iPad

guitarist

Jun 28, 2010
I thought there are quite a number of Apple fanboys here, since no one start a thread on iPad day 1, I'll start one, haha. I went jalan jalan in town during lunch time, saw crowds congregating (not big but small) at various Apple shops. I wonder why iPad is not sold at Apple online store here? :think:

I am an Apple fan, I used 1 Mac Power Book and 2 MacBook Pro, 2 iPhones (1st generation and the 3GS) and gone through 2 iPod Classic. Nevertheless, I will not get the iPad nor the iPhone 4 because the iPad lacks camera in the front and USB slots. As for the iPhone 4, I will wait for the 'rectified version. However, I am getting disappointed with their iTunes store, my account is in Singapore and I am working as an expat in China, now I cannot buy Apps neither can I get any updates unless only when I return to Singapore. For an international high technology company, such policy is really stupid and is unbecoming of Apple.

Got the iPad. Now my laptop collecting dust.

Not for very serious work.
But for reading, photos, music, games, videos...it's perfect.

Definately it will come with a built-in camera in Gen2 or 3 models.

If all the good stuff come in Gen1, then who wants to buy Gen2 or 3? :bsmilie:

Congratulations!! My problem is still not being able to buy Apps and probable e-books too just because of the silly iTunes store policy. So either they change their policy or I may have to move to Kindle and/or Blackberry. Have fun.

Been using the iPad for about 1 month. I like the iPad for a few reasons

1. The battery life 11 hours using wifi and 9 hours using 3G
2. The weight
3. Photos sharing
4. Children apps
5. Entertainment on the move. iPod screen too small.
6. Ebook or e reader.

It is not build like a " do all laptop " but it serve it function.

2. The weight
3. Photos sharing
4. Children apps
6. Ebook or e reader.

Can it be connected to apple tv?

I am quite certain that Apple will rectify it but do so quietly. On a PR level, they have lost quite a bit of new converts. There are quite a bit of thread in Macrumour that it is working on it.

Apple wants you to patronise an Apple shop to personally "feel" it before you buy? Why it is no sold via Apple store? I prefer to buy online. Any CSer working for Apple can answer my question?

oh.. ipad does not have usb slots? how to transfer files?

2. The weight
3. Photos sharing
4. Children apps
6. Ebook or e reader.

The children apps thing is probably useful for parents, but other than that I don't see how the price is justified. Not sure how long your journeys are, but portable entertainment doesn't seem to be that useful in SG (other than music: then you won't need a big screen)

I have a phone that can play divx videos and even then, I seldom use it because my journeys are never that long for me to watch a full movie. Short clips would be more useful, but plugging my mobile device into the computer and transferring small clips to watch for just once is kind of irritating.

So basically, it's just for photo sharing, and ebook reading. ebooks can be read on much cheaper devices, so I think the price one pays for an iPad is too much for me. I don't like to pay so much for brand, and when everyone has one of these Apple stuff, it gets boring, and devices with similar functions but not made by Apple seem more valuable and special, despite being cheaper. (I love how my friends using the iPhone ogle at my $138 phone which can multitask, look cooler because just about nobody else has it, and have much more customization than their phone)

But for reading, photos, music, games, videos...it's perfect.

Definately it will come with a built-in camera in Gen2 or 3 models.

If all the good stuff come in Gen1, then who wants to buy Gen2 or 3? :bsmilie:

reader perfect meh? I hated the glare from the glossy screen. I think will kill my eyes if I read for long.

actually I never trusted the ipad sales numbers. I was in US for 2 weeks when the 3G ipad was launched. nobody buy leh. no queues, and ipads everywhere for sale, even bestbuy has stocks.

that is why even though ipad will be launched tmr, there will be no queues lah. The iphone 4 I think is another matter. sure got queues.

Everyone needs a phone. Who needs an ipad.....

ipad sucks blood like its other pad relatives.

Congratulations!! My problem is still not being able to buy Apps and probable e-books too just because of the silly iTunes store policy. So either they change their policy or I may have to move to Kindle and/or Blackberry. Have fun.

Don't blame Apple. It's the music publishers who insist on territorial rights: That's why there is DVD region coding remember ? They want to maximize revenue by charging different prices in different markets.

But iTunes on the iPhone only checks your location if you are using 3G. Switch off location services and reboot, then try connecting to iTunes store over wi-fi. It should allow you to download from the Singapore store (or the US store for that matter). Alternatively, use iTunes on your Mac/PC to download the apps and then sync with the phone.

The only catch is you need to have a Singapore address & credit card. If you change to a China address then they'll bounce you immediately.

Not using Mac.
Wait for the alternative product that can interface well with Windows.

The only people I've seen use it so far are the despreately single at Starbucks City Hall doing nothing but opening and closing apps, seeing if any girl is checking them out because of the iPad (they were not).

:thumbsup: i find ipad overrated. its like a oversized iphone.

I am quite certain that Apple will rectify it but do so quietly. On a PR level, they have lost quite a bit of new converts. There are quite a bit of thread in Macrumour that it is working on it.

You mean MacRumors?

reader perfect meh? I hated the glare from the glossy screen. I think will kill my eyes if I read for long.

actually I never trusted the ipad sales numbers. I was in US for 2 weeks when the 3G ipad was launched. nobody buy leh. no queues, and ipads everywhere for sale, even bestbuy has stocks.

that is why even though ipad will be launched tmr, there will be no queues lah. The iphone 4 I think is another matter. sure got queues.

Everyone needs a phone. Who needs an ipad.....

http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTOE66M00620100723

Perhaps, that's more likely to convince you. I assume that you didn't travel to most of the U.S.A. trying to find iPad sales.

The trouble with the 3G version in the U.S.A. is the carrier. They have limited 3G coverage and they decided to make their iPad plans more expensive. It's more effective to go with the WiFi version and get a portable hotspot on another carrier that can be used with other equipment.

The ipad is really a hit or miss with each individual.

As kohweeloon has pointed out, it is very useful as a news/magazine app. I mostly use it for magazine browsing which on the ipad is great due to its vivid screen. Not to mention, I also load in my photog portfolio in it to show it to others when necessary.

I do sit down at starbucks to have a nice coffee and read my e-magazines while waiting for friends and definitely not to attract attention etc haha