Desaru/Kota Tinggi

knight84

Mar 1, 2009
West Side
Hey fellow CSers,

I am going for a 4D3N trip to Desaru during CNY and will be staying at Lotus Resort. I will be driving there.

I have seen on flickr, there are numerous shots of Beaches in Desaru. Can some one please recommend a particular beach/vantage point from where I can get a good sunrise along the beach. Would be best if there are rocks too.

Also since Kota Tinggi is not too far, which part of the water fall is best to shoot?

If there is anything else I should look out for from a photography perspective do let me know.

PS - will be carrying 2 bodies, uwa, 35mm f1.8, macro and a tele.
Many Thanks
A

I can't remember Desaru too much as it's quite flat & rather deserted when I visited few years ago. The S. China Sea wind can be strong with high waves but air/sky wasn't favourable when I went. There were much better & beautiful plains along the way there though sort of those you see in northern UK.

For KTT, there are two levels, go to the higher one but last I went, they've cordoned off the area with nets so we can't swim to the area just below the falls due to fallen trees & debris.

Have fun but I believe it can be very crowded during CNY especially in KTT.

Hi!

Thanks for your prompt reply! i shall keep a look out on the drive there!

A

hey knight84, just checking if you managed to find a good spot at desaru beach to capture sunrise? :)

Hi

I was at the lotus beach resort and the sun rose directly in front of me..However, it was rather cloudy so I didnt get the egg yolk.. I did some long exposures as there was some interesting foreground on the beach!

Hi

I was at the lotus beach resort and the sun rose directly in front of me..However, it was rather cloudy so I didnt get the egg yolk.. I did some long exposures as there was some interesting foreground on the beach!

thanks for the quick reply! :)

hrm do you remember the timing? might be heading down to desaru soon. :)

there's a beach tht has a nice rock formation ard there, not too sure whether it's gd for sunrise or not. will go back and search the gps coordinates.

you can visit sungai renggit also for makan, cheap lobsters there.

here are some shots i have from sungai renggit and the beach front i'm talking abt

40500_418139683650_708928650_4941159_1186859_n.jpg

40500_418139688650_708928650_4941160_4269780_n.jpg

40829_418141158650_708928650_4941214_3725394_n.jpg

40829_418141168650_708928650_4941216_4941786_n.jpg

39708_418142413650_708928650_4941279_3338627_n.jpg

bring a tripod, ND/GND filters, shutter cable release? So u can do long exposure shots and even star trails.

there's a beach tht has a nice rock formation ard there, not too sure whether it's gd for sunrise or not. will go back and search the gps coordinates.

you can visit sungai renggit also for makan, cheap lobsters there.

here are some shots i have from sungai renggit and the beach front i'm talking abt

hey thanks ahming111! the rocks look interesting haha. as I might be heading down soon I'm keen to find to good spot for sunrise there. sunrise is pretty awesome there yeah?

okay will take note of sungai renggit for makan. are the losters and food there good? :bsmilie: also any other food to recommend? or recommendations what to do there? :bsmilie:

thanks!

bring a tripod, ND/GND filters, shutter cable release? So u can do long exposure shots and even star trails.

hey thanks for the advice! star trails are common there? :think:

Sun rise was around 0700.

Start trails etc only possible if no clouds. Considering this is monsoon. U have extrmely cloudy weather.

So sun rise. Star trails all wont really be something to look for.

Sun rise was around 0700.

Start trails etc only possible if no clouds. Considering this is monsoon. U have extrmely cloudy weather.

So sun rise. Star trails all wont really be something to look for.

mmhmm k thanks!

any other good food to recommend? heard the place's famous for seafood. :)

or any other recommendations to do there? :)

TIA. :)

Honestly this place got nothing. Some small town nearby but its empty la. U dont see anything.

Sungai Renggit is apparently gd. I nvr went there. Resort food was good la. A wee bit ex but nice. Abt 3 km frm the resort towards jb got a small market and a mamak stall. Food is gd there.

Also fruit farm the fruit is damn gd and fresh.

Have a gd one

Beach at resort area is rather uninteresting. Very hard to find foreground subjects. You may want to go all the way left or right of the resort beach area to try them out. The rock formation picts posted hold lots of potential, hopefully, the bro who posted them can give more details as to where they are. :)
Nice sunrise depends. Very often, thick clouds form over the South China Sea beyond, and the sunrise is not visible. All depends on luck, but I'm almost always there between Aug to Oct, so I don't know if other months are better.

There are actually rather nice small local run resorts which look rather nice (beach front lodging) along the road to Sungei Ringgit. Might be worth a drive in for some photo opportunities.

Most folks go Sungei Ringgit for the seafood. Jade Garden is the popular one cause it was once featured on a Channel-U foodie program and to Singaporeans its still considered cheap. Personal, I find that it is neither cheap (from a Malaysian perspective), nor is it that tasty. Also does not serve pork for a Chinese eating place. IMO, S'poreans just 'wack' the food cause wrt S'pore, its cheap and everyone is in a holiday mood.

Personally, I'd rather eat the noodles at the coffee shop diagonally across.
Good Luck Restaurant has better food to imho.

Beach at resort area is rather uninteresting. Very hard to find foreground subjects. You may want to go all the way left or right of the resort beach area to try them out. The rock formation picts posted hold lots of potential, hopefully, the bro who posted them can give more details as to where they are. :)
Nice sunrise depends. Very often, thick clouds form over the South China Sea beyond, and the sunrise is not visible. All depends on luck, but I'm almost always there between Aug to Oct, so I don't know if other months are better.

There are actually rather nice small local run resorts which look rather nice (beach front lodging) along the road to Sungei Ringgit. Might be worth a drive in for some photo opportunities.

Most folks go Sungei Ringgit for the seafood. Jade Garden is the popular one cause it was once featured on a Channel-U foodie program and to Singaporeans its still considered cheap. Personal, I find that it is neither cheap (from a Malaysian perspective), nor is it that tasty. Also does not serve pork for a Chinese eating place. IMO, S'poreans just 'wack' the food cause wrt S'pore, its cheap and everyone is in a holiday mood.

Personally, I'd rather eat the noodles at the coffee shop diagonally across.
Good Luck Restaurant has better food to imho.

Honestly this place got nothing. Some small town nearby but its empty la. U dont see anything.

Sungai Renggit is apparently gd. I nvr went there. Resort food was good la. A wee bit ex but nice. Abt 3 km frm the resort towards jb got a small market and a mamak stall. Food is gd there.

Also fruit farm the fruit is damn gd and fresh.

Have a gd one

You can check out about SR here :
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=786788

Let me know if you require more information :)

I always go for this one :thumbsup:

thanks guys! will probably take down these food places and try them out when I'm over there. :)

any other recommendations?