$750k for a new 5-room BTO at Tiong Bahru

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/t...-grant-new-bto-flat-at-tiong-bahru-costs-750k

Brand new, largest size BTO at one of the most popular and convenient estate at the city fringes... I find it quite reasonable leh. Is this guy expecting too much?

See... was it so hard to give us your opinion while at the same time as for ours... :thumbsup:

Its human nature... want fresh, want cheap, want good... best is free some more. The location itself is already a big draw due to its closeness to the CBD... price wise, I couldn't afford it... but that's just me. I'm sure someone else could... and if the writer couldn't (like me) than a change of location is the logical choice... :think:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/even-after-subsidy-and-grant-new-bto-flat-at-tiong-bahru-costs-750k Brand new, largest size BTO at one of the most popular and convenient estate at the city fringes... I find it quite reasonable leh. Is this guy expecting too much?

I personally think the price for this is decent considering the size and location. I would've thought it would cost closer to $900k to be honest.

its very cheap price already ... still complain then go punggol woodland bto lor.

See... was it so hard to give us your opinion while at the same time as for ours... :thumbsup:

When I do have it I give lah. Sometimes no firm opinion then listen to what others say lor. When one grows older, one learns not to form fast and hard opinions on anything and everything. Listening is more important.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/t...-grant-new-bto-flat-at-tiong-bahru-costs-750k

Brand new, largest size BTO at one of the most popular and convenient estate at the city fringes... I find it quite reasonable leh. Is this guy expecting too much?

That is the problem we are facing here. HDB is an investment not a public housing. Overtime people accepted the artificial inflated price. Best to restrict sale of HDB back to HBD. No speculation for such flats they are strictly for living.

Over the years, the expectation has been built that HDB is for us to buy cheap and sell expensive. It is officially called the " Asset Enhancement" scheme.

As long as people switch off their brains and fork out the money there will be offers like that.
Everybody has a choice about what to do with one's money.

Over the years, the expectation has been built that HDB is for us to buy cheap and sell expensive. It is officially called the " Asset Enhancement" scheme.

At today pricing, I don't think one could classify HDB as cheap when they have to pay more than 30 years for it. You have to slave your entire adult life (don't you ever lose you job) to own one. So what when you finally has to retire and now you flat is worth $1m? If you sell to live with your children, you will have to help pay his $1m HDB. The end result is a lose-lose arrangement.

Why build expensive 5-room flats?

Singaporeans are not reproducing.

1 bedroom flat is enough even for a married couple. It'll bring the price down to $300,000 instead and make everybody happy.

Can buy TWO houses in Australia for this WITH your own land ! lol

In some backward part of Australia, perhaps. In Sydney, you can't buy a five room apartment with this kind of money. Neither can you in Melbourne.

Can buy TWO houses in Australia for this WITH your own land ! lol

Yes like this: :bsmilie:

compact-house-in-australian-outback-1.jpg

Why build expensive 5-room flats?

Singaporeans are not reproducing.

1 bedroom flat is enough even for a married couple. It'll bring the price down to $300,000 instead and make everybody happy.

The key issue here is not about 2 or 5 rooms. The flat didn't cost that much. The idea of investment is just terrible. It will need 50 years of inflation to balance this value.