k5 still far away from me :(

ifelse

Mar 8, 2009
hi bros, i'm here again to ask for adivce

21 days ago i baught one k5, unluckly i found a blur line on the lcd. on the 2nd day, had just taken less than 20 pics, not performed further check, i brought it to service center.

they soon admited the flaw, told me the would either
1. give me a new body, but need to exchange base of the new one and the puchased one ( by themselves).
or
2. send back to japan for repair, need a week time.

since it sounded so fast, i selected option 2.
at the time i feel ok, it was handled so quickly, and their service was good.

now it's 3 weeks after, they have told me twice "will arrive at this weekend" but nothing happened.

did you ever sent your camera to japan and waited so long?

and now i have questions
1. did you ever be told changing a new body need to swap the base? they said this is to keep the body serial, but now i fell questionable cause ...see below

2. i check the box, which has the same serial number as that of the body has ,,, BUT, now i notice the serial number is printed on a normal label -- no anti whatever high-tech applied -- and sticked to the box. for kit lense, original serial number is different from the new sticked number.
--- since it's only a matter of changing a label, why bother swapping the base?
at that time i had not registered the body yet, they could just took the body and box then gave me a new one. in both cases the have to send one body back to japan, swapping the base make no sense.

feeling bad now

the blur line is on the moniter, not lcd

ifelse said:

21 days ago i baught one k5, unluckly i found a blur line on the lcd. on the 2nd day, had just taken less than 20 pics, not performed further check, i brought it to service center.

1. give me a new body, but need to exchange base of the new one and the puchased one ( by themselves).
or

now it's 3 weeks after, they have told me twice "will arrive at this weekend" but nothing happened.

and now i have questions
1. did you ever be told changing a new body need to swap the base? they said this is to keep the body serial, but now i fell questionable cause ...see below

2. i check the box, which has the same serial number as that of the body has ,,, BUT, now i notice the serial number is printed on a normal label -- no anti whatever high-tech applied -- and sticked to the box. for kit lense, original serial number is different from the new sticked number.
at that time i had not registered the body yet, they could just took the body and box then gave me a new one. in both cases the have to send one body back to japan, swapping the base make no sense.

feeling bad now

There may be a RFID chip or something build into the base.

ifelse said:

or

and now i have questions

feeling bad now

Can I know how much you bought the k-5 ?

No worries. It will come back as they have indicated. Lots of ppl have sent lens or bodies for servicing and their stuff have come back well and good.

This thread talks about the service rendered so far for the sensor stain issue.
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=836117
So your camera is in responsible hands. :)

As to changing out the base plate, its anyone's guess. It could be so, or it could just be that Japan service center is somehow authorized to print official serial labels. No big deal other than to have traceability over the product esp. in the case of batch issues.

i still haven't got my k5 body, the flaw is: the monitor has one virtical line on which display got distorted.

"
There may be a RFID chip or something build into the base.
"
-- yes, may be, but in both option, they need to send bake one body, either
1. the puchased one
2. upper part of the puchased one + another base

i see no difference

and now i have questions

feeling bad now

dun jump to conclusions lah.

thats what they do for K5 affected by sensor stain - retain the shell but change everything inside.

they must've figured that your problem (though i still dun understand what it is) could be solved by this so just wait for it lor.

dun understand why pple like to let their imagination run wild and make themselves feel lousy in the process.

No worries.
It could be so, or it could just be that Japan service center is somehow authorized to print official serial labels. No big deal other than to have traceability over the product esp. in the case of batch issues.

maybe that bro is more lucky.

i brought anthying with me: the body, the box, enven the plastic bag to carry the box. no need to print a new label

dun jump to conclusions lah.

thats what they do for K5 affected by sensor stain - retain the shell but change everything inside.

they must've figured that your problem (though i still dun understand what it is) could be solved by this so just wait for it lor.

dun understand why pple like to let their imagination run wild and make themselves feel lousy in the process.

yes, don't know why.
other than reading the manual and image how to operate, i have no sense of what a k5 can do yet, though it has belonged to me for nearly a month.

no worries. I think at that point u shld ask Kevin when will be the day he send the camera back to Japan. Coz as he stated he will send every 2 weeks. So if u send it on 1st week, the 2nd week then he will send it. So u got to wait another 2 weeks for it.

whatever,,,
it's close to cny, i'm leving for the vacation, don't know if i can get my camera before going home!

just feel strange at the swaping base saying, seems like an excuse.

If u feel unsafe or worry about the servicing? Why not u choose the first option???
1. give me a new body, but need to exchange base of the new one and the puchased one ( by themselves)

Changing the base only, it doesn't do any harm... It is like getting a brand new K5. :bsmilie:

I am guessing as for why Emjay doesn't want to swap the serial no sticker is because you need to peel out and afterwards the sticker will look like it is being tampered with. I don't know... I am just guessing :dunno:

Don't worry, just give Emjay Service Center a call and ask them on the service status... I am quite sure you should have your problem resolved.

Abt swapping the base, DID u told them that u havent registered the K5 yet? if u did then they wont be changing the body like that.

Coz I did told them I got some problem registering when I send my K5 for repair. He said if havent registered then no need just do one to one exchange. If yes, then have to send back to Japan. Too bad, the Emjay system actually registered my warranty when I log in again. so I have to go for option 2. BUt in the end, Pentax Japan still change the internal parts and use back the same serial number body for it.

But funny, so what if they do 1 to 1 but just change the base plate for the serial number? what kind of EXCUSE are u refering?