Tripod difficult to carry

alwaysthere

Jun 3, 2008
Hi, my tripod bag is giving me a lot of uncomfortable when i sling it over my shoulder (can't sling across as I am currently a haversack) and unfortunately, the bag I have do not allow me to hook on the tripod.

any solutions? Would buying a long shoulder strap be useful? if so, what and where should I get?

Thanks!

Hi, my tripod bag is giving me a lot of uncomfortable when i sling it over my shoulder (can't sling across as I am currently a haversack) and unfortunately, the bag I have do not allow me to hook on the tripod.

any solutions? Would buying a long shoulder strap be useful? if so, what and where should I get?

Thanks!

Bring your haversack to the shop and then try out your tripod bag you want to buy. See which configuration suits your setup better. Asking such questions here is really pointless as different people tend to have different combinations. Your size and height will also determine the type of bag to buy. :cool:

I already have a tripod bag.. hence seeing if anyoe in the same situations and bought a strap to try it...

i just sling it on my left shoulder instead of across.

its ok to me cos once i set up up, i can sling the empty tripod bag across and carry the tripod + camera over my shoulder.

in my experience, i don't think its feasible to sling the tripod across with a long strap... its cumbersome esp if u're taking public transport :sweat:

more fundamentally is whether you NEED to bring the tripod on every shoot ;)

ic.. no choice... travelling.. so dunno when would need the tripod... will have to carry it with me the whole day...

Change a bag ?

I used to have this problem even with a sling bag .

I end up get myself a uprise-45 and it hold my tripod nicely

Seriously...if you aim to take long exposure shots in a foreign country then tripod is a must. I have dumped my tripod at home to lighten the load as I find it a nuisance to bring it everywhere.

Since it is a holiday, I want to make it as enjoyable as possible without the lugging of extra equipment. Just came back from Thailand. Only brought an entry level dslr, 18-55kit lens and a prime lens. Took over 500 shots in the day and night without even using flash. :cool:

if travelling, as in, work assignment, must bring then no choice. have to lug everything.

if travelling, as in, on holiday, don't bring lah... enjoy your holiday. sling here, sling there, airport also problem, airplane also problem, disembark liao, point a to point b even more problem...

alternative is compromise a bit and consider a smaller travel tripod, monopod or gorillapod instead.

Not sure what is really the issue but just sharing my experience.

No matter how laychay, I still bring a tripod everywhere. Laziness means you may lose the opprotunities to capture certain images that required the help of the tripod. It's a choice you have to make. In situations like long exposure , night shot or even macro close up shoot, I highly doubt you can handheld in such situation.

To make things a little better for yourself consider a few options:

1. Get a lighter tripod eg. carbon fibre tripod. It really takes alot of weight away. Look at it as a long term investment, buy once & never have to think about it again.
2. Get a compact tripod if you dun want to lug around a big or heavy tripod. Sirui, Benro & Gitzo has got some CF tripod that is below S$200 & yet still can fit into my computer laptop bag.
3. Get a bag that has a compartment for putting the tripod. It should be secured tightly & not rock or swing around when you walk. if no budget, then get velcro straps to hold it dwon with the bag that you are using.
4. Weigh what are your common usage & buy the right tripod. Ask yourself :"Do I need different sizes of tripod or get a reasonable budget & size one that can serve you in most situations?" Personally, I have a rock steady tripod for heavier gear & a travel tripod for rough trips. But I ever carry the Gitzo 2228 up to Huangshan & SimaTai Great Wall, because the strong wind there just required the heavier & tougher tripod to do the job.

Joe Cornish ever said: " There's no lousy photographers, only lazy photographers." Check out his works. This UK National Heritage Trust designated Photographer lug around a easily 4 kg wooden sturdy tripod with large format camera system & trek to scenic landscape area for hours to bring us some of the most wonderful images of the coastal UK. He's a constant reminder to me that you don't want to miss out when the perfect image happens & you are not well equipped to capture them.

Check out his website: www.joecornish.com

For me, tripod is a must when I travel, like oit or not, I carry it. So far, all images come back the way I want it. You can see the images I make at: www.jeffryanstudio.com in the landscape category.

Not quite sure what kind of discomfort you're having. but my personal take is that a shorter but well padded strap is actually better. And I usually use a shoulder/sling camera bag, so I'll make use of the camera bag to keep the tripod bag in a vertical position. Otherwise it'll keep wanting to fall into a horizontal position, very obstructive.

Seriously...if you aim to take long exposure shots in a foreign country then tripod is a must. I have dumped my tripod at home to lighten the load as I find it a nuisance to bring it everywhere.

Since it is a holiday, I want to make it as enjoyable as possible without the lugging of extra equipment. Just came back from Thailand. Only brought an entry level dslr, 18-55kit lens and a prime lens. Took over 500 shots in the day and night without even using flash.

but no tripod, no these shots......

3168575846_378e7b9f17.jpg

3119572413_d5baecc2b1.jpg

4766929384_8c6408f80e.jpg

4757321561_40cee468c3.jpg

Thanks!

meaning what, when you take photos, you don't knwo what to do with yoru bag?

or when you are carrying it.

i currently just carry my tripod around, no bag. this includes travelling.

OT a bit but anyone tried the monopod with retractable legs? is it steady enough?

i was thinking that the monopod legs, plus a firm grip on the camera body should be sufficient for long exposure of a few seconds? :think:

OT a bit but anyone tried the monopod with retractable legs? is it steady enough?

i was thinking that the monopod legs, plus a firm grip on the camera body should be sufficient for long exposure of a few seconds? :think:

Have only tried using a monopod once, but I think few seconds would be pretty tough, even with UWA. But I'd imagine if you can hold the monopod steady against something stable, using just the right amount of strength so that the monopod doesn't shake or slip, long exposures should be possible.

I have 1 monopod with retractable leg before and been use it in few outing, when you using retractable legs to let the monopod "stand-alone", the higher you expand the monopod's height, the more unstable it will become. A bit of wind already cost some minor shake on it, even after some operation/adjustment on your camera, you need to wait awhile to it get idle stat from shaking, and also will having problem for using in uneven ground.

time to get a good + sturdy + light + smaller tripod (suitable for your height)

I brought my 1.1kg (which folds up to about 40cm) for my HK and glad I made the decision and I got to shoot these photos :p

4983342258_426de9e2a8.jpg

4984131883_68b5ae0093.jpg

4983222836_eeb673f38f.jpg

All 3 photos i did a LE shot.

But the tripods for my height are all too long and heavy. :sweat:

what's your height?

i know for some... cos they are too tall.. so no choice... they had to get those taller and bigger tripod.

anyway i am ard 172. :)

what's your height?

i know for some... cos they are too tall.. so no choice... they had to get those taller and bigger tripod.

anyway i am ard 172. :)

About 184cm. I have a 3.5kg, 2m tall studio tripod and the cheapo but light-ish Fancier 662 for travel/lightstand. I do wish for a smaller tripod when traveling/hiking though. :(