Beware of this buyer

kmitbp

Dec 14, 2010
hi all,

Pls beware of this buyer name Anson.H/p no ending with 1803.
Recently i just posted a thread in the buy/sell section to sell my Nikon D3100.He sms me asking me the best price i can offer, i told him if he is really keen i can make a reduction of $10 bucks. He requsted to see the machine first so i say okay since this is the normal practice.We met at gelyang east ave 1(near his house) and he inspected the camera and keep telling me stuff like he is a lomo camera user....blar blar blar...and when coming to paying money part, he ask me do i have change as he only have a 1k note with him...

(i selling it at $750..my mind already thinking, fxxxing hell,you should had prepare it in advance or at least let me know early so that i can go draw, moreover 1k note had be known to have counterfeit history)

Trusting that the 1k note is real, i told him i will go draw, somemore the nearest atm got to walk 10mins..lan lan also got to walk since i already here liao..he accompany me go to the ATM and waited 1 side. After i pass him the $250 change, he pass me a folded "1000" note,
(all the while he keep talking to me when he is passing the note to me from his pocket) but when i open up the note to check, is actually a $100 note..
I ask him why $100 dollar only, than he say "aiya, i took the wrong note from my desk, i tot is 1000...."

NAbei...my heart is already telling me he is trying to be funny loh.Bo bian, than i told him i accompany you go home take loh i wait downstair..than he tell me abit troublesome, why dont i tomorrow come down gelyang again to take the money...KNN u tink i stupid ar....i really very piss off liao loh,all the way from cck go down gelyang than tell me all this nonsense and expect me to go down again tomorrow...

Than i tell him we will see how tomorrow, than i walk off....So suai, first time post in the buy/sell section kana this kind of ppl..Anybody selling their D3100 pls beware of this guy, i dont know is he a con or really just coincidence. Is for you all to judge...

I seriously think you should post the full handphone number here.

Mods, please advise. Seems like a case of swindler trying to pull a fast one here.

That is a legit scam attempt. Please share the contact info of that buyer.

Definitely a con-man trying to take your camera away for a $100. A liar and thief ! Hope he reads this post ! :sticktong

I think it is prudent to take a photograph of the buyer or seller with our hand phone whenever doing such deals. I think he or she should not object as they can also take a picture of you too !

I did a sale recently and had asked for their NRIC card too ! If they don't agree, I will sell or buy form others. Better safe than sorry ......

:confused::confused:

unlike US dollars, most currencies using different colours for different denomination of notes, a normal person should able to identify the different of the colors.

http://www.mas.gov.sg/currency/currency_info/notes/portrait_series/Singapore_Circulation_Notes_Portrait_Series__1000.html

http://www.mas.gov.sg/currency/curr...e_Circulation_Notes_Portrait_Series__100.html

anyway, Consumers Corner is for "finding out or giving info on where, how much, how good, what to buy?"

your is an isolated case of encounter of an individual, not dealing with any vendors. hence thread move to Kopitiam.

btw, it is a common practice asking buyers to meet seller at his most convenient place and time, it will be not realistic for a seller run all over Singapore to meet potential buyers just to sell a piece of gear.

TS, I'm glad you weren't cheated of your money in the end.
Luckily you were cautious and alert.

Next time try to deal at your convenience, in case of 'aeroplane' buyer. If I really want to buy what you're selling, I will have to make the effort to get it.

Definitely a con-man trying to take your camera away for a $100. A liar and thief ! Hope he reads this post ! :sticktong

Nope. its take camera away plus get $150 extra. Don't forget the $250 "change" seller had to give.

unlike US dollars, most currencies using different colours for different denomination of notes, a normal person should able to identify the different of the colors.

http://www.mas.gov.sg/currency/currency_info/notes/portrait_series/Singapore_Circulation_Notes_Portrait_Series__1000.html

http://www.mas.gov.sg/currency/curr...e_Circulation_Notes_Portrait_Series__100.html

anyway, Consumers Corner is for "finding out or giving info on where, how much, how good, what to buy?"

your is an isolated case of encounter of an individual, not dealing with any vendors. hence thread move to Kopitiam.

btw, it is a common practice asking sellers to meet buyer meet at his most convenient place and time, it will be not realistic for a seller run all over Singapore to meet potential buyers just to sell a piece of gear.

Ya, actually our 100 & 1k note there is color difference,in fact is bigger in size too but because i met him at night(dealing at open space carpark area), i cant really notice it unless i see it properly. Moreover the note is folded when he pass it to me.

Is a common practise for the sellers to meet buyer meet at his most convenient place, what you say is true and i agreed with that. That is why I even told him i can meet near his house cos intially he suggested to meet at aljunied mrt which he got to walk a distance.But it also will not be realistic for a seller to keep goin to the same buyer location due to his mistakes...

Sorry, but this is really how i feel. and pardon me for posting in the wrong thread.thks

Ya, actually our 100 & 1k note there is color difference,in fact is bigger in size too but because i met him at night(dealing at open space carpark area), i cant really notice it unless i see it properly. Moreover the note is folded when he pass it to me.

Is a common practise for the sellers to meet buyer meet at his most convenient place, what you say is true and i agreed with that. That is why I even told him i can meet near his house cos intially he suggested to meet at aljunied mrt which he got to walk a distance.But it also will not be realistic for a seller to keep goin to the same buyer location due to his mistakes...

Sorry, but this is really how i feel. and pardon me for posting in the wrong thread.thks

I guess it's a bit of give and take, but it would be unreasonable to expect the seller to go out of his/her way to deal.
I have bought more than I have sold over CS, and usually it's at the seller's home/office, or at least somewhere convenient (eg. MRT station on his way home from work).

when I sell something, I ask potential buyers to meet at coffee shop near my block to view and deal, or else no deal.

when I want to buy something, I will meet sellers at his convenient place.

and it is wise to choose a place which is bright enough and able to examine the items comfortably. ones can always walk away from a deal if he feels not right.

when I sell something, I ask potential buyers to meet at coffee shop near my block to view and deal, or else no deal.

when I want to buy something, I will meet sellers at his convenient place.

and it is wise to choose a place which is bright enough and able to examine the items comfortably. ones can always walk away from a deal if he feels not right.

Afetr this incident, i think this will be a safer way

ditto... post his full hp number and CS username.

I do not know his username, we communicate tru sms..
He claim that he is a taiwanese...

Izzit ok to post the full no here?

I do not know his username, we communicate tru sms..
He claim that he is a taiwanese...

Izzit ok to post the full no here?

Just do it... -_-;;

Find it rather weird that a forum with rules governing this and people won't hesitate to post full information, while this forum doesn't while having people hesitate to post full information...

Come on guys :/

taiwanese or motherland ...... so this con speaks with a China/Taiwan accent ?

OUT with the FULL number please

taiwanese or motherland ...... so this con speaks with a China/Taiwan accent ?

OUT with the FULL number please

He claim he is from taiwan but I cant really tell from the accent whether he is a taiwanese or motherland. But confirm is not local..

I had received PMs asking for the contact, so i think i will juz post it here.
Here it goes....

Name: Anson
Race: chinese
Nationality:Taiwanese (He claimed)
H/P no: 8311 1803.