6.5 million people in Sg!

You are not really a futurist of an optimistic breed aren't you?

Well, I can't really claim to be any sort of futurist. I'm so myopic I can see 20 days ahead of me, let alone 20 years. :D

Find me a country which had their population numbers stagnant over the past 20yrs and I'll gladly migrate and live there.

Ah, but those countries have space for the population to expand into. Us? Hmm, unless we can build sky cities, like those in Star Wars! :)

I'd say dun worry.
At the rate Tuas extension is growing, in a few decades, we can all walk over to Darwin and migrate there...

Eh, but nobody wants to sell us sand, ley! So how? Siao liao. (Now I suddenly realise the REAL reason why all our playgrounds nowsaday got no more sand...)

6.5mill... and I though they are complaining not enough babies...
those FT lor, come here spoilt the market nia, me dun rike FT unless they really contribute to the growth in a big percentage.

If they really do contribute a big percentage to our growth, it will be much much much WORST for us *********ans. This is because if they can contribute that much, then y bother employing us :angry: ?

In conclusion: Get rid of FT in our country! And give our ppl back their jobs!

If they really do contribute a big percentage to our growth, it will be much much much WORST for us *********ans. This is because if they can contribute that much, then y bother employing us :angry: ?

;) , nice say... but they not are very bad also la, if they like teachers or mayb the media and so on, respectable career, they would earn my respect:cool:

my parent's 4 room cost 40K 25yrs back, where diploma grad. starting pay is around $900 iirc.

now 4 room cost $150K with fresh dip grad salary at 1.7k.

20yrs down the road, be prepare to pay 600k and fresh dip salary is 3.4k??

my parent's 4 room cost 40K 25yrs back, where diploma grad. starting pay is around $900 iirc.

now 4 room cost $150K with fresh dip grad salary at 1.7k.

20yrs down the road, be prepare to pay 600k and fresh dip salary is 3.4k??

why not ? Dip in Casino loh !

:sweatsm:

This is because if they can contribute that much, then y bother employing us :angry: ?

This will not work.
Accordingly to our magical population figures, we have an increase of population despite yearly low birth rates.

Such magical increase citizens contributes alot of economical worth.
Imagine 100,000 PRCs students came here study and if they signed the 3 yrs working bond, they will spend in singapore for 6 years.

6 years of solid, stable funds for the state and economic.
and this cycle carry on.

Just like how Singaporeans contribute to JB's economic everyday.

When there are such over demand of population and employees, the only happy chaps will be the government and the employers.

Government will be happy collecting taxes,
Employers will happy continue hiring cheap employees...ooppss...sorry for using the word "cheap" .....should be VALUE employees.

Employers will question you "why should i offer you a high pay when i can find a PR subsititute with no NS obligations and cheaper to hire?"

In terms of Skills, they have. (Otherwise, spore will not welcome them)
In terms of Knowlege, they are not worse, in fact better than you. (look at the straights times...how new PRs topped in O level results and uni.)
In terms of Attitude, they are the best. (Willingly to work long hours with low pay. you can beat that?)

In conclusion, Singaporeans have to think more how to win this rat race.

;) :cool: ;)

i always knew we were jus animals in some grand scheme of things. wads SPCA's number? :bsmilie: :sticktong

Actually in the beginning I dun have much to say about how our garment runs our country………but recently I just can’t help it to comments on the ways and ideas that pop out from them. I dun feel good…I dun feel comfortable and I dun feel proud either as a Singaporean now. Just take a look around you, in a group of 10 people…about 30% of them are foreigners…on the street, in the work place …..kopitiam…..etc…..
I feel that our garment just care about how to earn $$$ in Singapore…..how to always stay ahead in the economy…..who is going to work for them is not important as long as he or she contributes well in terms of $$$ to the country.
Commoners like me will be left out sooner or later…….working as a normal worker for so many years, …….NS, reservist……..and by the time I get old and useless……I’ll be left at one dark corners. Sometimes it is very sad to see Singaporeans just follow……….
And I guess they also dun really have much choices.
If there is an option for me to choose……..definitely this is not a place I’ll like to stay, work and get old……..but now, what to do???
:(

why depend on the govt?... if u're capable u'll survive..

don't blame the foreign talent, they are not called talent for nothing..

im sure there are black sheeps, blame ur boss for bad judgement.. ur boss interview and employ them.. not the govt..

why we have foreign talent?
because we keep sitting back and waiting for the govt to do something for us.

the earth is disgustingly over crowded not just singapore..
look at the amount of waste and pollutions we discharge everyday.. 20yrs down the road, the populations might be worst off with mutated dieases and viruses, we might be on the verge of the destruction of earth.. so how many people then don't relaly matter.

Unfortunately not all people are born capable. To meet the
govt dreams all must unite into one, through life long
special education. This special education give them the
know how to survive and behave towards fellow human beings.

To me there is only one solution:

To learn about the purpose of living and execute it one will be able
to fulfill all dreams. In plain words, all citizens must help the govt
to achieve what it want Spore to be, and in return the country
should provide all necessary needs for the people to go about doing
what they have to do.

Another way of saying:
One live to help others, so if the employees help the boss to fulfill
his target, the boss likewise will help to make all employees have
a better and richer working life.

We have to wake up to this call of the govt to help them to reach
that target, we have to work hard, keep fit continue to work
even though you are 70 years old especially if you have
vast experiences and physically capable.

:heart: :)

Commoners like me will be left out sooner or later…….working as a normal worker for so many years, …….NS, reservist……..and by the time I get old and useless……I’ll be left at one dark corners. Sometimes it is very sad to see Singaporeans just follow……….
And I guess they also dun really have much choices.
If there is an option for me to choose……..definitely this is not a place I’ll like to stay, work and get old……..but now, what to do???
:(

Stop your peasant whining!! Like what some here say, tighten your belt go for upgrading courses, respect the FTs and love them like citizens. If you got no job and cannot perform it is because you never listen and improve and so dont blame government and dont worry when you are old you wont be in a dark corner. Government has have already thought of "resorts" in Batam where we will send our old folk to retire in "comfort"

P.S. please read between the lines yah. Found out that some or most here dont understand how to do that.

To be capable is to learn.. I don't think anyone is born capable of anything other then crying out loud and drinking milk ;p

To learn To try.. and not To whine

Im sure there's work for every level of intelligence.. Just have to learnt to accept that not everyone can be CEOs and do a work they are comfortable in and able to excel..

To Excel doesn't include being a tripod for ur boss :D

why depend on the govt?... if u're capable u'll survive..

don't blame the foreign talent, they are not called talent for nothing..

im sure there are black sheeps, blame ur boss for bad judgement.. ur boss interview and employ them.. not the govt..

why we have foreign talent?
because we keep sitting back and waiting for the govt to do something for us.

the earth is disgustingly over crowded not just singapore..
look at the amount of waste and pollutions we discharge everyday.. 20yrs down the road, the populations might be worst off with mutated dieases and viruses, we might be on the verge of the destruction of earth.. so how many people then don't relaly matter.

hi, it is not why we depend on govt or sit back do nothing.. it is the environment we grown up since independence... during the nation building years.. many things are controlled tightly.. therefore the people developed a sense of dependency on the government... so when the environment changes.. u can hear lots of complaining.. becos they are not used to self-survival.

as for "foreign talent" issue, i guess Singapore wants to be a United States. The reason why USA is strong in its economy is becos of huge influx of foreign talents working in Wall Street and Silicon Valley. It works ! indeed if a country imports high skilled labour, it will become very strong. To be frank, we have no choice... locals not much talents to be hired.

the future is still quite uncertain, do u realise there has been much talk and show on nuclear stuff in 2007 ? i guess the show is just the begining..

my advice is stop thinking too much .. becos u cannot help it. Enjoy life and your love ones while u still can. U dunno what will happen tomm.

:sweatsm:

i wonder how am i going to squeeze into those sardine cans called MRT.. ?:confused:

dun u feel it ? that trains are now getting packed often ? and more cars on the road ? the CTE, PIE and dunno wat E looks choke during day..

recently there is a contest whereby trying to squeeze as many people as possible into the MRT. :thumbsup:

singapore is like sim city 4000. the more people there is, the more the "mayor" can tax. the more money used to bring in more people and more tax. :ipuke:

I think HDB towns in pulau ubin and pulau tekong with connecting MRT will be in the pipeline 20 years later....:(