very random physics qn

Can add one more physic qn which has been troubling me since my JC times.

Qn: If there is a floating ball placed into a basin of water, the low density ball will float right? If the ball float and at the top there is a slide, the ball will fall off the slide. When the ball fall off the slide, it will hit the dynamo and produce electricity. After which will fall back to the basin of water. And it will repeat the whole process again, generating "free" electricity. Actually, who is doing the work?

See.. who would want to join your club.. it's abnormal.. :bsmilie:

There's oni 2 possibilities.. either you're perverted.. or you pretended..

wad if i'm serious?:bsmilie:

this is wad happens to ppl who shi lian. they go nuts abt physics:bsmilie:

How does the ball enters the water (at the bottom)? Probably you need to do "work" to put the ball in that situation (at the bottom of the basin).

maybe a picture will help. In any case, perpetual machines doesn't work, bcoz of friction.

Can add one more physic qn which has been troubling me since my JC times.

Qn: If there is a floating ball placed into a basin of water, the low density ball will float right? If the ball float and at the top there is a slide, the ball will fall off the slide. When the ball fall off the slide, it will hit the dynamo and produce electricity. After which will fall back to the basin of water. And it will repeat the whole process again, generating "free" electricity. Actually, who is doing the work?

good:thumbsup: math is the most pure subject. and physics is applied math anyways:lovegrin:

i wanna go nus and study theoretical physics. string theory looks quite cool:lovegrin:

seriously, for someone who needs help with some relatively simple physics and who comes to find help in clubsnap of all places, you do not look like a good candidate to study string theory.

cause its actually a conspiracy to find out where the other geeks are:cool:

just kidding.

this is actually beyond the sylabus and its a h3 thingy. somethign first year unis will do. i admit this one i shld had learnt properly. but i told u liao, is my math cui:bsmilie:

so i gotta brush up on math:sweat:

How does the ball enters the water (at the bottom)? Probably you need to do "work" to put the ball in that situation (at the bottom of the basin).

maybe a picture will help. In any case, perpetual machines doesn't work, bcoz of friction.

It needs to be in an isolated system for the law of conservation of energy to work. It is difficult maybe almost impossible.

Who will be doing the work? gravity,
- when the ball is on the slide, it's the gravity.
- when the ball is in the water, it would displace certain amount of water, which in turns will bounce the ball back up.

Is it right?

even without friction, it will not work:bsmilie:

when the ball reaches on the bottom of basic, it will attempt to displace water to enter the water. if it has lower density, water will provide a resistive force against the ball entering... if no enough force, the ball also cannot go back into water... if the ball can float, it means that the upthrust on ball > than weight of ball. ball will never enter back again.

and there are loads more lar. this one in sylabus so i can handle:sweat:

wad if i'm serious?:bsmilie:

this is wad happens to ppl who shi lian. they go nuts abt physics:bsmilie:

It was the other way round for me actually. My first crush is a gal who is gifted in physics. Me myself is a lousy scientist and bad with math. 1st love gave me the big push to excel in physics.

Even I know the theories well, I am still struggling when comes to dealing with formulas.

It needs to be in an isolated system for the law of conservation of energy to work. It is difficult maybe almost impossible.

Who will be doing the work? gravity,
- when the ball is on the slide, it's the gravity.
- when the ball is in the water, it would displace certain amount of water, which in turns will bounce the ball back up.

Is it right?

u said it urself.
law of conservation of energy. energy cannot be created.

when ball on slide, gravity pulls it down. yet when ball attempts to enter water? remember it is less dense. water will attempt to force it out due to the density difference. ball will never go in again.

u guys think too much, just take the ball and go play basketball lah

It was the other way round for me actually. My first crush is a gal who is gifted in physics. Me myself is a lousy scientist and bad with math. 1st love gave me the big push to excel in physics.

Even I know the theories well, I am still struggling when comes to dealing with formulas.

YES FINALLY SOMEONE WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS AS ME:eek:

if u ask me abt the theory aspect of relativity i can get it no prob.

but once u ask me play with numbers to prove why a pion that flys near the speedof light dun decay as fast, i will puke blood.:ipuke:

wads dorky? I only knoow geek slang :)