10D for f***

sniperd, i have nothing to prove in the first place. so whatever he thinks, is fully up to him.

this is final - i'm returning the oly c4040 to him tomorrow. i'm pulling out of photography until i have the money to buy my own camera. that way, whatever damages are all mine, and i'm fully responsible for it.

bye guys. adios.

Don't take it out in a public forum, theres really don't have a need to do so. He is your father afterall. If you try hard enough and instead of bad mouthing him here, i'm sure his attitude towards you will change unless you refuse to try. I don't think any father will be so selfish, maybe both of you have "xing ping" towards each other thats why he may not trust you with th camera, afterall 2000+ isn't a small sum of money. Try harder, i'm confident that your relationship with your father will improve. You don't have to suck up to him, he is your father and you are his son, not a boss and subordinate relationship. Think about it on the beach.

Originally posted by sehsuan
thanks for the advice. i think i ought to buy my own home on the streets, move out get everything myself then.

come on.. If your dad paid 4 it he as the right to waste it fi he wants to. As long as he is happy. Imagine 20 years down the road and ( assuming infaltion) you pay $10K for a D24 ( example ) ur kid want to take it out for a spin on the first day. What u gonna do.... oh yeah take it.. take it.. its only $10K..

so relax lah.

Can I ask, what did your CFO bought that evening at CP... beside the 10D...??

im was tempted to buy tt cam too... but i dun really wanna invest tt much.. as i got other cash commitments ... and economy really bad sia.. dunno when i get retrench ... :dunno:

THUS..... Ive decided to Get tt Camera By Mid April.. Wif INSTALLMENTS... Kekeke....

Hmm... and not using a single cent from my CFM - chief financial Manager... then she wont be nagging @ mi.... cos its my OWN $$$

but of cos... shops tt give installments are harvey norman etc.... bla bla which is selling fer $3099... sucks...

Wat to do.. Im a poor chap.. but refrain using my CFM money... thus u shd do the same too?

:angel:

hey buddy... dat's how most CFO's behave... A waste to see you go. esp when you seem to be able to make full use of your c4040. Don't see the point in going to the extreme... you can still afford a 10D with your own cash in good time... hey its only S$2600+ which is less than a souped up PC.

Really wish you could stay and contribute to the photographic community of Singapore.

But anyway, respect your final decision.
Good luck buddy!

sehsuan, take a break and think of other things, i.e. assignments, don't tell me you don't have them meh...thinking of them still make the hair behind my neck stand! ;)

There's life beyond photography and after all, isn't it a hobby to you and the majority of us?

If you need someone to talk to, feel free to gimme a call @ 91518640. I may not be a good advisor but I can try to be a good listener. I should be free most of the time until this unplanned school holidays end.

Sometimes its good to take a step back and look at the mirror!

If you think your dad is bad, you aint seen the real world out there yet young man!

So chill out! Your dad does not owe you a living, thank him for supporting you to where you at now! Get a job and you are on your own! Wait till you have your own kids! What ever goes around comes around!

Sometimes its us that need to change! I hope you do! If not I worry for the students you will one day teach!

thank you Darren, for the prompt reply.

24, and not very mature.

oh, btw, i'm contemplating to quit photography altogether, and only resume when i can afford enough money to get myself a camera using my own money.
sniperd, i have nothing to prove in the first place. so whatever he thinks, is fully up to him.

this is final - i'm returning the oly c4040 to him tomorrow. i'm pulling out of photography until i have the money to buy my own camera. that way, whatever damages are all mine, and i'm fully responsible for it.

bye guys. adios.
Wah lau bro.
Relax leh!
All these just because your dad doesnt want to let you bring the 10D for a walk outside.
You behave like a :cry: leh.
Just like a kid who makes a big din at shopping centers just because the father doesnt want to buy the kid a toy.

No offence lah. :bsmilie:
But most peeps here are just trying to talk some sense into you.

Originally posted by Pricess Leia
Sometimes its good to take a step back and look at the mirror!

If you think your dad is bad, you aint seen the real world out there yet young man!

So chill out! Your dad does not owe you a living, thank him for supporting you to where you at now! Get a job and you are on your own! Wait till you have your own kids! What ever goes around comes around!

Sometimes its us that need to change! I hope you do! If not I worry for the students you will one day teach!
@ least he got a papa tt buy him things... i dun even have hor!!!!

yes.. maybe tomolo during tomb sweeping i must ask him to give mi 4D lumber.. den can get tt cam too :confused:

are we really soooo deprive of getting tt 10D? is there really a need? if u r gd.. every camera is A GOD DAMN GD CAMERA

although im not contented wif my cam now... :bsmilie:

Originally posted by ivor
Can I ask, what did your CFO bought that evening at CP... beside the 10D...??

canon ef usm f/3.5-4.5 24 - 85mm
lowepro s&f 300aw
hagiwara 512mb compactflash

total bill: $3700.

Zplus, thanks for the compliment. unfortunately, this move comes at a time when i'm more than ready to move into DSLR because of the fast speed of focus, zoom, and the sheer bokeh effect that i'm attracted to. i prefer to move into sports photography, but circumstances dictate that i pull out now.

adam, i hope to see you again at some other MOE events snapping away with your new toy ;)

princess leia, i've cooled down now. an hour ago, i was still agitated and had a big, bad headache plagueing me. not now. i'm now executing a sensible decision as i see it, determined by the circumstances that are presented to me. worry not for my students - i'm discipline- and task-oriented.

lavenderlilz, there was a point a few years back when i busted my knees and even the sgh specialist couldn't help me. guess what did he say? he told me, "you deserved it. told you not to run that much." guess how i felt then, when i was feeling suicidal - i was before that, a consistent 8:30 2.4km runner, reduced to limping for 2 months. thank God that some other things happened in my life happened that i'm alive now.

nookie, yes, the initial few posts from me are very rash and brash. yet i ponder, by consistently saying that i don't know how to take care of things, i wonder if i've done anything or incurred any damage that befits me to be subjected to such scrutiny.

ruthbaby, there are other things that are more important in life than photography. like getting hitched. i suppose i should work in this direction first before i proceed.

You'll probably understand your father more when you learn to understand yourself first.

Originally posted by Parchiao
You'll probably understand your father more when you learn to understand yourself first.

precisely. i'm trying to figure out more about myself in the meanwhile. i haven't done enough retrospective self-inquiry before - that's something that i regret not doing so in the past.

lilz, i learnt from him that things can be swept under the carpet and be forgotten. and by the way, the knees - it didn't help that the comments came during BMT when i was struggling to even march, having field camps carrying fairly heavy stuff, having other platoon mates thinking i'm a fraud - because once i run, i still manage to clock sub 9:00 despite the knee pain. of course they didn't know that my knees gave me the utmost torture for days after that. my PC also didn't believe me, and willingly failed my BMT. yes, i deserve to get all that flak with no understanding from my family. but i'll sweep that under the carpet as well, and pretend nothing ever, ever happened.

no lah I think let him vent a bit... so he can cool down... after all we are his camera kakis so we are here to hear his camera-related probs...
venting out is better than penting in...

but everyone says wrong things lah... esp when u face ur parents so often the chance goes higher...
when I was in NS whenever I got to go home I loved it so much I actually did housework in the weekends, same when I was in hall... now I am just another slob cos I stay at home all the time...

Originally posted by togu
24? Working for MOE?

:what:

yes. to be a primary school teacher. you didn't know that? :p

by the way, how about ditching the battery grip to lighten the load... :bsmilie:

precisely. i'm trying to figure out more about myself in the meanwhile. i haven't done enough retrospective self-inquiry before - that's something that i regret not doing so in the past.

A hint. Not what you think about yourself, rather what others think of you. You'll be very surprised/shocked with your findings.

Originally posted by denizenx
no lah I think let him vent a bit... so he can cool down... after all we are his camera kakis so we are here to hear his camera-related probs...
venting out is better than penting in...

but everyone says wrong things lah... esp when u face ur parents so often the chance goes higher...
when I was in NS whenever I got to go home I loved it so much I actually did housework in the weekends, same when I was in hall... now I am just another slob cos I stay at home all the time...

True that everyone needs to vent but don't vent until it eats into you instead. That is when it turns unhealthy.

you do housework?? :eek: :eek: I am amazed man.

Originally posted by Parchiao
A hint. Not what you think about yourself, rather what others think of you. You'll be very surprised/shocked with your findings.

oh, yes, this.

as far as i understand, most of it is NOT positive.

i giving up on myself too.

Originally posted by lavenderlilz
True that everyone needs to vent but don't vent until it eats into you instead. That is when it turns unhealthy.

you do housework?? :eek: :eek: I am amazed man.

true true...

housework? yeah last time... wash dishes, sweep floor, accompany mom to mkt/ntuc, bring young (then) bro out for fun... LOL that was long long time ago in a galaxy far far away...