S$1,200 RWS fish dish shocker

It goes to show that restaurants are allowed to overcharge and hawker stalls aren't... :thumbsd:

no no... they don't overcharged, they mentioned that they are high class restaurant and it is not uncommon for them not to mention about the pricing as they are expecting high class customers who can pay to eat in their place.....

it's a high class restaurant.. And some customer might not like it if the waitress mention the pricing, because it kinda create the impression of raising doubt about the customer's ability to pay for the dish and make him lose face.

It is on the onus of the customer to inquire about pricing at "very high class restaurants".

Say, CEO of A company bring CEO of B company to dinner. When CEO A ask for recommendation or makes an order, the waitress reply "Sir, this costs $120, it is ok? This cost $1000, is it ok? This costs....." "Shut Up, you tink I cannot afford it isit?????!!!!! Ask you manager here!!!!! "

If wanna go to super high class restaurant, be prepared to ask, or prepare to pay..

yes its not right to state prices when u hv high profile guests. its like implying they cant pay. however i am sure the waiter can suggest a fish that is closer to the budget instead of one that cost 10 times more. i wonder what foreign tourist will say if this happened to them

That's true.. they should hv suggested something closer in price to what is originally requested..

But then, it's not clear what is the price of soon hock fish in the menu..

since it's an upmarket restaurant, they can put gold foil on the fish and ask for $1,200 also? it's not new to put gold on mooncakes, sushi etc.. and sushi can be made from raw or cooked fish..

Anyway, in summary, the price of soon hock in that restaurant is not revealed yet.. I guess..?

When the menu does not state the prices of the food items, this is an indication that they can charge whatever they want. This time it happens in HIGH CLASS restaurant. Let's see how it develops.:think:

In this case, the customer DID enquire about the pricing. the restaurant has an obligation to inform the customer of the pricing. As the customer has asked, the restaurant cannot use necessity of discretion as a defense for withholding of price information.

If they did not provide the price information prior to cooking, then the customer maybe has a right not to pay if the price is not within reasonable expectations.

Me kena before at the Japanese restaurant inside the RWS Casino. Ordered the lobster but the waitress didn't get back to us on the price, the actual bill was $400+ for the lobster. bigcry.gif

The waitress don't have initiative. She should be smart enough to know the huge price difference and informed the customer accordingly.

Since the price is not stated in the menu, the waitress has the duty to informed the customer what they are paying.

IMO, the resturant is pulling a fast one.

simply outrageous pricing.

btw, how do one define whether a restaurant is an upscale restaurant? just because it is located near a casino... does that mean it is upscale?

so, if i open a camera shop in RWS, i can charge $20k for a D3 lah :bsmilie:

White sultan fish...never tried before...will go buy in the market. How to cook - steam, fried or barbequed to make it taste like a $1.2k fish?

Its not whether it tastes $1.2k worth ... its affordability and exclusivity of being able to consume that dish without batting an eyelid over the cost. Its like making a statement .. if u have to think twice over the cost, then u are not there .......

White sultan fish...never tried before...will go buy in the market. How to cook - steam, fried or barbequed to make it taste like a $1.2k fish?

haha you want to cook it? xD
please ask me along if you cook it xD
hahaha wonder how does a 1.2k fish taste like too.

Try this.... Order Chili Crab at Kopitiam, Small Restaurant, IR.... its the same dish, but we all know that the price would be greatly difference.

As a rule of the thumb.... Know your seafood well before ordering..... price of yellow fin tuna and blue fin tuna also got BIG Difference... don't anyhow order if you don't know what you are ordering. :think:

Its not whether it tastes $1.2k worth ... its affordability and exclusivity of being able to consume that dish without batting an eyelid over the cost. Its like making a statement .. if u have to think twice over the cost, then u are not there .......

If you have to ask, you can't afford it kinda place... agree on this also.

U think tat you go to high class rest.. then prepare to pay for high class $$$$$

haha you want to cook it? xD
please ask me along if you cook it xD
hahaha wonder how does a 1.2k fish taste like too.

It is only $6 / 100g at other restaurants. So should be cheaper from the market. But it is still an expensive fish. I think have to deep fried like soon hock but then if deep fried, how to enjoy the smoothness and appreciate the tender white flesh of the fish.

I think the diners have not only been ripped off. They have not been given the chance to savour the best flavour of the sultan white fish. Else maybe they might have felt that the fish is well worth the $. Being high class also mean that they must have some standard. If it tastes like any restaurant, and there is no special cooking method, special sauce, special dining experience, then why are diners being asked to pay so much for?

Also, If really high class, the cook will come and meet the diners. Introduce what is so special about the dish. If all things are not there, there should at least be a long legged waitress with high slits and low neckline cheong sum to dissect the fish. No 香美味,then must have 色。

It is only $6 / 100g at other restaurants. So should be cheaper from the market. But it is still an expensive fish. I think have to deep fried like soon hock but then if deep fried, how to enjoy the smoothness and appreciate the tender white flesh of the fish.

I think the diners have not only been ripped off. They have not been given the chance to savour the best flavour of the sultan white fish. Else maybe they might have felt that the fish is well worth the $

aahhhh
saliva is dripping liao haha!
haven had my breakfast yet :p ~

Chef Pung Lu Tin, 50, of Seafood International Market and Restaurant, explained the sultan fish is sought-after because it was not easy to catch. He added that its meat was “very smooth”.

“The flesh is tender and snow white. It’s a wild river fish, so it eats fruits that drops from trees and bears the fragrance of fruit,” Chef Huang Ching Biao, 58, kitchen operations director at Jin Shan restaurant at MBS told The New Paper.

But despite its draw, both chefs added that they have not come across any commanding such a high price. One seafood distributor known only as Mr Lee even described the price of the fish at Fengshui Inn as “outrageous”.

Incidents like these throw the spotlight on questionable charging practices in Singapore. For a country positioning itself as a tourism hub, these bad dining experiences are sure to leave a bitter after-taste.