Activating external flash


Status
Not open for further replies.

Ljung

New Member
May 11, 2005
743
0
0
#1
when using external flash (e.g. 580EX), any better way to activate/deactivate the flash in between shots? (instead of switching the ON/OFF button every time)
 

Jul 22, 2008
231
0
0
#2
when using external flash (e.g. 580EX), any better way to activate/deactivate the flash in between shots? (instead of switching the ON/OFF button every time)
I know some model (camera) can set Fn button to "ON/OFF" the ext flash. But not for my D90.
 

CS TAN

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2007
3,663
0
0
Hong Kong
#3
when using external flash (e.g. 580EX), any better way to activate/deactivate the flash in between shots? (instead of switching the ON/OFF button every time)
Switching the ON/OFF button is probably the most efficient way to do it. Why will you have a problem doing that? I am curious...
 

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#4
the 580 goes into sleep mode if you do not use it in btw shots. otherwise u can turn it off manually. other than that, there isn't any other options at the moment.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,541
33
48
Pasir Ris
#5
when using external flash (e.g. 580EX), any better way to activate/deactivate the flash in between shots? (instead of switching the ON/OFF button every time)
Use the Auto Power-Off function of your camera, the flash will follow as soon as the camera is off. Just tipping the shutter halfway will reactivate camera and flash. If you don't need flash at all then a manual switch is the best way to save energy.
 

KY1977

New Member
Jan 3, 2008
947
0
0
#6
Maybe the TS wants to use flash for some shots but not in others? The power switch is still the fastest though.
 

May 5, 2009
480
0
16
#7
I know some model (camera) can set Fn button to "ON/OFF" the ext flash. But not for my D90.
D90 have this function lor..:sweat::sweat:

u can set the Fn key to "no flash" (or something like tat ;p), just that u need to press and hold the Fn button when u press the shutter, i am doing this with my d90 all the time, no problem at all. :D
 

J-Chan

Senior Member
Sep 21, 2005
2,361
1
0
#8
But lets say I want to have the AF-assist function of the flash but whether the flash actually fires at my discretion.. Is there any other faster way other than setting it as a my menu function? Not really sure if the higher end Canon bodies allow this to be assigned to a button..
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#9
But lets say I want to have the AF-assist function of the flash but whether the flash actually fires at my discretion.. Is there any other faster way other than setting it as a my menu function? Not really sure if the higher end Canon bodies allow this to be assigned to a button..
Not that I am aware.

Do any other manufacturers provide such an option? :think:
 

May 5, 2009
480
0
16
#10
But lets say I want to have the AF-assist function of the flash but whether the flash actually fires at my discretion.. Is there any other faster way other than setting it as a my menu function? Not really sure if the higher end Canon bodies allow this to be assigned to a button..
Not that I am aware.

Do any other manufacturers provide such an option? :think:
hmm, just did a test with my d90 and SB600. i set the Fn button to be "Flash off", with AF-assist turned on on SB600.

in a dark room, when i half press the shutter release button, SB600 will emits AF-assist light, even when i press and hold the Fn button, pressing the Fn button is to tell the flash not to fire, not really "turning the flash off".

another side note, when the camera is in Aperture priority mode, shutter speed of 1/60 is automatically selected with flash on, if i half press the shutter release button plus press&hold the Fn button, the camera will then meter the scene and give the correct shutter speed to get ideal exposure (as if when there is no flash).

not sure whether this is what you are asking.. ;p
 

J-Chan

Senior Member
Sep 21, 2005
2,361
1
0
#11
Yea, thats what I was asking.. So Canon users must dwell into the menu just to do the same thing?
 

Ljung

New Member
May 11, 2005
743
0
0
#12
Maybe the TS wants to use flash for some shots but not in others? The power switch is still the fastest though.
ya, thanks for helping to clarify.
was meaning when want to choose ot use or not in between some shots.

coz when is swithed ON, the flash will be charging until ready for use (assuming will discharge when OFF - i might be wrong).
So, rather let the flashgun to charge and discharge (if they happen), will it be better if there is some 'standby' mode where the flashgun holds the power charged when dont want to flash at some point of time. then reactivate the flash when needed (assuming the flash power is hold there and not recharged from beginning when OFF).

@ CSTan, I have raised this question not because having a problem in continuously ON/OFF. My main objectives is just want to continue improve my understanding on the equipment and learn more from the experts, in case I have missed out any functions given or better handling technique. :)
 

chalib

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2007
2,072
0
36
#13
ya, thanks for helping to clarify.
was meaning when want to choose ot use or not in between some shots.

coz when is swithed ON, the flash will be charging until ready for use (assuming will discharge when OFF - i might be wrong).
So, rather let the flashgun to charge and discharge (if they happen), will it be better if there is some 'standby' mode where the flashgun holds the power charged when dont want to flash at some point of time. then reactivate the flash when needed (assuming the flash power is hold there and not recharged from beginning when OFF).

@ CSTan, I have raised this question not because having a problem in continuously ON/OFF. My main objectives is just want to continue improve my understanding on the equipment and learn more from the experts, in case I have missed out any functions given or better handling technique. :)
Go to your cam menu Cn function

You can disable the flash to fire but it will still emit the AF assist beam when the flash is on mode

IIRC
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,541
33
48
Pasir Ris
#14
coz when is swithed ON, the flash will be charging until ready for use (assuming will discharge when OFF - i might be wrong).
Based on observation I can say the flash is NOT discharged when switched off. The charge will stay and slowly discharge. If you switch on shortly afterwards you'll see that the flash is ready immediately.
 

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#15
Based on observation I can say the flash is NOT discharged when switched off. The charge will stay and slowly discharge. If you switch on shortly afterwards you'll see that the flash is ready immediately.
and hence precaution must be taken if opening flash for repairs or diy stuff. might get a short from the power.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom