Any possible method for wireless trailing curtain sync flash on Pentax?

Fireemblem

Nov 15, 2008
Kiasu Nation
Hmm,

I just started trying to learn how to use a dedicated camera flash unit and can certainly see the much better results trailing curtain slow sync has on a photo in low light situation.

However i am not able to do a trailing curtain slow sync in wireless mode. i am using metz 58 af-1. The flash is set to slave mode and rear sync set to on, but nothing just getting the normal front curtain flash.

Is it even possible? Not sure if it is cause i do not know how to use it, tried searching on the internet but did not return any result so far.

If not possible to do wireless, is there any sync cable i can buy so that i can have off camera trailing curtain sync?

appreciate those in the know to share some knowledge. Thanks alot. Using k-7 btw

i use an flash cable from ebay and the flash works just like it was on the hotshoe, with the trailing curtain flash if set. never really tried much wireless flash so i can't advise on that definitively. using a metz 48 btw

other benefits of using the sync cord are 1) shake reduction still enabled and 2) AF assist lamp still works (although you need to point it at the right place)

Sorry bud. For full functionality on wireless, you will need another dedicated flash as controller.
The other and cheaper way will be with a cable. Just get one that supports Pentax online or shops like OP.

rear and front is different... :bsmilie:

i assume on camera rear sync u are using PTTL ?

rear sync the ambient light is allow to burn in first... then the flash pops to fill in the required exposure... so u get a nice balance output... the camera will have to tell the flash when and how much power to fill in the exposure...

front is the flash pops straight away to get the exposure... needless to say front sync will use more power..

During wireless there is just no direction communication... u have no control on the flash just trigger only...

However i was wondering why u need to set to slave... you are using optical trigger ? Optical trigger how to rear sync?

I have not tried using radio trigger to do rear sync (never found a need to cos its never required in the first place)....

maybe u can try setting to manual on both camera and flash(no need slave)...rear sync on camera and use radio trigger to see if the flash pops at the rear :bsmilie:

You'll probably never get trailing curtain sync on an optical wireless set-up since the wireless flash will have to be triggered by a burst of light from the pop-up/hotshoe master flash which will obviously contribute to the exposure

rear and front is different... :bsmilie:

i assume on camera rear sync u are using PTTL ?

rear sync the ambient light is allow to burn in first... then the flash pops to fill in the required exposure... so u get a nice balance output... the camera will have to tell the flash when and how much power to fill in the exposure...

front is the flash pops straight away to get the exposure... needless to say front sync will use more power..

During wireless there is just no direction communication... u have no control on the flash just trigger only...

However i was wondering why u need to set to slave... you are using optical trigger ? Optical trigger how to rear sync?

I have not tried using radio trigger to do rear sync (never found a need to cos its never required in the first place)....

maybe u can try setting to manual on both camera and flash(no need slave)...rear sync on camera and use radio trigger to see if the flash pops at the rear :bsmilie:

Hmm i am not using any optical trigger, using the pop up flash as controller and the only way that i have found so far to use wireless is to set it to slave mode. Other than that the flash will not fire wirelessly.

So there is a way to fire the flash without setting to slave mode?

You'll probably never get trailing curtain sync on an optical wireless set-up since the wireless flash will have to be triggered by a burst of light from the pop-up/hotshoe master flash which will obviously contribute to the exposure

hmm i am using pop up as master/controller. off camera flash as slave in rear sync mode on.

Hmm i am not using any optical trigger, using the pop up flash as controller and the only way that i have found so far to use wireless is to set it to slave mode. Other than that the flash will not fire wirelessly.

So there is a way to fire the flash without setting to slave mode?

aya its optical trigger lah... like i say, try using those radio trigger and dun use slave...

radio trigger like those cactus/pocket wizard/yong nuo thingy?

Is there an below $30 affordable one? dun want to spend too much.

radio trigger like those cactus/pocket wizard/yong nuo thingy?

Is there an below $30 affordable one? dun want to spend too much.

The cheap ones can't do it AFAIK, since they don't offer any settings and only have a single contact to fire the flash and nothing else. Need something like Pocket Wizard. Then again, not sure if Pocket Wizard works with Pentax....