FF lens on DX body

LBL2009

Jul 9, 2009
Seletar Estate, Singapore
Any advantage of using FF lenses on a DX body?

For the same focal length both FF and DX lenses give the same reach with DX body crop factor. Other than investing for future FF body upgrade, will FF lenses perform better in low light since the lens is bigger?

Lens bigger doesn't mean aperture bigger...:)
I feel the only advantage(smtms disadvantage) is the increased fov...light amount wise feels the same if comparing aperture size...:D

if dun rem wrongly, F number is calculated by focal length/ aperture size...so a f3.5 lens will still be f3.5 lens no matter where u bring it to...think it can nv outperform a f1.4 or f2.8:) interms of low light condition.

normally the best IQ of the image comes from the centre of the image, so a FX lens on a DX camera will crop away the not so good parts of the image

on top of what ortega said, when you sell off the FF lens, normally you'd get back more $$ than if you were selling a DX lens :) That's one 'advantage' I can think of!

[not considering the fact that the FF lens would've cost MORE to begin with! :) ]

Lens bigger doesn't mean aperture bigger...:)
I feel the only advantage(smtms disadvantage) is the increased fov...light amount wise feels the same if comparing aperture size...:D
what is "smtms" ? just curious... :)

on the other hand, companies usually produce their largest aperture lenses on their FF lenses instead of doing up DX lens, so FF lenses can offer more option in that respect.

I think he means "sometimes". It's the sms generation, they forget there's no 160 character limit... :p

woa i thought it was an acronym or something

ryan

not much benefit beside what mod Ortega mention,

btw, all Nikon lenses are design to be use on 35 film body or FX DSLR body, except the DX lenses (and some discontinued APS film camera lenses), so there is no such term as FF lens or FX lens to be exact.

it wun perform better in low light.. like wad others had mentioned, IQ's good since only the center portion of the FX lens is used. :)

I think he means "sometimes". It's the sms generation, they forget there's no 160 character limit... :p

wahaha...yes...started using sms during sec time...haha..nowadays pri sch alr got hp...think they will grow up worse than me...:bsmilie:

Using SMS language in normal writing should be a huge no-no... It's sad to see one of Singapore's "competitive advantage" over our neighbours being eroded slowly but surely by declining standards of written English.

Anyway, this is a topic for kopitiam discussion...

Using SMS language in normal writing should be a huge no-no... It's sad to see one of Singapore's "competitive advantage" over our neighbours being eroded slowly but surely by declining standards of written English.

Anyway, this is a topic for kopitiam discussion...

well said, ZerocoolAstra! :bsmilie:

once upon a time, i was rather conscientious with my language, being written or spoken. However, as time goes by....I succumbed to peer pressure :sweatsm:
too many ppl around me speak Singlish...but I have to defend for myself that I speak without the "leh"s, "lah"s and "loh"s in daily conversation. However, occasionally in official emails, I still type in my "sms language" unknowingly...:sweat:

ok, enuff of side-tracking..I shall move over to Kopitiam for more discussion and remedy:bsmilie:

Personally, I feel that there is a very poor selection of DX lenses available.

Although I have to agree that the 18-55 is really very good for it's price and purpose.

Other than the kit lenses and the 35mm f/1.8, are there any other DX lenses to mention? It's more than likely that if you do intend to get more lenses to add to your inventory, you will end up getting "FX" lenses.

No advantage in terms of picture angle and the speed. Investing for future FX camera do make sense though.

From the responses, I come to the conclusion that we can expect better IQ when lens for full frame is used on DX body.

Yeah... often, esp when you are pairing the older lenses which have better center image quality. You're getting the best part of the lens for a whole lot less than if you had to buy a new lens.

One good example is the Nikkor 70-210mm f4-5.6 pull push. When I shoot it at f8, the results are amazingly good and what can I complain more esp. when I bought the lens for only $180. ;)

I agree...most of my older lens work fine...often better than I expect...:D

I don't have any older lenses. I can only look at new or used AFS lens and AFD lens which meter on my D40 and I don't mind manual focus.

What's your suggestion for a 18-55mm non-VR kit lens replacement for better IQ and low light?

I don't have any older lenses. I can only look at new or used AFS lens and AFD lens which meter on my D40 and I don't mind manual focus.

What's your suggestion for a 18-55mm non-VR kit lens replacement for better IQ and low light?

Unless you are intending to look for a f2.8 variant, not much chance. Can consider the 17-50 f2.8 from Tamron. :)

Else look at the 18-70 Nikkor