REVIEW - Panasonic LX5

Dream Merchant

Staff member
Jan 11, 2007

Panasonic Lumix LX5 Review

4951303896_0672d86f77_z.jpg

Long awaited, this review will hopefully give you an idea of very local conditions where you might use the Lumix … and them some!

There may or may not be pixel peeping, but that’s really beside the point which is:

This camera is a bundle of JOY to use! :)

Now, the key point is that all that technology which makes this camera this much FUN has, in many ways evolved from the LX3.

I really won’t go into a side-by-side, or any kind of technical review … because there are so many sites out which that makes things like charts and graphs, well, soo sexy! Nah … I’ll just get into how much FUN this cam is!

For the record, it was a local review which got me interested in my very first self-owned digital camera, the FZ10. Last time kenar cut teeth on the Kodak DSC with that super duper megapixel count of … TWO :bsmilie: and the super-duper small sized viewfinder (It was like a 15mm crop mark on a 90mm FOV FF viewfinder)! So when stuff like the FZ10 came to being, man, THAT was a dream!

For FULL TECHNICAL LX5 SPECS, please go here: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showt...=752721&page=2

and Panasonic;s website: http://www.panasonic.com.sg/wps/por...y0AvI1cDQ_2CbEdFAJAHei4!/?WCM_GLOBAL_CONTEXT=

I’ll confess – when I started using the LX5 while preparing for the review, I knew that P&S and Prosumer technology had come a LOOOONGGG way, but I had no idea HOW MUCH!

There’s SO MANY things to like about this cam that I can’t list down everything, so here is an initial list:

1) Built and Quality – feels SOLID and not like it’s gonna come apart on you. The lens barrel on my sample felt a little loose, but I suppose it might be required to keep things 'smooth'.

2) The lens is a STUNNER!

3) The LX5 goes from ISO 80 all the way to 12800! Some may say ‘bla bla bla ISO is not useful’, but for the heck of it, how cares! I’m good up to ISO 1600 for posting up on forums and social media, but that’s just me. When pushed, I'll even take up to ISO 3200 or 6400!

4) The scenes and modes actually WORK! More on this later.

5) HD ROCKS!

5) That diminutive flash … puts out some mean POWER!

What Can be Improved

… let’s face it, it IS meant to be a high-quality P&S. The lag is there, and though it feels fairly minimal, it can be felt.

The small image sensor is still there, and no one ever said it was supposed to be DSLR speed-wise ... but as mentioned, this category of Point-n-Shoot (P&S) has come a long way!

With that in mind, let’s take it as it is – a POINT-n-SHOOT camera, and that’s when the FUN STARTS!

Please note that some of these shots may be structured, and some will be totally random. No post-processing done except cropping and prepping to put them in an album unless otherwise noted. Some crops may have a full-sized/full-res version. Watch for these! :cool:

As a colleague aptly puts it,

The LX5 - it's quite an amazing camera. Low light vids is pretty amazing. CA is negligible, flare is well controlled. 1/4000th of a sec flash sync speed. Color output is just gorgeous! Impressive dynamic range. Most of all, the lens is from f2.0(w)-f3.3(t)

I couldn't have said it better!

Alamak! So much talk! Show me the photo lah!

Overall, this lens produces SUPERB results!

4953711353_eceba3bd7a_z.jpg

4954297254_6af9b80055_z.jpg

An example of the Dynamic Range

4954295128_eab1c747f2_z.jpg

4953498536_d77138cf7f_z.jpg

Higher ISO capabilities inside the Pasar Malam!

4953497614_846eb4dec3_z.jpg

4953471582_2c421c55cb_z.jpg

One shot of a visitor at a Wet Market!

4953730193_4562a67040_z.jpg

Now this is the Max! ISO 12800! Not 'usable'? You decide ...

4953495428_2e02f538fe_z.jpg

4953495854_7099acda4a_z.jpg

CA is very well controlled.

4954318434_8afc904b8b_z.jpg

4954327866_152ef7969b_z.jpg

4954311400_a3706c12af_b.jpg

4953719429_1034acbe56_z.jpg

4953718347_37e599710c_z.jpg

CA is very well controlled.

4953717627_dbb1b033a7_z.jpg

4953716827_67b3635e88_z.jpg

4954307764_d8df06a516_z.jpg

4954307180_82c75299fa_b.jpg

More photos later.

Be sure to look out for the Little India thread outing happening later today.

Will get to know this camera in the next few weeks.

CHEERS!

Can you please post some flash shots at night and also advise what is the default ISO.

i must say again, the CA is very well controlled.

can post 100% crop of photo taken in ISO 400 & 800 (with any pp hor, only crop)?

The pics are nice, especially the indoor shots. That said, i'm not so impressed by the outdoor shots. As u can tell from the 4th pic in the 1st post, despite of the added DR, there's apparent highlight clipping. As for CA, its typically not an issue with Panny cameras and Leica lens. Panny's in-camera processing will remove CA. At the current price for the LX5, its moving too close to a MFT system, which offers better DR and NR at high ISOs.

i must say again, the CA is very well controlled.

can post 100% crop of photo taken in ISO 400 & 800 (with any pp hor, only crop)?

Can try later at today's outing. :)

@ glygcs - Also will try. Depends on what ISO one sets. There is 'no' default or at least none that I can see.

On 'AUTO', speeds sometimes gets pushed down a bit during low-light.

'iISO', which I assume is 'intelligent' ISO - speeds go into a slightly more hand-holdable range, which is still (sometimes) pretty slow for this camera! That is, even at lower shutter speeds, can still hold.

The pics are nice, especially the indoor shots. That said, i'm not so impressed by the outdoor shots. As u can tell from the 4th pic in the 1st post, despite of the added DR, there's apparent highlight clipping. As for CA, its typically not an issue with Panny cameras and Leica lens. Panny's in-camera processing will remove CA. At the current price for the LX5, its moving too close to a MFT system, which offers better DR and NR at high ISOs.

Yes, there appears to be.

I may be wrong, but don't think any consumer digital camera can take care of such a wide range in full-blast (What you see in the open sky) sunlight. ;)

More shots.

4953480998_90815da24e_z.jpg

(Full-res available)

4954301288_831795660f_z.jpg

4954298410_3d9253a9de_z.jpg

4953708061_8de8ba8eb6_z.jpg

4953731727_25c554a614_z.jpg

By the sea.

4952872889_00fc0a4cd3_b.jpg

Full Res available.

4952869297_bdb45e0b65_z.jpg

Full Res available.

4953712795_134177bfee_z.jpg

Sunset Scene

4954303384_3ae0ff9c43_z.jpg

As a comparison, this is an image from a GF1 with a Kit lens

4954321942_cb6be1df90_z.jpg

When darkness falls ...​

A myriad of colors!

4954353460_558e723808_z.jpg

4953770397_bcf68cc290_z.jpg

4953769601_683ec5d73a_z.jpg

4954480900_dd5314370d_z.jpg

4953750875_e612a5985e_z.jpg

Some larger dynamic range shots.

4953760571_a462ef4d8f_z.jpg

4954351522_09783826d6_z.jpg

4953458582_ae6edc9e8f_b.jpg

Full res available

4953449254_47b9b27eba_z.jpg

Full res available

4953755833_7dec87b86a_b.jpg

The Night Portrait scene could use a slightly higher shutter speed.

4953774859_2724545ebe_z.jpg

Shot 'normally' as per any P&S camera.

4953775687_dc59a3ab8a_z.jpg

Shot with slight 'horse-riding stance', with arm tucked in and slowly hold breath.​

Thanks to dennis for modeling for the test.

The Night Portrait scene could use a slightly higher shutter speed.

4953774859_2724545ebe_z.jpg

Shot 'normally' as per any P&S camera.

4953775687_dc59a3ab8a_z.jpg

Shot with slight 'horse-riding stance', with arm tucked in and slowly hold breath.​

Thanks to dennis for modeling for the test.

i must say, if user be abit more careful to hold camera still, night portrait mode does give good picture.

did u pp my photo, i think i look slimmer in this photo lay:cool::cool:.

Alamak!

No PP except in stated photos leh.

The LX5 does give quite nice results, especially the handling of the flash (lower output) and balancing some of the colors to look 'more natural' (as one sees it).

Panasonic makes you look slimmer? Hmm ...

Thanks for the review!

You're welcome.

Also mentioned earlier, this is a review of a POINT-N-SHOOT CAMERA and expectations should be managed as such.

Also, don't want to go into technical details as far as possible, but inevitably, may have to. However, this thread features more photos so that you can see what the LX5 is capable of doing.

CHEERS! :)