Failure to give way to YOG vehicles is a Traffic Offence

eyes

Nov 15, 2003
Australia
www.aljazeera.net
Just heard from the news that it is an offence for failure to give way to official YOG vehicles with penalty equivalent as the same as with an emergency vehicle.

What do you think? Is it fair to do so? :dunno:

Just heard from the news that it is an offence for failure to give way to official YOG vehicles with penalty equivalent as the same as with an emergency vehicle.

really meh:bigeyes:
where u hear from?

What a bloody load of crap. :angry:

4 Demerit Points

Exceeding speed limit of vehicle by up to 20km/h.
Exceeding speed limit of the road by up to 20km/h.
Failing to give way to oncoming traffic at controlled junction.
Failing to give way at uncontrolled junction.
Failing to give way at junction.
Failing to give way at roundabout.
Crossing double white lines.
Crossing road divider.
Hindering flow of traffic.
Failing to give way to ambulance or fire brigade or police vehicle.
Driving while carrying load on a motor vehicle in a dangerous manner.
Stop or allow vehicle to remain at rest on shoulder of an expressway.
Stopping or remaining at rest on the carriageway of an expressway.
Forming up incorrectly when turning left or right.

In addition, a composition amount is imposed as follows:

Light Vehicle (unladen weight of 2500 kg and below): S$130.00
Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg): S$160.00

nvm i found for u.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_542255.html
still ok bah. something like a bus lane only.
i suspect this is because they are supposed to ensure atheletes reach their location within half an hour. at least thats wadi remember from the trainings.

If you pay COE & Road Tax & cannot use Bus Lanes half the time already, will you still say it's okay? :dunno:

maybe I not driver so ill never understand... sorry

A lot drivers think that because they pay road tax they deserve the rights to run over cyclists too.

Singaporean got to get rid of the mentality of owning the roads just because they pay road tax. It is the same for treating civil servants like their actual servants because they pay tax. Can't we be nice to each other? How much time will you lose?

A lot drivers think that because they pay road tax they deserve the rights to run over cyclists too.

Singaporean got to get rid of the mentality of owning the roads just because they pay road tax. It is the same for treating civil servants like their actual servants because they pay tax. Can't we be nice to each other? How much time will you lose?
well some cyclists act like they own the road and do not keep to the side of the road. this makes it dangerous for the vehicle coming up, because the bicycle is much slower. the vehicle behind must either slow down abruptly, or choose to switch lanes - both of which can be dangerous to other vehicles.

the most dangerous are those cyclists that weave left and right. it's like you can just about squeeze past them in the lane, but you never know when they will swing out again.

from a safety perspective, i would say that cyclists dont belong on the singapore roads because traffic is too fast and roads are narrow

well some cyclists act like they own the road and do not keep to the side of the road. this makes it dangerous for the vehicle coming up, because the bicycle is much slower. the vehicle behind must either slow down abruptly, or choose to switch lanes - both of which can be dangerous to other vehicles.

the most dangerous are those cyclists that weave left and right. it's like you can just about squeeze past them in the lane, but you never know when they will swing out again.

from a safety perspective, i would say that cyclists dont belong on the singapore roads because traffic is too fast and roads are narrow

I'd hate to see another motorist-only point of view or cyclist-only point of view. Frankly, I see the negative side of both, and actually more negativity on the cyclists side (seen enough of them running red lights, weaving in and out)

That said, I disagree with the first sentence wrote here because a cyclist who feel that a road is too narrow for a car to squeeze by, does have a right to move further out to prevent any attempt by a motor vehicle to endanger the cyclist's own life by "trying" to squeeze where the laws of physics of not having two solid objects occupy the same space at the same time, will cause more damage to the cyclist than the motorist. I'm sure there are times when you wonder why road already so narrow the cyclist still don't give way - try being the cyclist and then you will understand. It's called defensive riding, and yes, if you are driving and cannot move out to the next lane, the next best option is NOT to run down the cyclist, but is to slow down.

Things have definitely improved in the last couple of years especially from taxis and public buses, but we still know what the car forum people bitch about till today.

Well... I see more cyclists who think they own the road than cars :rolleyes: I am tempted to think it's a Singapore mentality also.

And when something does happen, I can't believe the mob mentality that some cyclists have. :rolleyes:

I guess YOG has more rights to the road than other road users; they're now an emergency. :bsmilie:

Well... I see more cyclists who think they own the road than cars :rolleyes: I am tempted to think it's a Singapore mentality also.

And when something does happen, I can't believe the mob mentality that some cyclists have. :rolleyes:

well... do cyclists (most of them) have basic understanding on the highway code and stuff?:think: i kinda dun think so.

well. how often do u see a cyclist signal with his right hand waving out to say he wanna turn right?:sweat:

This can only happen here, so as to facilitate the organizer to make things happen ( on time ).

Actually, athens 2004 and beijing 2008 did the same thing. They set up lanes for olympic vehicles. Singapore simpky followed that model. Nt sure about the penalties tho

If you pay COE & Road Tax & cannot use Bus Lanes half the time already, will you still say it's okay? :dunno:

Well.. you hv a choice don't pay lor.. (and don't drive).........

Anyway, I feel that it is ridiculous to accord the same "priority status" to the YOG vehicles to be like emergency vehicles.. It's only a sports event, not an emergency..

Not to mention that Singapore is so small.. even if it is a big place like China, can't they just leave the hotel 1 hour earlier to cater for any possible delays?!

So, is the extra few minutes rest of the whoever in the YOG vehicle more precious than that of the businessman or CEO or the average Singaporean or resident who have to give way to the YOG vehicles.......?!

So a 3 lane road will becomes... one for bus, one for YOG convoy, leaving one to be shared by all vehicles.

well... do cyclists (most of them) have basic understanding on the highway code and stuff?:think: i kinda dun think so.

well. how often do u see a cyclist signal with his right hand waving out to say he wanna turn right?:sweat:

Most of those I know, will signal in one form or another, either by looking back to check for traffic and/or indicating with hand signals. Those who don't, I just assume they will eventually be eliminated through some form of statistic on the road. :dunno:

Anyway this is off topic. If further discussion needed, can open another thread and I can share with you my dead beaten horses or cows or dogs.

To avoid being stuck in a jam, the organizer should just activate the air force helicopters to airlift them to the venues