Rubber Grip peeled off

tried b4, best result i gotten was silicon glue. double side tape 3M type also cant hold for long.

the rubber if expanded or reformed over time due to sweat and weather, very hard to get it to stick back. best i gotten was using silicon glue. choice of using that is cos, if rip off the rubber in the future, the silicon glue can still be peep clean off the camera body. (super glue may do the job easily but it will damage the body)

Would it be safer/cheaper to send to NSC for repair?

send to NSC liao...tat time my card got error so i sent it and told the malay guy my rubber grip peeled off also. he wrote down the card error only, so i telling him 3 times about the grip, he said ok but still never wrote it down. after 3 weeks, i went to collect and the rubber grip still the same, then i dun bother liao.

Would it be safer/cheaper to send to NSC for repair?

send to NSC liao...tat time my card got error so i sent it and told the malay guy my rubber grip peeled off also. he wrote down the card error only, so i telling him 3 times about the grip, he said ok but still never wrote it down. after 3 weeks, i went to collect and the rubber grip still the same, then i dun bother liao.

Tell them off on the spot and ask them to glue back for you. I dun it's rocket science for them to do this for you the spot right?

nsc only open on weekdays, only wed and thurs til 7pm. i can only reached there around 6++, and the technician already left.

it can be quite costly to replace the rubber, the parts cost is not very ex, its the labor cost that you be screaming at later on.

last time my friend replace my D80 the thumb area grip for $25+ (total), once i replace my D700 thumb grip but with other servicing, the rubber grip cost $3-5 for parts. and recent send in my D700 for fix of hot shoe also ended with all rubber grip change for abt $25 (parts cost) so the rubber grip parts is not very expensive but its the labor cost which is abt $15-20 or even more depending on the time needed to complete the fix.

TS if really want to DIY fix, try silicon glue, it work for my D700 left side rubber grip until it got change during my hot shoe fix at NSC.

it can be quite costly to replace the rubber, the parts cost is not very ex, its the labor cost that you be screaming at later on.

last time my friend replace my D80 the thumb area grip for $25+ (total), once i replace my D700 thumb grip but with other servicing, the rubber grip cost $3-5 for parts. and recent send in my D700 for fix of hot shoe also ended with all rubber grip change for abt $25 (parts cost) so the rubber grip parts is not very expensive but its the labor cost which is abt $15-20 or even more depending on the time needed to complete the fix.

TS if really want to DIY fix, try silicon glue, it work for my D700 left side rubber grip until it got change during my hot shoe fix at NSC.

where can i buy silicon glue? homefix?

I replaced my d80 thumb rubber for $3, since so cheap I tell them to clean sensor at the same time. Total less than $30

Is $15 to $25 to replace your rubber grip expensive? You've paid $3k for your tool leh. If it's just gluing it back maybe a bit ex lah. But if it's a replacement I feel it's a bargain. Considering you probably do this once a few yrs, i think it's ok..

going to nsc around lunch time if possible....the rubber grip is the batt grip one. less than 3 mths old and i use my camera once or twice a week only lol. wat a poorly made grip..

I replaced my d80 thumb rubber for $3, since so cheap I tell them to clean sensor at the same time. Total less than $30
good for you.

I replace all the rubble on my D70 and the kit lens, cost me $150.00. :eek:

ok.... be fair a little, the whole body is less then $60, cos the lens need to dismantle to replace the rubber, so it cost more than the body.

catchlights said:
good for you.

I replace all the rubble on my D70 and the kit lens, cost me $150.00. :eek:

ok.... be fair a little, the whole body is less then $60, cos the lens need to dismantle to replace the rubber, so it cost more than the body.

Shocking expensive.... Must had been a pain, the cost for the lens rubber part is like almost 1/3 of its price...