Change from Nikkor to Tamron? 24-70 has VR!

vizuel

Mar 16, 2007
80% Sg
I was reading some reviews and Tamron 24-70 with VR seems to perform pretty well! Tho IQ is not as tip-top, it's not very noticeable.
Now with the video, the VR seems so tempting. You won't need to use those heavy jigs to stabilize the camera. Any thoughts before I might something stupid / smart? :confused:

I was reading some reviews and Tamron 24-70 with VR seems to perform pretty well! Tho IQ is not as tip-top, it's not very noticeable.
Now with the video, the VR seems so tempting. You won't need to use those heavy jigs to stabilize the camera. Any thoughts before I might something stupid / smart? :confused:

The VR is useful if you are going to shoot video handheld. But the VR is not as stable when doing sweeps compared to a steady-ca or jig.

I'm on the Tamron :)

cool guys! thanks for your replies... my under used nikkor will go on sale soon =P

under-used...does it mean u dun shoot this range often?
then ur new tamron will b under-used too...
y sell then?

I don't expect the VR to be that good, it doesn't replace stabilization.

the tamron doesn't always nail focus spot on, and u can tell the AF is slower.

but of course there's VC... and it helps in poor light, to a certain extent.

it's lighter, but it's stouter (shorter but fatter)

May be a good pairing with the D600. Lighter and cheaper option.

Daoyin said:
May be a good pairing with the D600. Lighter and cheaper option.

And lower resolving power. Anyway, I think it's still a good option.

I almost bought this lens when I was in HK, glad I didn't. My friend's tamron got barrel problem more than a month after he bought it (bnew). Now its being serviced by tamron, and waiting time is 3-4 weeks. If you ask me, I'd stick to Nikon. But then again, YMMV.

nikon 24-70 also got barrel problems go search ard...but i believe not as bad as tamron due to the build.

Sometimes see luck one lah.. Got one guy currently at BnS, his 70-200 f/2.8 VR II that he's selling kena zoom problem within warranty period..

Third party lens quality cannot be compare to Nikon when you talk about distortion / sharpness / focusing speed / details / image, if you compare on price yes the different is very big from 33% to 50%. This kind of lens is make for amateur who have tight budget (entry level) not for professional.

Kekeke

U sure abt 3rd party lens quality can't compete with original manufacturers'?

Why do you think professionals don't use 3rd party lenses?

You sure about that? What a sweeping statement...

I can show you many examples where the 3rd party option is much BETTER than orig equpiment manufacturer in distortion / sharpness / focusing speed / details / image.

Kenneth Chen said:

U should try the new Sigma 35mm 1.4. U thinking is not updated.