Tamron lens / sigma / canon

dreamsz

Jul 3, 2011
www.flickr.com
Hi pros,

Can you all share with me the difference between both?
Cause i check the price quite abit difference.
But i never tried a tamron lens before and i believe there must be a reason why there is such a price difference right?
Also, i try to use the function and search tamron vs canon in CS but hor, results is all the WTSell thread.
If you all got the info, can just post link i can go read.
I trust the people here more than google and read review cause i know the review you all give are base on what you have experience and not paid by these company to 'review' their items.

When asking a question like this, you need to be more specific. As in, specifically WHICH lenses are you comparing? All brands have good and bad lenses.

I am sorry about it.
is there a link in CS that they put usually what brand have good and bad lens so i can go in to have a look?
I was looking at a 28-75mm lens or similar around that range but i see the canon one is very very expensive.
The thing is, i dont need so much zoom like 200 but looking at something wider + zoom. currently i have kit lens from canon 18-135 IS.

Sorry if my question is confusing. :)

I am sorry about it.
is there a link in CS that they put usually what brand have good and bad lens so i can go in to have a look?
I was looking at a 28-75mm lens or similar around that range but i see the canon one is very very expensive.
The thing is, i dont need so much zoom like 200 but looking at something wider + zoom. currently i have kit lens from canon 18-135 IS.

Sorry if my question is confusing. :)

in what way that ur kit lens is limiting u, n is the constant f/2.8 aperture is important to u?

furthermore, u wan something wider than ur 18-135 and u r looking at tamron's 28-75 when it's plain obvious just by looking at the focal range of each lens has and which can obviously go wider.

i suggest u look at tamron's and sigma's own 17-50 f/2.8 lenses or canon's own 17-55 f/2.8 IS instead.

in what way that ur kit lens is limiting u, n is the constant f/2.8 aperture is important to u?

furthermore, u wan something wider than ur 18-135 and u r looking at tamron's 28-75 when it's plain obvious just by looking at the focal range of each lens has and which can obviously go wider.

i suggest u look at tamron's and sigma's own 17-50 f/2.8 lenses or canon's own 17-55 f/2.8 IS instead.

Thanks for the enlightenment. Greatly appreciate :)

Try photozone for comparisons.
Prices of 3rd party lenses are cheaper for many reasons, but that does not mean they are of lower quality. Some of them are actually better then the Canon lenses of similar range / type. Define your needs, read up about the general terms and what they mean. If unsure, don't buy. Upgrading skills and knowledge usually comes cheaper and lasts a long time :)

Optics is generally similar, the original are "usually" the best of the best you can get. (imagine you pay 2 times more for 15% better optics) (Or buy and link 2 graphic cards together for 20% graphic performance improvement in games)

Built wise, 3rd parties usually are built with cheaper materials while original manufacturer's high end lens are built like tank. Most of the normal original manufacturer's lens are slightly better in built than 3rd party lenses.

Most importantly, most 3rd party could not produced very specific usage lens like tilt-shift lenses, which is manufacturer only (other than the creative lensbaby).

Among the 3rd parties, I think you will only find out by handling them. Each has its own merits and discredit. Could be due to the lens itself, the manufacturer, local distributer service and other reasons...

Built wise, 3rd parties usually are built with cheaper materials while original manufacturer's high end lens are built like tank. Most of the normal original manufacturer's lens are slightly better in built than 3rd party lenses.
Just to point out this only applies to Sigma and Tamron. Most, if not all Tokina lenses are built like tanks.

thanks octarine,cowseye and brapodam for all the guidance :)

There are lots of good 3rd party lenses out there.
There are poor lenses for 1st party and 3rd party too.
You'd need to specific which lens you are looking at.

For lens reviews, try
photozone - http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos
thedigitapicture - http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Comparison-Tools.aspx

Since you mentioned 28-75mm, the Tamron 28-75m/2.8 is a really nice lens.
http://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/...m-f-2-8-best-$300-i-ever-spent-lots-pics.html
Its not that wide at 28mm though

What about Tamron SP AF17-50mm F/2.8? anyone

Ignore my post

dreamsz said:
What about Tamron SP AF17-50mm F/2.8? anyone

Ignore my post

It's generally good. Cheap lens that gives you decent results. Light enough to be carried ard and overseas. The only qualms I have with it is.... It's not a FX lens :p hence I upgraded to his older brother.

AT-X 11-16 f2.8 tonika.....

Hmmm lenses like some kind of virus worm like that......

dreamsz said:

Cos it's tokina.. Not tonika.. Lolz.. Dun blur leh..

That is a wide angle lens, my bro had it, pretty good... low flare, low distortion and very very sharp. But the problem with UWA lenses was that they are not the easiest lens to use. It make your subject seemed further away because of the wide angle that it was designed for. Normally I would not touch a UWA lens and simply get a 28mm or 24mm lens which basically covered my every need for wide angle (if not wide enough... shoot multiple shots then later stitch them together).

The next most important lens I normally go for was a portrait lens (my is a 100mm f2.8 macro). The Canon one is pretty good... and I read good review on Tokina's 100mm f2.8 too... and it was cheaper by quite a bit margin when compared to the Canon's (would have bought the Tokina if it was not out of stock one year back).

My take is third party lenses are actually pretty good in terms of IQ and quality (built and stuff). But for quality control... that might be a different matter, read alot in the net of inconsistency in quality for Sigma lenses (some very good, some not that good, and some outright hideous)... It is all base on your luck and whether you tested properly before purchase.

If it is hard to use, then you should learn to use it. UWAs can produce some really nice photos if you know how to make use of the distortion to your advantage

True. But is it really that important that you must get a UWA... just so to learn to use? I would say, just get whatever is needed, afterall, photography is not a cheap hobby, lets keep cost down as much as possible. However if it is really a must, then by all mean get it.

For me, I don't think I needed it... no point getting a UWA (by the way, I DO know how to use it) just for 1 or 2 time use per year... and from my own personal experience, a newbie who are very fresh in this hobby might find using such a lens very difficult and in the end, it will either ended up in his/her dry cabinet or sold to a third party.

(PS. I am speaking out of my own opinion and do not represent TS. Of course if she think that a UWA is essential for her need, get it... even if it is not easy to use, she can still learn it. But if it was just a passing fancy, don't touch the more difficult to use lens as of now. Polish up the skills first.)