2012 COE premiums for small cars hit S$81,889

xtemujin

Apr 1, 2005
Singapura, Singapore
COE premiums for small cars hit S$81,889
By Sumita Sreedharan | 19 December 2012 Wednesday | 04:35 PM

SINGAPORE - Certificate of Entitlement (COE) premiums for vehicles rose in most categories, with the premium for small cars hitting another all time high, at the end of the latest bidding exercise today.

The premium for cars 1,600 cc and below (Category A) finished at S$81,889, up for the previous high of S$78,523 which was recorded at the last bidding exercise.

The COE premium for big cars (1,601cc and above) also rose by 3.7 per cent from S$90,200 in the earlier bidding exercise to S$93,501 while the premium for motorcycles increased by 5.5 per cent to S$1,701.

In the Open category, where COEs can be used for any vehicle type, the premium dropped by 1 per cent to S$95,990 from S$97,000 at the beginning of this month and the premiums for commercial vehicles also saw a 1.3 per cent dip to finish at S$62,201.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC121219-0000097/COE-premiums-for-small-cars-hit-S$81,889

Hurray! Welcome to Singapore, best in the world.

Pay sooo much for a car and yet, during peak hours, kenna jammed everywhere.

MRT not that mucho better - kenna packed like sardines.

Not sure if we can up the population to 6M.

Very soon, we are gonna to see 100k COE and all the smaller cars will be squeezed out liao. The small car COE will be used to buy the likes of Renault or Citroen or VW 1.4lit turbo-charged cars.

Come 2013, we have great choice, like Diesel cars, green car discounts and so forth. But COE would still be so darn high.

Maybe, towards the next General Election, COE might come down becos of the large number of cars arriving at the 10year limit and going for scrap. So, there would be more COE to be pushed out. Let's keep our fingers crossed.

Don't buy Car... problem solved. :think:

To be fair, some people do need the mobility (e.g. property agents, or people working in more ulu areas where public transport is not as extensive/convenient).

I do agree that there are cases where people don't necessarily need a car.

To be fair, some people do need the mobility (e.g. property agents, or people working in more ulu areas where public transport is not as extensive/convenient).

Landscape photographers? :D

Huat ah!!!! walao, what a good timing, so many figure 8 in this $81889!!!!

Landscape photographers? :D

Singapore not so bad la.

I can imagine in other countries where everything is so far apart... And you have to trek for 4 hours through forest at times to get to beaches... Yes, car is definitely a must then. :bsmilie:

This piece of certificate could possibly be one of the most expensive paper inthe world. :bsmilie:

It is a joke! And what is so funny is people are still buying cars. Stop the buying for 3 months and let the system collapse.

Land Transport Authority (LTA) said:
Vehicle growth rate will be reduced to 1.0% p.a. from August 2012, before being further reduced to 0.5% p.a. from February 2013 to January 2015. In addition, a total of 4,789 remaining adjustments for over-projections in Quota Years 2008 and 2009 that were scheduled to be spread over bidding months from August 2012 to January 2014 will now be deferred for 1 year from August 2012 to July 2013. They will resume from August 2013 to January 2015.
Less COE to be issued unless more people start scrapping their vehicles and taking public transportation.

Record high was S$110,500 in 1994.

I believe most may have already heard of the next 'weapon' by LTA. Car price will be much more affordable and government will encourage you to buy since they earn taxes, parking, etc. However, all cars will be required to be equipped with GPS sensors. You will be charge based on your usage. So, if you are buying to polish, it is still relatively cheap to own cars. If you drive, then you got to watch when and where you are driving.

Who started the COE system? Is it Marble Tan?

Marble Tan is a genius who can devise profitable solutions for every problem. Using this same method, SMRT can solve MRT overcrowding problem by auctioning MRT passes and HDB can also sell limited apartments to highest bidders. Hospitals beds too for highest bidders. We could do with more marbles. All such initiatives will maximize profits for government coffers and related GLCs and we will be a richer and stronger country. Didn't someone say it is a moral hazard to subsidize public services? We must not lose our marbles over this.

If I am correct, it is the same marble that created HDB DBSS/BTO, LTA ERP. What other $ sucking solutions did he come up with?

IMO, he created dung fir his successor to clean up.

If I am correct, it is the same marble that created HDB DBSS/BTO, LTA ERP. What other $ sucking solutions did he come up with?

IMO, he created dung fir his successor to clean up.

Ha ha, I think you are correct. This is the marble lauded by KY for his superior GCE results.

Mah Bow Tan - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Ppl here are so stupid as to continue rewarding him with electoral success.
Thats endorsement enough for this sure win formula :D

The COE system is screwed.
Now only the middle class and rich can afford this.
Others who may genuinely need it, but are poor will either mire themselves in debt or just cannot afford to have a means to livelihood.