tell client that my ( Style, Interpretation and Presentation ) is good or watsoever, just let them choose their own. I don't just do wedding, i do alot of other photography matters, so don't need to do much sales on wedding.;)

By the way, please don't use too deep ang mo, i got difficulties in reading.:)

10 years ago when i was working in a bridal shop as their in-house photograher .... Before the shooting start, we ( me and the couples ) will spend 5 minutes chat .... listen to them, what type of style they want ... either taiwanese or western or very modern type ( mean the pic will crop off forehead ) ... :kiss:

So the same thing applies to the AD ... since they are my customers, we can have a meet up before hand or have a teleconversation, listen to them , see what they want ... ( yong xin ling ting ) ... or they want me to stick to my own style and my creatively :heart: (cos some might dun accept the idea of their forehead to crop)

hope my newbie ideas help ... :lovegrin:

smurfman said:
By the way, please don't use too deep ang mo, i got difficulties in reading.:)

haha .... that why my ang mo is like a primary 6 student talking .... :lovegrin:

2100 said:
All the couples and wedding forums use this term, they use i follow lor.

Things like what BS, it's bridal studio but it seems to me like Bull S*it. :bsmilie: Also like what FH....took me quite a while to figure that out. basket.....

Damn SMSes from them too, sometimes i can't figure out.
I read in the paper today that they just translated the Bible into sms text style lingo. :dunno: On sms it may be fine to do this to save cost but I find that even in CS some people use it.

My understanding:

Non-Verbal -- It could means your Online Samples and Portfolio, or Print Ads, or hard-copy albums, etc. [ This maybe the first step or contact that potential customers, get to know you and your services ]

Verbal -- Communicating to your potential clients, after making the physical contact. It involved the presentation, indentification, proposition and last but not least, 'solemnization'.

Most customers ( brides ) would like to 'interview' their photographers, becos it is part of their 'identification' process ... it's never, never just about money ( although it is important ). :nono:

'Interviewing' process involved not mere communication on just packages and works, it also gives an idea about the commitment level of the service provider, to the clients. A higher success closing rate, will reward those who paid attention to Client's needs, who seek assurance, confidence and commitment.

I am not against Pros ( Career ) that are not into Wedding & Bridal 100% nor even 50%, but what i am implying is that Specialisation, is the route to recognitions in your specailsed field -- it's either You are known as a General Practisioner, or ........... ( fill the the blank ).

We have had heard enough lament remarks about 'wedding clients & their low budgets' ... but they never wonder why in the first place they are attracting the Sand-Flies ?? ... and not the Butterflies ? :dunno:

[ whew ... ]

I think the term AD is appropriate in Singapore because sometimes it takes 1 year between ROM and "actual wedding" that for non-local... its like a limbo in between... but I have to agree that wedding photography has one rule, which is the couple's rule (within reason of course). One couple I met want many photos of her guest having a good time and to identify who came and who did not... another couple thinks guests are not as important as their own photos.

Enchanted said:
My understanding:

Non-Verbal -- It could means your Online Samples and Portfolio, or Print Ads, or hard-copy albums, etc. [ This maybe the first step or contact that potential customers, get to know you and your services ]yes yes, alot my clients see website, then comfirm me. i got alot online samples. my sample means 100 to 180 pics on web per wedding, so the clients see and compare my works with others. No, i got no printed samples, cos i training my clients to comfirm online, do not wish to waste time to meet clients regarding AD.

Verbal -- Communicating to your potential clients, after making the physical contact. It involved the presentation, indentification, proposition and last but not least, 'solemnization'. if client die die want to meet, then bo bian. but i always tell them i only have online samples.

Most customers ( brides ) would like to 'interview' their photographers, becos it is part of their 'identification' process ... it's never, never just about money ( although it is important ). :nono: my client base different from yours, i think i lucky, cos i don't waste time to meet them.:)

'Interviewing' process involved not mere communication on just packages and works, it also gives an idea about the commitment level of the service provider, to the clients. A higher success closing rate, will reward those who paid attention to Client's needs, who seek assurance, confidence and commitment.yup, this one correct, even using emails only, i also try my best to pay attention to wat they want.

I am not against Pros ( Career ) that are not into Wedding & Bridal 100% nor even 50%, but what i am implying is that Specialisation, is the route to recognitions in your specailsed field -- it's either You are known as a General Practisioner, or ........... ( fill the the blank ).sorry, don't understand.

We have had heard enough lament remarks about 'wedding clients & their low budgets' ... but they never wonder why in the first place they are attracting the Sand-Flies ?? ... and not the Butterflies ? :dunno: this one i think got to train the client base, i know some old timers unable to up price, cos they charge too low for too long.

[ whew ... ]

Nick, i try my best ang mo to type liao. ;) colors in red means i try to answer in nick post.

i don't see why using "AD" will set anyone back any notches. communication is like that, everyone speak the same lingo. if in sg, u use AD, pple understand you, you understand them, that's the first key in knowing ur customer well, no?

either way, glad to see so many prolific wedding photographers giving advise. i'm taking notes!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :embrass:

Enchanted said:
- - - - -

I'm not sure about your above post.
What is there to "detest" about the word "AD"?
So what if it is a direct translation from Taiwan? (Thank you, I think most of us do not know that)
How have using the term "AD" set anyone back "A FEW NOTCH"?
Why is there a need for the "westen world" to understand us when we're working in the easten world and most of our clients are from SG?

Some of my clients are not from SG. They do not respect me any less or pay me any less.
In fact some of them even mention my name during their thank you speech and still keep in touch with me. At the end of the day it is how I project myself on their big day and what I can deliver that matters.

Hope you don't take offence but I do find it rather odd.

jOhO said:
i don't see why using "AD" will set anyone back any notches. communication is like that, everyone speak the same lingo. if in sg, u use AD, pple understand you, you understand them, that's the first key in knowing ur customer well, no?

Yes, agree to your reasoning.

When i mean "set you back a few notches" -- it implies that you may not able to communicate effectively with the Westerners ( and to an extend, the westernised locals who are tuned to the western concept & lingo ) when one uses the term "AD" wedding.

"AD" is actually a localised term. However, if your intended market is the World, then wouldn't it be an effective communication, if one uses the term "Wedding Day" instead ?... or "Wedding Engagement Day" rather than the localised term -- "ROM day" ?

Further example includes, "Studio and Outdoor" is again a localised term, as when it is to be comprehanded by the world, it got to be something like this, or along this lines -- "Pre-Wedding Bridal Portraits"...

Again, these by no means any indication, that business won't run, if one did not have a "clear" communications. I am just pointing out why not 'leverage' on the use of the 'correct' term, and save yourself the trouble of explanation -- which is one of the golden rule in effective marketing stretegy.

- - - -

Enchanted said:
Yes, agree to your reasoning.

When i mean "set you back a few notches" -- it implies that you may not able to communicate effectively with the Westerners ( and to an extend, the westernised locals who are tuned to the western concept & lingo ) when one uses the term "AD" wedding.

"AD" is actually a localised term. However, if your intended market is the World, then wouldn't it be an effective communication, if one uses the term "Wedding Day" instead ?... or "Wedding Engagement Day" rather than the localised term -- "ROM day" ?

Further example includes, "Studio and Outdoor" is again a localised term, as when it is to be comprehanded by the world, it got to be something like this, or along this lines -- "Pre-Wedding Bridal Portraits"...

Again, these by no means any indication, that business won't run, if one did not have a "clear" communications. I am just pointing out why not 'leverage' on the use of the 'correct' term, and save yourself the trouble of explanation -- which is one of the golden rule in effective marketing stretegy.

- - - -
well the local market here are so used to the terms, if they changed it the so called "politically correct" terms. Wouldnt it be creating a barrier between you and the clients? Since I know some of them would do some research and come in contact with the local terms and lingos and then spread it by word of mouth to their friends etc etc.

Why care so much about lingo when you should be spending time understanding your clients needs.

yqt said:
I'm not sure about your above post.
What is there to "detest" about the word "AD"?

Tell me .... isn't "AD" - Actual Day sounds funny ?

Isn't any couple got married on their Wedding Day -- or rather, Actual Day ??

yqt said:
So what if it is a direct translation from Taiwan? (Thank you, I think most of us do not know that)
How have using the term "AD" set anyone back "A FEW NOTCH"?
Why is there a need for the "westen world" to understand us when we're working in the easten world and most of our clients are from SG?

When the Taiwanese Bridal ( One-stop concept ) Shops invaded the local scene in the Late 80's, they brought along their culture, business methodlogy, style, and 'lingo'.
They flourished thru the 90's, and the local Singaporean accepted their new standards, and pay premuims to be served and Wed in Style -- the "Taiwanese-style".

However, times changed and we witness industry shake-out in the late 90's, especially after the economic ( currency ) crisis of the 1997. By the time in the 2000, many were gone, as witness in IMM bridal enclaves of 90's .... Many have had changed names and owners, while others folded-up or bought-over.

Business has been very intense, competitive and cut-throat ... whereby stories of Couples going to CASE and authorities for refund and claims were common. Poor services & 'stereo-typing' among the taiwanese-styled ( One-Stop Bridal Shops ) were widespread.

It is wise to advoid mis-understanding and practice, by Not referring your service as "Actual day", or in any lingo of the 'Taiwanese-style' bridal shops and concept. ( Note: These applies in the local context only ).

Naturally, any words that links to these Shops' practices, ways, standards, and lingo .... i'll despise.

[ ... Nothing personal ... ;) ]

- - - - -

TMC said:
well the local market here are so used to the terms, if they changed it the so called "politically correct" terms. Wouldnt it be creating a barrier between you and the clients? Since I know some of them would do some research and come in contact with the local terms and lingos and then spread it by word of mouth to their friends etc etc.

Why care so much about lingo when you should be spending time understanding your clients needs.

The market is used to the terms ? ... Hmmm... :embrass:

Although there are some truth in saying - "creating a barrier between you and the clients", .... but from my records, all uses the term "Wedding Day", after signing the contracts.

Those that insist on using the non-politically correct terms, i'll deny them of my Service ... heehee :bsmilie:

Ok, Jokes aside, ... don't you think about time to put things right ? :)

- - - -

[ Thanks for all whom have shared your thoughts and inputs ... it's truly enlightening ... :sweat: ]

That would be nitpicking. I dont see any right or wrong here. More of a case of personal preferences and frustrations. :bsmilie:

Coz in the end of the day, I have to understand them and they would have to understand me. They hired me for my services and not for my command of the language. :bsmilie: