[ Thoughts ] - Bye bye, Four Thirds.

dorts

Mar 10, 2007
SG
Hello,

I never told anyone about this, but I've just moved on, a few days ago. :) I officially made a system switch to Canon. Just for your information, I started out with a E-500, to the E-3, as well as having a E-510.

I moved from a Olympus E-3 to a Canon 5D Mark II a few days ago. This thread is just to express some thoughts after moving systems. In no way is this list exhaustive or in any order.

What I Miss:
  1. Zuiko Digital Lenses.
    That was something which kept me from moving away from 4/3s. The colour, sharpness, contrast and build, is unparalleled when comparing L lenses to HG lenses. ZD lenses definitely win. Hahahaha.
  2. Feel when holding the E-3.
    When I hold the E-3, it feels solid and steady to me, ready to be abused. ;p IMO, the 5Dm2 doesn't feels as tough. But in terms of grip and handling, both are comparable so far.
  3. In-body IS.
    Works for every lens including manual lenses. Not so for the Canon system. ;)
  4. AF performance.
    Sadly speaking, the 5Dm2 has crappy AF compared to the E-3. 11-point twin cross type for E-3 vs 1-point for the 5D? HAHA. In terms of speed, 5Dm2 might be faster (depending on lens), but in terms of sensitivity, the E-3 definitely wins. But not too much of a problem for me though as I mainly use the center AF point only.
  5. JPEG from E-3.
    I never touched RAW when I was using the E-3 as the JPEGs were perfect. With the 5Dm2, I might have to shoot RAW, as the JPEGs just isn't good enough, in terms of detail and sharpness.

What I Do Not Miss:
  1. Lack of primes.
    I've always wanted Olympus to have a few bright primes to play with, but sadly none came out. The Canon primes (and OM lenses) can satisfy me for a while.
  2. Deep DOF of 4/3s.
    I always felt that shallow DOF was much harder to get in the 4/3s system, when I shot film. I'm a shallow DOF person, and with the full-frame 5D, it's beautiful. LOL. 35mm f/2 comes out LOVELY. Some might consider shallow DOF to be a disadvantage, but to me it's otherwise. I know you can get shallow DOF with 4/3s too, but with full-frame, there is a 1 stop difference, and it is noticeable especially when shooting wide-angles/standard lenses.
  3. LCD Screen.
    You should take a look at the screen. Enough said. ;p I haven't looked at the E-5's screen though.
  4. Viewfinder.
    It's like viewing a VF from a 35mm film camera. But it's understandable, as it's full-frame compared to "half-frame" of the 4/3s.
  5. Mode-dial.
    For the E-3, I had to press a button and turn the wheel to switch modes. With the 5D, all I needed to do was to turn the dial. I never really got used it on the E-3. Nice to have my mode-dial back as was with the E500.
  6. ISO-performance.
    I know it's not quite fair to compare. But I have no worries now shooting at 3200. I never went past 800 with the E-3.
  7. Crop factor when using OM lenses.
    I never liked using my OM lenses on my E-3. But with the 5Dm2, my OM primes suddenly came alive. I'm not lying! 35mm is 35mm. 50mm is 50mm. Lovely

Conclusion:

I decided to move when Olympus decided to concentrate on m4/3s instead. Stop development of 4/3 lenses? No way. Progress and development had been slow for 4/3s. This was not the only reason though. I always wanted a shallower DOF and primes. I also wanted to have a try in shooting short films. Canon was able to offer me some of what I wanted. Personally, I would not have moved to another crop body. It's either full-frame, or 4/3s. (or film) Some might ask, why not just shoot film then? I will get all I need. LOL. In theory, it's possible. But, in reality, who shoots film for photography assignments/jobs now? :bsmilie:

If you all have any questions, please feel free to ask! I will add more thoughts as I start getting used to my new system. I will still hang out here!

(P.S : I'm not selling my E-3. LOL. It will stay with my dad. The E-510 will go. So -cough- I'm sort of using 2 systems. Hahahaha.)

Do what you need to and be true to yourself :)

Amen to that :)

I have also moved on to Sony DSLT few weeks back although Sony and CZ lenses are no Zuiko so I cant really compare the images :) I am satisfied with the AF speed as my main issue with my Oly gear, now I could take catch my 3yrs old daugther :) .. the other features are just a plus for me :)

I have put up for sale my current gear but I might come back when there's something for me in Oly line up

Best of luck with your new Canon gear! Make it lasting haha.

good summary of pros & cons of 43s really! it's good that u really know what you need vs want as well before u switch.
most impt have fun shooting;)
little surprised with the AF performance on 5d though...

Try stopping down your Canon lenses to match the DoF of E3. I don't think you lose any lens sharpness, but rather gain the ability to choose to shoot with less DoF when sharpness in corners is irrelevant.

I understand. Haha.

But it's the Olympus mentality that ZD lenses don't need stopping down, and it is (mostly) true. ;p

I'm personally not so particular about sharpness though, as long as I get my shot. But with the 21mp of the 5D, I can choose to shoot at 11mp which will help with sharpness in a way. So it's sort of an advantage. :)

All the best with the new system and please continue to share your thoughts on the differences of the 2 system to help others make a decision as to what they seek in their interests for photography.

What's precious with this thread is that, unlike in other forums, there are so many brand loyal folks that when one switch and comes back to post, most likely there will be a flamewar...

I applaud the community-spirit of dorts... sticking true to the spirit of this section of the forums where all of us are friends who are into photography, and not Olympus fanboys...

Looking at the bright side, now when dorts join us, tomyamsoup will not feel so left out... he has been the only Canon user in our kopi sessions for a while... (minus Canon film camera user Spidey).

Glad you made the switch to try other systems, and I believe you will have another area of photography you can explore with the 5D. The wides and moderate teles will be fun, but for long reach, I am sure you will start missing the 50-200mm very soon...

When my switch is complete, I will still keep the E3/E5 with 12-60DSWD and 50-200SWD. The rest I might let go.

Thinking of which, it has been quite a while since I attended a kopi session. :bsmilie:

At the end of the day, any system now is capable of capturing wonderful images. It's more about what and how comfortable you feel with a particular system. :)

And I did some planning. Telephoto will still be covered by my E-3 + 70-300mm. ;p So no worries! Haha!

What's precious with this thread is that, unlike in other forums, there are so many brand loyal folks that when one switch and comes back to post, most likely there will be a flamewar...

I applaud the community-spirit of dorts... sticking true to the spirit of this section of the forums where all of us are friends who are into photography, and not Olympus fanboys...

Looking at the bright side, now when dorts join us, tomyamsoup will not feel so left out... he has been the only Canon user in our kopi sessions for a while... (minus Canon film camera user Spidey).

Glad you made the switch to try other systems, and I believe you will have another area of photography you can explore with the 5D. The wides and moderate teles will be fun, but for long reach, I am sure you will start missing the 50-200mm very soon...

When my switch is complete, I will still keep the E3/E5 with 12-60DSWD and 50-200SWD. The rest I might let go.

Thinking of which, it has been quite a while since I attended a kopi session. :bsmilie:

At the end of the day, any system now is capable of capturing wonderful images. It's more about what and how comfortable you feel with a particular system. :)

And I did some planning. Telephoto will still be covered by my E-3 + 70-300mm. ;p So no worries! Haha!

How I wish i could keep my E620 along with my Sony DSLT... i still like E620+1454 when taking landscape for it sharpness and color saturation... but my finance minister will make noise if I keep two toys in my dry cabinet... hard for me to justify the cost :p

Thats a problem with you're finance minister is very strict on your expenses... She only allows me to keep a PnS cam or maybe a pro-consumer cam as a backup but not another DSLR... :cry:

I have been contemplating the same move....been holding on with my E1 and E510 (my workhorses). The slow development and long wait is certainly frustrating me and i believe some other Oly users. All your pointers are spot on and very valid. Might venture into nikon system though. But then again there is E5...

Any other Oly users want to share their thoughts and opinions? I am glad that our Oly community shares and voices opinions openly without prejudice. Kudos to all.

erm....

I always miss 4/3rd Kopi session...

So long didnt have the chance to meet you guys.

How I wish i could keep my E620 along with my Sony DSLT... i still like E620+1454 when taking landscape for it sharpness and color saturation... but my finance minister will make noise if I keep two toys in my dry cabinet... hard for me to justify the cost :p

Thats a problem with you're finance minister is very strict on your expenses... She only allows me to keep a PnS cam or maybe a pro-consumer cam as a backup but not another DSLR... :cry:

We can help you with photography related problems, but with the Ministeress of Home Affairs, that is your own fight... Good luck in convincing her that selling and buying again will be financially inadvisable.

I have been contemplating the same move....been holding on with my E1 and E510 (my workhorses). The slow development and long wait is certainly frustrating me and i believe some other Oly users. All your pointers are spot on and very valid. Might venture into nikon system though. But then again there is E5...

Any other Oly users want to share their thoughts and opinions? I am glad that our Oly community shares and voices opinions openly without prejudice. Kudos to all.

Move! I believe unless you moved, you will not know. Sure, there will be money spent to experience new things, but the experience will be worth it. Else, stick to the current lenses and jump into the E5. At the end of the day, it is not about the tools, but the skills that needs more constant work on.

erm....

I always miss 4/3rd Kopi session...

So long didnt have the chance to meet you guys.

Big hug for a friend. Wish I am able to go to kopi sessions too... will organise a gathering when I am back in Singapore next time. No plans yet, but will happen lah... until then, let's continue to shoot, shoot, and shoot!

For those who are thinking of a switch, I personally think that switching to another crop body is not much of a benefit. The Olympus system can offer what the other systems can too. But if it is full-frame, that would be a different matter.

Just wondering egnaro, how do you find your 7D as compared to your previous Olympus? :)

Dorts, Olympus user may start to kill me with my comments.

I have not regret to moving to 7D (not other Canon Body minus 1D series)

If you remember we last met at Tiong Bahru, I am using E3 so I am only comparing with E3, E510 forget it.

Built wise - Both are equally solid. but BG wise, some how I still prefer E3 BG, I hate 7D BG.

IQ - Cant really compare due to age of technology, 7D really win.

ISO- well we all know Olympus Biggest issue. I shoot ISO 3200 on 7D to get E3 ISO800

Lens - I prefer Zuiko lens. Canon lens are not superior in this aspect. Range wise, yes, canon got more choices.

speed- I think 7D is faster. I know the speed of E3 with 12-60 is amazing but we have to admit that 12-60mm focusing range is too small.

Interface layout (button)- I prefer E3 straight forward and easy access. If you realise, Nikon and Canon are trying to work on this (but they took too long) even D300s & E3 interface is not better then E3

menu- 7D got way much more menu oso due to technology.

FPS- 7D really live up to it Technology with high FPS... (I usually shoot 1 shot per time, I am not machine gunner)

one thing I hate about 7D, Whenever I wanna focus hold and recompose, The exposure oso recompose... Till now I dun noe how to solve this issue. I know there is a AEL button but it is too troublesome to press that button.

Above are all my thot on 7D and E3.

Dorts, Olympus user may start to kill me with my comments.

I have not regret to moving to 7D (not other Canon Body minus 1D series)

If you remember we last met at Tiong Bahru, I am using E3 so I am only comparing with E3, E510 forget it.

Built wise - Both are equally solid. but BG wise, some how I still prefer E3 BG, I hate 7D BG.

IQ - Cant really compare due to age of technology, 7D really win.

ISO- well we all know Olympus Biggest issue. I shoot ISO 3200 on 7D to get E3 ISO800

Lens - I prefer Zuiko lens. Canon lens are not superior in this aspect. Range wise, yes, canon got more choices.

speed- I think 7D is faster. I know the speed of E3 with 12-60 is amazing but we have to admit that 12-60mm focusing range is too small.

Interface layout (button)- I prefer E3 straight forward and easy access. If you realise, Nikon and Canon are trying to work on this (but they took too long) even D300s & E3 interface is not better then E3

menu- 7D got way much more menu oso due to technology.

FPS- 7D really live up to it Technology with high FPS... (I usually shoot 1 shot per time, I am not machine gunner)

one thing I hate about 7D, Whenever I wanna focus hold and recompose, The exposure oso recompose... Till now I dun noe how to solve this issue. I know there is a AEL button but it is too troublesome to press that button.

Above are all my thot on 7D and E3.

Bro, i set my 30d so that the half press shutter would be exposure, while the exposure meter button is my focus one.... Go to menu and custom functions.

5Dmk2 is perhaps the to-get FF camera with astonishing image quality when coupled with a good prime. Go get 'em machine gun!!!

Having sold off mine recently, i'll happily stick with my gf1 and a few RF film bodies for now... :cool: