models between 7d and 5d mk 2

ErikaT

May 27, 2011
hi all,

recently i have tried the 7d and 5d mark 2.

however, i feel that i want something with in between them

below are some of the photos i will mainly( like) to take

plz advice!!!(no need be canon brand)

14.jpg

21.jpg

26.jpg

28.jpg

25.jpg

If these examples of photos are what you want to take, any DSLR will be able to do the job.

As what daredevil had say any DSLR can do it. In actual fact other formats is able to do the job too... look to Sony's SLT, Olympus/Panasonic m4/3 mirrorless format, Sony NEX and Samsung NX mirrorless format.

Oh... btw... what do you find lacking in both 7D and 5DmkII that prompt you to want something 'in between'?

Even a compact camera/point and shoot could have gotten these shots, maybe even better!

If you die die want DSLR, you can achieve these shots even with the cheapest entry-level DSLR.

recently i have tried the 7d and 5d mark 2.
however, i feel that i want something with in between them
Please share with us which points of each camera you prefer or dislike. I suspect you overrate certain features or functions ..

a canon 600D with the 50mm f1.8 lens or 35mm f2 lens will be able to achieve what u wanted to shoot

No need. Kit lens oso can. Second hand 450D oso can.

Basically all the lens in can achieve what TS wanted to shoot. No need to specifically go down to 50mm and/or 35mm... There really is nothing special about the photos shown. To me... and I am sure to many others, those are just candid shots that even a P&S can achieve.

1200mm cannot la.

This kind of photo standard any DSLR can achieve it and even much better than that. The color is dull and IQ is not even sharp. Even some P&S can get better results.

Wah lau come on please lah this kind of photos if want to achieve no need to use a 7D or 5DMK II. It's an insult to the cameras. Too overkill already. It's like what Chinese said "Kill chicken use cow knife". If one used a 7D or 5DMKII and still can't achieve this kind of photo standard can go bang wall and die.

The big problem lies on the photographer itself not the cameras. I think use the money to upgrade the photographer better than upgrade the camera. A Pro Photographer with a Cheapo Camera can produce better photos than a Lousy Photographer with a Pro Camera.

What if all these photos are taken at night?

ErikaT said:

Then you probably need a flash or a wide open lens.

Then you need to decide what is important for you: illuminate the center girl only or illuminate the entire scene. The first one can be achieved by using flash (and diffusers). Increase ISO to get more ambient light according your liking. Every entry level cam has sufficient ISO performance to do without having too much noise. For illuminating the entire scene.. well, hope that the event manager has organized enough light :)
I understand what you are trying to figure out: whether it's necessary to get 5D2 or 7D for your images now or upgrade later. It is not necessary to have these cams right from the start, the entry level cameras can do the job already. But the question is whether you want to start with entry level or get a higher end cam and focus on developing your kills? A friend of mine took the 1D3 right from the start and learned from there, he had the money and didn't want to 'climb the ladder' of camera bodies. It's entirely your decision and there is no right or wrong. To take certain pictures does not require a certain camera model, but understanding how a camera works and understanding of light. Both comes with learning.. and time.

It would depend on the lighting condition. It might be night, but the area might be well lit. Flash is very important in this way, if not, you might want to stabilise your camera with a tripod, step up your ISO, lower your shutter speed, open your aperture wider (although this might cause isolation of your subject so that you can only have 1 subject very sharp others are more or less blur.)Of course there are way to get around it. One is to two a few shots, one of which was subject 1 being sharp, another is subject 2 being sharp and so on and so for, then PP these photo to give you a more complete pic (everyone being sharp).

Basically both 7D, 5DmkII and any DSLR can do it. I even saw examples of night shots being taken by P&S camera (S95, XZ-1, LX3) that are clean and very nice.

All photos by Canon S95

vma10a%20033.jpg

vma10a%20042.jpg

vma10a%20009.jpg

vmoda%20073.jpg

all photos courtesy from http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=895331&page=54 (Rukes)

I believe that either DSLRs are able to do those shots. Even pns cameras also can do it. What actually the functions you want in between these 2 bodies that each of it cant achieve?

In between? 1D mkIV. APSH sensor (in between), fast af system (7D) and good high ISO performance (5DII). Price is not in between though. Well many cameras can do the job shown in your sample picture.

It would depend on the lighting condition. It might be night, but the area might be well lit. Flash is very important in this way, if not, you might want to stabilise your camera with a tripod, step up your ISO, lower your shutter speed, open your aperture wider (although this might cause isolation of your subject so that you can only have 1 subject very sharp others are more or less blur.)Of course there are way to get around it. One is to two a few shots, one of which was subject 1 being sharp, another is subject 2 being sharp and so on and so for, then PP these photo to give you a more complete pic (everyone being sharp).

Basically both 7D, 5DmkII and any DSLR can do it. I even saw examples of night shots being taken by P&S camera (S95, XZ-1, LX3) that are clean and very nice.

All photos by Canon S95

vma10a%20042.jpg

Fast aperture on these good compacts that will still have lots of DOF due to (sensor size/ to lens distance), combined with better ISO performance on compacts nowadays, make them quite a good combination for low light.