What is " pixel-peeping " ?

daozhang

Jun 2, 2012
I sometimes read people said "pixel-peeping" in the forum, what does it really mean?

This may sound silly, but I am new to digital photography.

Looking at images at 100% or higher to be able to visualise individual pixels.

it's much like being a peeping tom. you strain very hard to see the "action". only this time, it's pixels getting it on. not people.

taken from Urban Dictionary.

pixel peeper
1) A digital photographer who magnifies photographs on the computer screen to critically evaluate image resolution at the pixel level. Commonly used as a derogatory remark to describe:
a) A photography n00b who erroneously believes that the quality of a digital camera is determined solely by the number of megapixels.
b) Insecure troll who frequents digital camera forums to religiously proclaim how his/her camera pixel count is greater than yours.
c) Wanna be photographer who debates about pixel count all day but doesn't have the talent to take a half-decent photograph.

They can be PIA especially when they.....
refuse to crop images even the images have more resolution than needed,
insisting of sending 24MP 16 bit tiff file to print a 4R photo (because the labs don't accept RAW files),
viewing a mural print at one feet away,
demanding banner to be printed in 300ppi,
posting 36MP uncrop full resolution jpg save at 100% to share online etc......

It's simple, people who are obsessed with image quality, and spend more time talking about it and worrying about it instead of shooting photographs.

Don't peep at pixels too much... the pixels will get very shy.

I sometimes read people said "pixel-peeping" in the forum, what does it really mean?

It is a derogatory term for someone who scrutinises his/her digital image down a very minuscule details, and very possibly even at the individual pixel level, languishing and lamenting about physical imperfections in setup.

This is in contrast to checking photo sharpness / focus. Pixel peepers take the game to a whole new level, in a different mindset.

For a start do not get too wrapped up with technical perfections because you have spent a fortune on the equipments.

With proper gears already, there is alot more elements to taking a good photograph, and you will free yourself and enjoy photography and progress better.

Ryan

.... to take a quick and furtive glance at your image/s and chirp when you spot a pixel that takes your fancy .......... peep peep .... cheep cheep .......

in simple terms... pixel-peepers are those who took photos, transfer them to their computer, open them up, pick the magnifier tool and zoom in 100-200% and ask these questions...

"walau eh so not sharp one?"
"kaw, noise so high"
"jialat lo corner not as sharp as center"

when that happens it usually ends with the pixel-peeper upgrading their gears or they post extreme comments on forums :bsmilie:

a person was asking for recommendation of a better lens able to do close up on baby,
the L lens he has not able to focus that close,
he is using a 5D and the biggest print ever make is 6R,
I told him can just crop out the part of images he wanted,
he say he would prefer keep all the resolution he has........

Ok, whatever floats his boat.

in reality,
even he has a lens able to do much close up,
the depth of field will be much narrower, a smaller aperture is needed.
he can't lower the shutter speed when doing close up
so, it will force he to shoot at much higher ISO
do you think he will get better quality from getting a "better lens" to shoot what he wanted?

It's simple, people who are obsessed with image quality, and spend more time talking about it and worrying about it instead of shooting photographs.

If you change the word image quality to talking about gear this would account for 95% of this forum

They can be PIA especially when they.....
refuse to crop images even the images have more resolution than needed,
insisting of sending 24MP 16 bit tiff file to print a 4R photo (because the labs don't accept RAW files),
viewing a mural print at one feet away,
demanding banner to be printed in 300ppi,
posting 36MP uncrop full resolution jpg save at 100% to share online etc......

had a good crack at it :bsmilie:

Aiyaa, you all so cheem wan...

Pixel-peeping = kiasu.

There, simply explained.

If you change the word image quality to talking about gear this would account for 95% of this forum

Nothing wrong with caring about image quality or gear... But it should not outweigh the main part of photography, which are the photographs. :)

Not so sure that 95% of people here do that.. I prefer to be optimistic. Agreed that it's probably the majority though..

pixel-peeling = QC check on images

Almost everybody do it when they suspect that their lens or camera is faulty.
But some people do it because of their obsession with image quality.