Hello, Newbie with EOS200D

Cruz01

Aug 7, 2017
Hello,

I am new to this forum and also to photography. I recently chance upon a g7xmarkii and found my liking to manual control and to get those nice shots and do timplelase. So I got myself a EOS200D with kit lens as recommended by a friend to start my journey.

I have a few questions which I couldn't find an answer online so far and would hope you jus can help.

1) Unfortunately and unlike g7xmarkii eos200d timelapse video were recorded in mov format. The fact that I use timelapse mode on the camera is to reduce post production of putting 300/400 shots together. However, mov format can't be send to iPhone through Canon Connect. This is troublemsome as can't do simple music editions on my iPhone to social media. Any way to shorten the process? I now have to send the mov file to pc and then convert to MP4 but I can't send it back to iPhone to use app to edit and add on music. Need some advice.

2) I purchase a drybox, not cabinet, what should be the correct tempture for drybox?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to ClubSNAP.
With regards to the dry cabinet / dry box:
You cannot set the temperature, these devices are designed to control the humidity, not the temperature. The temperature reading is necessary because the humidity is given as 'Relative Humidity', which requires the temperature as reference. (In short, the same absolute amount of humidity in a volume of air gives different figures for relative humidity at different temperatures.)
Just keep the average reading below 45% and you are done. Fluctuations (e.g after opening the box) are not relevant.

Afaik iPhone does support mov. If you use a mac you can use the photos app to transfer images or video clips to the photos app on your phone. Itunes can also transfer video files as a "home video", though I'm not sure if you can open files from the video app on the phone to edit. I usually don't have any issues transferring clips exported from final cut to my iphone.

Usually temperature isn't a concern, keep the dry box in a cool dry place away from direct sunlight, and just put a thirsty hippo or a bottle of silica gel in it. I use a dry cabinet and keep humidity between 35% to 45% (I heard if you go too low the rubber seals in the camera will dry and crack).

Rubber might be discolored by sweat and other residue. RH of 35% is no issue. On the contrary, the humid climate in SG seems to cause the known stickiness.

Welcome to ClubSNAP.
With regards to the dry cabinet / dry box:
You cannot set the temperature, these devices are designed to control the humidity, not the temperature. The temperature reading is necessary because the humidity is given as 'Relative Humidity', which requires the temperature as reference. (In short, the same absolute amount of humidity in a volume of air gives different figures for relative humidity at different temperatures.)
Just keep the average reading below 45% and you are done. Fluctuations (e.g after opening the box) are not relevant.

Oic. Thanks, didn't know that is humidity reading lol.

Afaik iPhone does support mov. If you use a mac you can use the photos app to transfer images or video clips to the photos app on your phone. Itunes can also transfer video files as a "home video", though I'm not sure if you can open files from the video app on the phone to edit. I usually don't have any issues transferring clips exported from final cut to my iphone.

Ya I can't seem to open it as under videos app of my iPhone and not in camera roll. For the clips fro final cut to
iPhone, are they in MP4 format and it is in videos app or camera roll? Thanks in advance

1. Import desired clips plus handles as 1 long clip to camera roll with Gnarbox. Precision -edit with LumaFusion

2. Sunlight kills fungus. Fungus hates sunlight. I keep my lenses in individually by the window in air tight glass jars from Sia Huat with silica gel. I remove the caps first to let light in . Lenses in my humidity controlled dry cabinet eventually grew moldy.

Ya I can't seem to open it as under videos app of my iPhone and not in camera roll. For the clips fro final cut to
iPhone, are they in MP4 format and it is in videos app or camera roll? Thanks in advance

Paiseh late reply, was out for a few days. Final cut can choose export format, I usually use .m4v for transferring videos to my phone, but that's via itunes to the videos app. You'd have to put your video file in the photos app (supports mov, m4v and mp4) on your mac to put it in the photos app on your phone.

Or if it's simpler for you, airdrop the files over!

Paiseh late reply, was out for a few days. Final cut can choose export format, I usually use .m4v for transferring videos to my phone, but that's via itunes to the videos app. You'd have to put your video file in the photos app (supports mov, m4v and mp4) on your mac to put it in the photos app on your phone.

Or if it's simpler for you, airdrop the files over!

Thanks for your tip😀