400d flash


Status
Not open for further replies.

lordpain

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2007
949
0
16
#1
does the 400d support triggering the flash on studio powerpacks through flash cable? or only through hotshoe IR?
 

grantyale

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2004
1,798
0
36
Bedok
#2
You need a hotshoe-PC converter. Cheap though.
 

lordpain

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2007
949
0
16
#3
hotshoe to pc? may i know what is that and how much would it cost? can a canon flash like the 580ex , 430ex or even a 420ex trigger the studio lights with the IR built inside it?
 

grantyale

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2004
1,798
0
36
Bedok
#4
hotshoe to pc? may i know what is that and how much would it cost? can a canon flash like the 580ex , 430ex or even a 420ex trigger the studio lights with the IR built inside it?
You were asking about wired trigger. 400D doesn't have a PC port to connect to studio strobes. A convertor is simply a small brick that attaches to the hotshoe and provide a PC port.

EX flashes generally cannot trigger studio flashes by IR. Shooting in manual flash mode, you can trigger studio strobes as optical slaves.
 

lordpain

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2007
949
0
16
#5
alright thanks. i think i get it. any idea how much it costs and where to get it?
 

grantyale

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2004
1,798
0
36
Bedok
#6
alright thanks. i think i get it. any idea how much it costs and where to get it?
You can check out the usually shops - Cathay, Alan, etc... I think someone on CS named PQ23 may carry this too.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom