List of Absentees from 10th Anniversary Talks

Reportage

Nov 24, 2008
from http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/anni...unday-10th-anniversary-talks.html#post7867350 and http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/anni...bsentees-saturday-10th-anniversary-talks.html

What a waste sia. You guys should have said not coming so that the organisers could have released slots to users who wanted to go or were already there but too paiseh to ask since did not register. Quite a number of the talks in my opinion are very interesting especially Fatigue`s camera maintenance talk.

On this topic, did anyone take videos of the talks?

Kristupa Saragih uploaded his presentation into youtube this morning ... check out the Clubsnap Photography Community fb page. link below :)

[video=youtube_share;JIyI9WXuouQ]http://youtu.be/JIyI9WXuouQ[/video]

Dear All
Thank you for your interest and support during the past weekend's talks.
If you have registered for any of Sunday's ten talks, please scroll down the following or use "Control-F" to do a quick search of your CS nick. If your name appear on this list, it means that either
1) there was an administration oversight and we apologize on that part; or
2) you were absent without informing us; or
3) you were shy and didn't say hi to us at the registration counter.

Regardless, please PM me with the specific workshop and the reason(s).
We are all volunteers, speakers, workers, etc etc. and we would appreciate your cooperation in updating us with your status. If I do not receive a PM by the end of the week, i.e., Friday 27th April, I will treat your case as AWOL (Absent without Leave). Punishment: Ban from 2012 CS activities.
Thank you for your understanding.

This is what I see on the thread regarding absentees for the talks.. :sweat:

To the admins and mods and the organisers..
Before you guys use "AWOL" and banning (such serious tones), maybe you can take note on something.

1. On the threads of talks, there are NO ways for us to contact, in any case of unable to attend or emergency. There are people who don't surf the net so often so it may be unfair to them if you need a "time period" for a PM of explanation.
2. The threads are lock so during the day of the talk, how can we update you guys when there is also no contact number?

Pls look into these matters.
Thanks. :)

Before you guys use "AWOL" and banning (such serious tones), maybe you can take note on something.

1. On the threads of talks, there are NO ways for us to contact, in any case of unable to attend or emergency. There are people who don't surf the net so often so it may be unfair to them if you need a "time period" for a PM of explanation.
2. The threads are lock so during the day of the talk, how can we update you guys when there is also no contact number?

you can PM afterwards/after the event and let the mods know. case by case basis.

i had a minor surgery once. missed stefano's talk. got banned from mcnally. but i just pmed the mods and informed them, along with a nice picture of me undergoing the surgery, after the event. i got my seat for joe mcnally back.

allenleonhart said:
you can PM afterwards/after the event and let the mods know. case by case basis.

i had a minor surgery once. missed stefano's talk. got banned from mcnally. but i just pmed the mods and informed them, along with a nice picture of me undergoing the surgery, after the event. i got my seat for joe mcnally back.

All I can say is that they can't blame ppl for not informing them.
They should have place a point of contact (either number or leave the thread open).

Words like AWOL n banning is a little too harsh when they themselves don't even "close the loop" before arrowing.

Kristupa Saragih uploaded his presentation into youtube this morning ... check out the Clubsnap Photography Community fb page. link below :)

attended that talk... amazing photos. likely to cause a slow fire in pocket :bsmilie:

Stefano Virgilli also uploaded his slides to his facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/stefanovirgilli

his talks:
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/anni...oshpped-stefano-virgilli-stefanovirgilli.html
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/anni...tal-era-stefano-virgilli-stefanovirgilli.html

thanks to Clubsnap for organising these talks and also to all the speakers for sharing!
too many talks too little time!!! tough decision to attend one talk and forgo the others going on at the same time

agree that the registration was closed quite early but guess the organisers also need to balance printing out the finalised list etc for the registration process on the actual day... friend just returned from overseas could only register for 1 talk then registration closed minutes after heh...

Maybe can PM the mods in CS?

PM my reason already. Yet to reply.

why so kanjiong? ppl also got a life got to work one leh... just give them sometime. they arent paid ya know.

allenleonhart said:
why so kanjiong? ppl also got a life got to work one leh... just give them sometime. they arent paid ya know.

I also never expect an immediate reply leh.
All I can say is that I PM-ed. So they can take their time to reply as I'm sure I'm not the only person who PM-ed them. ;)

I really kanjiong that you are so kanjiong people kanjiong when he is not kanjiong that you kanjiong.

kanjiong spiders everywhere!

awww sorry we hurt some feelings out there with the absentee threads

AWOL, MIA, aeroplane , fly kite ....... its all the same ...... read below ... it was on EVERY registration thread

Terms and Condition for All Talks

[*]The Organisers seek cooperation from everyone to update the relevant threads or pm sebastiansong if they are unable to attend for any reason. Failure of which will result in an automatic ban from subsequent talks......

if you had PM'ed seb ..... I think the courtesy you show the community (not just us) will be appreciated even if its a little late in the day (even if the reason is total BS or real is not important because we dont really care and we cant verify ) ..... but the effort and courtesy in informing us is important because it shows us that the person is responsible

The following below is NOT directed at Shaoken .... they are GENERAL COMMENTS about our feelings on this matter

---------------------------------------------------------------------

No-shows cause several things:

1. they deprive other genuine photogs of seats when seats are available (bang balls people)

2. they sabo and make Clubsnap look BAD (intentionally or unintentionally) . SAM provides us the use of the Museum for 2 whole days and we report registration numbers to them .... but actual numbers are lower . How much confidence will SAM have in Clubsnap in future ?

3. Speakers donate their time and effort to contribute education, information and share of themselves to as many people as possible. They are also advised before hand what numbers to expect . Speakers make the commitment to come and deliver, Mods make the effort to plan and organize .... and AWOLs cannot make the effort to inform that they cannot make it ?

Sorry, these events are not suka suka you like just put down your name and treat the community with disrespect and just fly kite without a further word

To condone it would mean Clubsnap saying "Its OK, we accept this behavior (non-notification of cancellations)" and ultimately accept this culture of inconsiderate tardiness

Finally to reinforce the point ...

Its OK if you cannot make it to an event. Have the courtesy and responsibility to advise us ..... EVEN IF ITS LAST MINUTE... even if its too late to get add-on attendees.... the damage control and considerate effort you make to the community is still appreciated . After all the effort, we also feel shiok when you at least make an effort to let us know you cant make it

how convenient .... always got event, its so easy to get a net connection and sign-up .... and when cannot make it or just plain forgot about the event ... suddenly cannot find a connection ..... MAKE IT YOUR RESPONSIBILITY AND EFFORT to find a connection then .... even to the Clubsnap FB page also can

Sign up for events with RESPONSIBILITY . If you cannot be responsible, why should the community respect you or take you seriously in future ? Dont talk about CS, take this as an advise in growing up and maturity

Otherwise ..... PAY $ and BUY A TICKET .... THEN wether you come or dont come , we could not care less......

ed

AWOL, MIA, aeroplane , fly kite ....... its all the same ...... read below ... it was on EVERY registration thread

maybe in the future get $5 or $10 from each person, but the money will go to community chest. can't think of any other way to prevent people from putting aeroplane.

and thanks admins for inviting me to the dinner, i have to work on both days. :(

Otherwise ..... PAY $ and BUY A TICKET .... THEN wether you come or dont come , we could not care less......

ed

i actually quite like this idea hahaha:bsmilie:

oh one more point.....

When you sign up for a Clubsnap event .... MAKE IT ONE OF YOUR TOP PRIORITIES of THINGS TO DO for THAT DAY where almost everything else is secondary during that time slot of your life where the only things more important than the talk would be things like a FAMILY EMERGENCY, ilness, passing would prevent you from attending.

if its going to be middle or low on your list of priorities ..... its ok..... JUST DONT SIGN UP ..... do not use the photography community's events as filler entertainment for yourself in case that day is bo liao and you use a CS event as emergency entertainment of last resort

i believe that sebastiansong was up in the wee hours of the morning just to update the attendance list and bring a print out for the day's talks
not one talk you know, 3 locations, full days of talks.

btw i'm glad that you found the talks and photowalks interesting

Moderators spent their weekend at SAM. :thumbsup:
Someone even celebrated his birthday with us instead of spending time with his family :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

I really hope to attend but engaged with work.

For the people who put in efforts, time and personal sacrifices, it is very heart wrenching for them to be aeroplaned.

Don't know which "(smartphone/internet) geek" replied my wall post on CS facebook.
My reply to that person are stated below.

5. The Organisers seek cooperation from everyone to update the relevant threads or pm sebastiansong if they are unable to attend for any reason. Failure of which will result in an automatic ban from subsequent talks.

Update the thread.. The threads are LOCKED over the weekends.
PM *whoever*.. NOT everyone have internet access on the go. In other words, NOT everybody have an smartphone or a phone which have internet access.

Don't always ASSUME people have internet on the go (i.e. iPads, iPhones, BlackBerry, Android Phone etc.)
Pls look into all these before you want to met out any "punishment" and choice of words when typing in.

I have done moderation before and I have organised events. Point of contact (POC) need to have online and offline contacts.
Online: PMs or Replies to UNLOCKED threads.
Offline: Someone's
(on the ground or in-charge of the event/talks) contact number.